Combat Jump

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search


Some Troopers, equipped with special jump gear, have been trained to dive from the sky directly onto the battlefield, falling upon the enemy in devastating surprise strikes.

COMBAT JUMP ENTIRE ORDER
Airborne Deployment (AD), Private Information, Optional
Effects
  • This Trooper is not required to deploy during the Deployment Phase, remaining off-table until their player decides to deploy them during their Active Turn.
  • While off-table, the Trooper will not add their Order to the Order Pool during the Tactical Phase. However, they may enter the table using their own Order to use this Special Skill, when the player chooses.
  • By using this Special Skill, the player cannot place the Trooper in Prone State, or in Silhouette contact with enemy and neutral Models, Markers, or Tokens, or in contact with any scenario objective, or in Silhouette contact with a scenery element to get Cover. (See FAQs & Errata. The Trooper can be placed on a rooftop, but will not gain Cover during the Order.)
  • The player may deploy the Trooper on any surface of the game table, as long as the size of the surface is equal to or larger than their base.
  • Deploying inside buildings or enclosed pieces of Scenery is not permitted, even if they have an open roof or open doors or windows as, for example, an Objective Room.
  • After placing the Trooper on their landing spot, the player performs a PH Roll. If the Roll is passed, the Trooper lands successfully and remains where the player has placed them. Then, the Reactive Player declares all their AROs.
  • If the PH Roll fails, the Trooper must be placed within their player's Deployment Zone, always in contact with the edge of the game table. Then, the Reactive Player declares all their AROs.
  • After placing the Trooper on their landing spot, with any Deployable Weapons or Equipment that they can deploy, the player performs a PH Roll. (See FAQs & Errata. Controlled Jump AROs to the Order will affect this Roll.) If the Roll is passed, the Trooper lands successfully and remains where the player has placed them. Then, the Reactive Player declares all their AROs.
  • If the user fails the Roll, they must be placed within their player's Deployment Zone, always in contact with the edge of the game table.
    Additionally, after failing the Roll, the user loses the option to deploy in a Marker State or as a Decoy and is always deployed as a Model. Any Deployable Weapons and Equipment deployed alongside him are removed from the game table.
    Then, the Reactive Player declares all their AROs.
  • When a player moves the Trooper into a different Combat Group, while it is off-table, they must inform their opponent that the Trooper exists. The Trooper's information remains Private, until the Trooper is deployed.
  • Combat Jump (Explosion) has the following additional rules:
    • After performing the PH Roll and determining the Trooper's final location, the Trooper makes a Direct Template Attack, placing the center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) over the center of their base.
    • This Attack has Damage 12 with Normal Ammunition, against the ARM Attribute.
    • The Trooper is not affected by this Attack.
    • This is a single-use Special Skill and its user cannot perform it again.


FAQs & Errata

N4 FAQ
Version: 1.0, Jan 2021

Q: How does Controlled Jump work in ARO?

A: A Controlled Jump ARO is considered valid against a Combat Jump Entire Order anywhere on the table, or against any Skill in the Hacker’s Hacking Area. As an ARO to a Combat Jump Entire Order, Controlled Jump is declared before the Combat Jump PH Roll is resolved, and will affect that PH Roll. Alternatively, the Hacker can wait until the PH Roll has been resolved, and declare a non-Controlled Jump ARO, if applicable.

Related Pages: Combat Jump, Controlled Jump


N4 FAQ
Version: 1.0, Jan 2021

Q: How does Combat Jump onto a rooftop work?

A: A Trooper declaring the Combat Jump Entire Order can land on a rooftop, but cannot claim Partial Cover during that Order.

Related Pages: Combat Jump


N4 FAQ
Version: 1.0, Jan 2021

Q: If a Trooper uses an Airborne Deployment Skill to deploy onto the table via a Coordinated Order or an Impetuous activation, what happens to their own Order?

A: In this situation they will lose their own Order.

Related Pages: Combat Jump, Coordinated Orders, Impetuous, Parachutist