Difference between revisions of "Camouflaged State"

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search
(Added see also box for Camouflage.)
 
(One intermediate revision by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{section-special-skills}}
+
{{n5-section-game-states}}
{{section-game-states}}
 
  
  
Line 7: Line 6:
 
{{image | name=camo_azul_40mm-620.jpg | style= 128inline }}
 
{{image | name=camo_azul_40mm-620.jpg | style= 128inline }}
  
{{skillbox |black| CAMOUFLAGED |}}
+
{{css_skillbox |black| CAMOUFLAGED }}
 
{{skill-label | Marker }}
 
{{skill-label | Marker }}
 
{{activation}}
 
{{activation}}
*Automatic during the Deployment Phase
+
* Automatic during the [[Deployment Phase]].
*During the Active Turn, Troopers may only return to Camouflaged State by consuming 1 Entire Order, outside the [[LoF]] of enemy [[Markers]] or [[Troopers]].
+
* During the Active Turn, Troopers may only return to this state by spending a [[Long Skill]], while outside the [[LoF]] of [[enemy]] Markers or Troopers.
{{Effects}}
 
*In Camouflaged State, the Player '''does not''' place the Model on the table, but instead places a Camouflaged Marker.
 
*Camouflaged Markers can possess the [[Mimetism]] Skill, so Camouflaged Markers indicate the MOD level that [[Mimetism]] applies, if they have it.
 
*You cannot enter [[Silhouette]] contact with an Enemy Camouflaged Marker.
 
{{c1}}
 
*You cannot declare [[Attacks]] against Camouflaged Markers, it is necessary to [[Discover]] that Marker first, unless otherwise specified by a rule or [[Skill]].
 
{{c1end}}{{n4list}}
 
* You cannot declare [[Attacks]] against Camouflaged Markers, it is necessary to [[Discover]] that Marker first (Discover + Attack maneuver), unless otherwise specified by a rule or Skill.
 
{{n4end}}
 
*To reveal a Camouflaged Marker, a [[Discover]] Roll must be passed, applying [[MODs]] listed for Discover, including the Marker's Mimetism, if they have it.
 
*If the [[Discover]] Roll is successful, the Camouflaged Marker is replaced with the corresponding Model, facing in any direction its player chooses.
 
*A Trooper that fails a WIP Roll to Discover a [[Marker]] '''cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next Player Turn'''. Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered Camouflaged State again, does not count as the same Marker.
 
*A [[Camouflage]] (CAMO) Marker has a LoF of 360˚.
 
*A [[Camouflage]] (CAMO) Marker has the same '''[[Silhouette]] (S)''' value as the Trooper it represents.
 
: However, '''a Weapon or piece of Equipment '''in Camouflaged State will have a '''[[Silhouette]] (S) '''value of''' 2'''.
 
*This State does not interfere with Automatic Special Skills or Automatic Equipment, which will remain functioning normally.
 
{{c1}}
 
*The only AROs that can be declared against a Camouflaged Marker are: [[Discover]], [[Dodge]] or [[Reset]].
 
{{c1end}}{{n4list}}
 
* The only AROs that can be declared against a Camouflaged Marker are: [[Discover]], [[Dodge]], [[Look Out]]! or [[Reset]].
 
{{n4end}}
 
*When a Trooper in Camouflaged state is activated, each Reactive Trooper can delay the declaration of their ARO until the second half of the Active Trooper's Order has been declared. In this case:
 
**If the Trooper in Camouflaged state reveals themselves with the second half of their Order (by declaring a BS Attack, moving into [[Silhouette]] contact with an enemy...), the delaying Trooper can declare their ARO.
 
**If the Trooper in Camouflaged state does not reveal themselves, the delaying Trooper loses their right to declare an ARO.
 
{{Cancellation}}
 
'''The Camouflaged State is cancelled whenever:'''
 
{{c1}}
 
*The Camouflaged Marker '''declares''' an Attack or any Skill that requires a Roll.
 
*The Camouflaged Marker declares an '''[[Entire Order]]''' of any kind.
 
{{c1end}}{{n4list}}
 
* The Camouflaged Marker declares an Attack, [[Look Out]]!, or any Skill that requires a Roll.
 
* The Camouflaged Marker declares an '''[[Entire Order]]''' of any kind, other than [[Cautious Movement]].
 
{{n4end}}
 
*The Camouflaged Marker enters Silhouette contact with an enemy Model.
 
*The Camouflaged Marker is '''Discovered'''. 
 
{{c1}}
 
*The Camouflaged Marker receives a successful Attack.
 
{{c1end}}{{n4list}}
 
* The Camouflaged Marker is forced to make a [[Saving Roll]].
 
* The Trooper is or becomes [[Impetuous]] (due to having the [[Frenzy]] Characteristic or any other effect), or enters [[Retreat! State]].
 
{{n4end}}
 
*When Camouflaged State is cancelled, its player '''must replace the Marker''' with the corresponding Model, facing in any direction the player chooses.
 
*When replacing the Marker with the Model, the player must provide their adversary with the Trooper's complete [[Public Information]].  
 
  
 +
{{effects}}
 +
* In Camouflaged State, the Player does not place the Model on the table, but instead places a Camouflaged Marker.
 +
* Camouflaged Markers can possess the [[Mimetism]] Skill, so Camouflaged Markers indicate the MOD level that Mimetism applies, if they have it.
 +
* '''Restriction:''' You cannot enter [[Silhouette contact]] with an Enemy Camouflaged Marker.
 +
* '''Restriction:''' You cannot declare Attacks against Camouflaged Markers, it is necessary to [[Discover]] that Marker first (Discover + Attack maneuver), unless otherwise specified by a rule or Skill.
 +
* To reveal a Camouflaged Marker, a Discover Roll must be passed, applying MODs listed for Discover, including the Marker's Mimetism, if they have it.
 +
* If the Discover Roll is successful, the Camouflaged Marker is replaced with the corresponding Model, facing in any direction its player chooses.
 +
* A Trooper that fails a [[WIP]] Roll to Discover a Marker cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next [[Player Turn]]. Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered Camouflaged State again, does not count as the same Marker.
 +
* A Camouflaged Marker has a [[LoF]] of 360˚.
 +
* A Camouflaged Marker has the same [[Silhouette]] (S) value as the Trooper it represents. However, the Camouflaged Marker of a Weapon or piece of Equipment in Camouflaged State has a Silhouette (S) value of 2.
 +
* This state does not interfere with Automatic Special Skills or Automatic Equipment, which will remain functioning normally.
 +
* '''Restriction:''' A Trooper in Camouflaged State cannot be part of a [[Fireteam]]. If a member of a Fireteam enters Camouflaged State they automatically stop being part of the Fireteam.
 +
* '''Restriction:''' The only [[ARO]]s that can be declared against a Camouflaged Marker are: [[Discover]], [[Dodge]], [[Look Out]]! or [[Reset]].
 +
* When a Trooper in Camouflaged State is activated, each Reactive Trooper can delay the declaration of their ARO until the second half of the Active Trooper's Order has been declared. In this case:
 +
** If the Trooper in Camouflaged state reveals themselves with the second half of their Order (by declaring a [[BS Attack]], moving into Silhouette contact with an enemy...), the delaying Trooper can declare their ARO.
 +
** If the Trooper in Camouflaged state does not reveal themselves, the delaying Trooper loses their right to declare an ARO.
  
{{important-start}}
+
{{cancellation}}
Cancellation of the Camouflaged State is applied to the entirety of the declared Order, even if the Skill revealing the Camouflaged Trooper is performed at the end of the Order.
+
Camouflaged State is canceled whenever:
{{important-end}}
+
** The Camouflaged Marker declares an [[Attack]], [[Look Out]]!, or any Skill that requires a [[Roll]].
 +
** The Camouflaged Marker declares a [[Long Skill]] of any kind, other than [[Cautious Movement]].
 +
** The Camouflaged Marker enters [[Silhouette contact]] with an [[enemy]] Model.
 +
** The Camouflaged Marker is [[Discover]]ed.
 +
** The Camouflaged Marker is forced to make a [[Saving Roll]].
 +
** The Trooper is or becomes [[Impetuous]] (due to having the [[Frenzy]] Special Skill or any other effect), or enters the [[Retreat State | Retreat! State]].
 +
* When Camouflaged State is canceled, the player must replace the Marker with the corresponding Model, facing in any direction the player chooses.
 +
* When replacing the Marker with the Model, the player must provide their adversary with the Trooper's complete [[Public Information]].
 +
{{css_skillbox-end}}
  
  
{{remember-start}}
+
{{see-also}}
ARO against a Marker:
+
'''[[Camouflage]]'''
 +
* During the [[Deployment Phase]], it allows the user to deploy in [[Camouflaged State]].
 +
* In game, it allows the user to enter Camouflaged State.
 +
{{see-also-end}}
  
{{c1}}
 
*The only AROs that can be performed against a Camouflage (CAMO) Marker are '''[[Discover]], [[Dodge]] or [[Reset]]'''.
 
{{c1end}}{{n4list}}
 
* The only AROs that can be performed against a Camouflage (CAMO) Marker are '''[[Discover]], [[Dodge]], [[Look Out]]! or [[Reset]]'''.
 
{{n4end}}
 
*Against a [[Marker]], the enemy can '''delay''' declaring their ARO until it declares its second Short Skill of the Order.
 
*In this case, they may declare an ARO only if the Camouflaged Marker reveals themselves with their second Short Skill of the Order. If the second Short Skill of the Order does not reveal the [[Marker]], the Trooper loses their right to declare an ARO.
 
{{remember-end}}
 
  
 +
{{see-also}}
 +
'''[[Concealed]] Trait'''<br>
 +
Camouflage Markers concealing a weapon, or a piece of Equipment have a [[Silhouette]] (S) value of 2
  
{{n4}}
+
'''[[Transmutation#Transmutation_.28Hatching.29 | Transmutation (Hatching)]]'''<br>
{{remember-start}}
+
The Camouflage Marker of a Troop with Transmutation (Hatching) has a Silhouette (S) value of 2.
Camouflaged Markers (CAMO) may be indirectly affected by [[Template Weapon]]s if another non-Camouflaged Enemy Trooper is designated as the Main Target.  
 
{{remember-end}}
 
{{n4end}}
 
  
 +
'''[[Multispectral Visor | Multispectral Visor Level 3]]'''<br>
 +
In the [[Active Turn]] the user may perform a [[BS Attack]] on a Camouflage Marker (CAMO) in [[LoF]] without making a previous [[Discover]] Roll, but they must apply the [[Mimetism]] MOD indicated on the Marker.
  
==  Examples ==
+
'''[[Sensor]]'''<br>
{{greybox-start | Camouflage and Surprise Attack}}
+
By declaring Sensor, the user may make a [[Normal]] [[WIP]]+6 Roll (without applying [[Range]] or [[Mimetism]] MODs) to simultaneously [[Discover]] all enemy Troopers, Weapons or pieces of Equipment in the [[Hidden Deployment State | Hidden Deployment]] or [[Camouflaged]] States, who are inside the user's Zone of Control.
'''Step 1:'''
+
{{see-also-end}}
  
A Camouflaged Caliban declares [[Move]] as their first Skill, moving until they reach Cover.
 
{{image | name=eng-camouflaged-surprise-attack-1.jpg | style=512border }}
 
  
 +
{{important}}
 +
Cancellation of Camouflaged State is applied to the entirety of the declared [[Order Expenditure Sequence | Order]], even if the Skill revealing the Camouflaged Trooper is performed at the end of the Order.
 +
{{important-end}}
  
'''Step 2:'''
 
  
The Fusilier decides to delay declaring his ARO against the Marker.  
+
{{remember}}
{{image | name=eng-camouflaged-surprise-attack-2.jpg | style=512border }}
+
[[ARO]] against a Marker:
 +
* The only AROs that can be performed against a Camouflaged (CAMO) Marker are [[Discover]], [[Dodge]], [[Look Out]]!, or [[Reset]].
 +
* Against a Marker, the enemy can delay declaring their ARO until the Marker declares the second Short Skill of its Order.
 +
* In this case, they may declare an ARO only if the Camouflaged Marker reveals themselves with the second Short Skill of their Order. If the second Short Skill of the Order does not reveal the Marker, the Reactive Trooper loses their right to declare an ARO.
 +
{{remember-end}}
  
  
'''Step 3:'''
+
{{remember}}
 +
Camouflaged Markers (CAMO) may be indirectly affected by [[Template Weapon]]s if another non-Camouflaged Enemy Trooper is designated as the Main Target.
 +
{{remember-end}}
  
The Caliban declares [[BS Attack]] as the second Skill of their Order: He indicates that he will use his Boarding Shotgun in Burst Mode to shoot at the Fusilier from Cover, which is the closest point.
 
{{image | name=eng-camouflaged-surprise-attack-3.jpg | style=512border }}
 
  
 +
==  Examples ==
 +
{{greybox-start | Camouflage and Surprise Attack}}
 +
'''Step 1:'''<br>
 +
A Camouflaged Caliban declares [[Move]] as their first Skill, moving until they reach [[Cover]].
  
'''Step 4:'''
+
'''Step 2:'''<br>
 +
The Fusilier decides to delay declaring his [[ARO]] against the Marker.
  
The Fusilier declares [[BS Attack]] with his Combi Rifle, before the Caliban reaches the Cover.  
+
{{image | name=n5/eng-camouflaged-state-examples-1-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
Remember that the cancellation of the Camouflaged State applies to the entirety of the Order.  
+
'''Step 3:'''<br>
 +
The Caliban declares [[BS Attack]] as the second Skill of their Order: He indicates that he will use his Boarding Shotgun in Burst Mode to shoot at the Fusilier from Cover, which is the closest point.
  
{{image | name=eng-camouflaged-surprise-attack-4.jpg | style=512border }}
+
'''Step 4:'''<br>
 +
The Fusilier declares BS Attack with his Combi Rifle, before the Caliban reaches the Cover.
 +
Remember that the cancellation of the Camouflaged State applies to the entirety of the Order.
  
'''Resolution:'''
+
{{image | name=n5/eng-camouflaged-state-examples-2-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
By declaring [[BS Attack]] as the second Skill of their Order, the Caliban has revealed himself for the entire Order, which includes his movement towards the point in Cover.  
+
'''Resolution:'''<br>
 +
By declaring BS Attack as the second Skill of their Order, the Caliban has revealed himself for the entire Order, which includes his movement towards the point in Cover.
  
 
The distance between the points where the Skills were declared is measured, and the Face to Face MODs are calculated.
 
The distance between the points where the Skills were declared is measured, and the Face to Face MODs are calculated.
Line 118: Line 108:
  
  
== FAQs & Errata ==
 
 
{{faqbox |
 
type = faq |
 
title = N4 FAQ |
 
version = 1.2, Jan 2022 |
 
q = Q: If a Trooper with Camouflage (1 Use) deploys as a Model, can the Trooper enter Camouflaged State during the game? Does this change if the Trooper fails an Infiltration Roll? |
 
a = A: Yes, the Trooper can enter Camouflaged State later in the game. If the Trooper attempted to deploy as a Marker and failed the Infiltration Roll, they have used the Camouflaged State and cannot enter it later in the game.  |
 
related = [[Camouflage]], [[Camouflaged State]] }}
 
 
 
{{faqbox |
 
type = faq |
 
title = N4 FAQ |
 
version = Updated 1.3, Nov 2022 |
 
q = Q: Does {{erratahighlight}}a Trooper in Disconnected State or Unconscious State (including those in Shasvastii-Embryo State){{erratahighlight-end}} prevent an enemy from re-entering Marker State, or cancel their Cautious Movement? |
 
a = A: No. |
 
related = [[Camouflaged State]], [[Cautious Movement]], [[Impersonation State]], [[Unconscious]] }}
 
  
 +
{{n5-section-game-states}}
  
{{section-special-skills}}
 
{{section-game-states}}
 
  
  
 +
[[Category: Game States]]
  
[[Category:Special Skills]]
+
<!-- Label and Trait categories. -->
 +
[[Category: Marker ]]

Latest revision as of 14:41, 15 April 2025


camo_amarillo_40mm-530.jpg camo_verde_40mm-560.jpg camo_azul_40mm-620.jpg

CAMOUFLAGED
ACTIVATION
  • Automatic during the Deployment Phase.
  • During the Active Turn, Troopers may only return to this state by spending a Long Skill, while outside the LoF of enemy Markers or Troopers.
EFFECTS
  • In Camouflaged State, the Player does not place the Model on the table, but instead places a Camouflaged Marker.
  • Camouflaged Markers can possess the Mimetism Skill, so Camouflaged Markers indicate the MOD level that Mimetism applies, if they have it.
  • Restriction: You cannot enter Silhouette contact with an Enemy Camouflaged Marker.
  • Restriction: You cannot declare Attacks against Camouflaged Markers, it is necessary to Discover that Marker first (Discover + Attack maneuver), unless otherwise specified by a rule or Skill.
  • To reveal a Camouflaged Marker, a Discover Roll must be passed, applying MODs listed for Discover, including the Marker's Mimetism, if they have it.
  • If the Discover Roll is successful, the Camouflaged Marker is replaced with the corresponding Model, facing in any direction its player chooses.
  • A Trooper that fails a WIP Roll to Discover a Marker cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next Player Turn. Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered Camouflaged State again, does not count as the same Marker.
  • A Camouflaged Marker has a LoF of 360˚.
  • A Camouflaged Marker has the same Silhouette (S) value as the Trooper it represents. However, the Camouflaged Marker of a Weapon or piece of Equipment in Camouflaged State has a Silhouette (S) value of 2.
  • This state does not interfere with Automatic Special Skills or Automatic Equipment, which will remain functioning normally.
  • Restriction: A Trooper in Camouflaged State cannot be part of a Fireteam. If a member of a Fireteam enters Camouflaged State they automatically stop being part of the Fireteam.
  • Restriction: The only AROs that can be declared against a Camouflaged Marker are: Discover, Dodge, Look Out! or Reset.
  • When a Trooper in Camouflaged State is activated, each Reactive Trooper can delay the declaration of their ARO until the second half of the Active Trooper's Order has been declared. In this case:
    • If the Trooper in Camouflaged state reveals themselves with the second half of their Order (by declaring a BS Attack, moving into Silhouette contact with an enemy...), the delaying Trooper can declare their ARO.
    • If the Trooper in Camouflaged state does not reveal themselves, the delaying Trooper loses their right to declare an ARO.
CANCELLATION

Camouflaged State is canceled whenever:

  • When Camouflaged State is canceled, the player must replace the Marker with the corresponding Model, facing in any direction the player chooses.
  • When replacing the Marker with the Model, the player must provide their adversary with the Trooper's complete Public Information.


SEE ALSO

Camouflage


SEE ALSO

Concealed Trait
Camouflage Markers concealing a weapon, or a piece of Equipment have a Silhouette (S) value of 2

Transmutation (Hatching)
The Camouflage Marker of a Troop with Transmutation (Hatching) has a Silhouette (S) value of 2.

Multispectral Visor Level 3
In the Active Turn the user may perform a BS Attack on a Camouflage Marker (CAMO) in LoF without making a previous Discover Roll, but they must apply the Mimetism MOD indicated on the Marker.

Sensor
By declaring Sensor, the user may make a Normal WIP+6 Roll (without applying Range or Mimetism MODs) to simultaneously Discover all enemy Troopers, Weapons or pieces of Equipment in the Hidden Deployment or Camouflaged States, who are inside the user's Zone of Control.


IMPORTANT

Cancellation of Camouflaged State is applied to the entirety of the declared Order, even if the Skill revealing the Camouflaged Trooper is performed at the end of the Order.


REMEMBER

ARO against a Marker:

  • The only AROs that can be performed against a Camouflaged (CAMO) Marker are Discover, Dodge, Look Out!, or Reset.
  • Against a Marker, the enemy can delay declaring their ARO until the Marker declares the second Short Skill of its Order.
  • In this case, they may declare an ARO only if the Camouflaged Marker reveals themselves with the second Short Skill of their Order. If the second Short Skill of the Order does not reveal the Marker, the Reactive Trooper loses their right to declare an ARO.


REMEMBER

Camouflaged Markers (CAMO) may be indirectly affected by Template Weapons if another non-Camouflaged Enemy Trooper is designated as the Main Target.


Examples

Camouflage and Surprise Attack

Step 1:
A Camouflaged Caliban declares Move as their first Skill, moving until they reach Cover.

Step 2:
The Fusilier decides to delay declaring his ARO against the Marker.

eng-camouflaged-state-examples-1-2.jpg

Step 3:
The Caliban declares BS Attack as the second Skill of their Order: He indicates that he will use his Boarding Shotgun in Burst Mode to shoot at the Fusilier from Cover, which is the closest point.

Step 4:
The Fusilier declares BS Attack with his Combi Rifle, before the Caliban reaches the Cover. Remember that the cancellation of the Camouflaged State applies to the entirety of the Order.

eng-camouflaged-state-examples-2-2.jpg

Resolution:
By declaring BS Attack as the second Skill of their Order, the Caliban has revealed himself for the entire Order, which includes his movement towards the point in Cover.

The distance between the points where the Skills were declared is measured, and the Face to Face MODs are calculated.