Fireteams: Basic Rules

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search


This N4 rule is not used in CodeOne.

Annex Rule

This rule is from the annex to the Infinity N4 ruleset, containing a series of rules, special skills, weapons and pieces of equipment which have been adapted to the N4 system, but with a provisional nature. Rules included here are completely official, however they may be modified in further expansions of the N4 ruleset.


Common Requirements

  • To use this rule, a player must field a Sectorial Army List, an Army List that specifies that Fireteams are available, or have a Special Skill, piece of Equipment or Hacking Program that allows its use.
  • A Fireteam can only be composed of those Troopers listed as being able to compose Fireteams.
  • A Fireteam must be composed of Troopers belonging to the same Unit, or of those that the Sectorial Army List specifies are able to do so. Some special Fireteams can ignore this Requirement, as specified in their description or in the Sectorial Army List.
  • The members of a Fireteam must observe the Coherency rule in regards to the Team Leader.
  • A Trooper cannot simultaneously be part of more than one Fireteam.
  • All members of a Fireteam must belong to the same Combat Group.
  • The player must nominate one of the Fireteam members as the Team Leader, placing a Team Leader Token. (F: TEAM LEADER) beside them.


Team Leader

fireteam0.jpg

The Team Leader is the acting Trooper of a Fireteam with access to certain added bonuses. As we will see later on, the Team Leader determines the Order that all Fireteam members will declare, is the Reference Trooper for the Coherency rule the rest of the Fireteam members must observe, and is the Trooper whose elimination causes the cancellation of the Fireteam, etc.

The Team Leader is not a fixed model, but can change from Order to Order as the player desires.

The Team Leader is identified by a Team Leader Token (F: TEAM LEADER) or equivalent, depending on the type of Fireteam.


Creation of a Fireteam

  • During the Deployment Phase, placing a Team Leader Token (F: TEAM LEADER), or equivalent, beside one of the Troopers that meet the Requirements of this rule.
In that moment, the player can make a Coherency Check relative to the chosen Team Leader.
  • During the game, spending a Command Token and placing a Team Leader Token (F: TEAM LEADER) beside one of the Troopers that meet the Requirements of this rule.
  • When a Fireteam is created, the player must declare which Troopers are members of it.


IMPORTANT

When creating a Fireteam that includes Wildcard Troopers, the player must include at least one Trooper from the Units listed for that Fireteam in the Sectorial chart, or a Trooper that counts as a member of one of those Units.


Changing the Team Leader

Players nominate the Team Leader during the Deployment Phase, when the Fireteam is created. However, players can change the Team Leader during the game.

Changing the Team Leader allows any Fireteam member to take over when their Special Skills, weaponry, or Equipment are most required.

In the Active Turn, a player can change the Team Leader by placing the Team Leader Token beside the Fireteam member he wishes to take over as Team Leader, when declaring the first Skill of an Order.


Fireteams and CC

  • In Close Combat, whether in the Active or Reactive Turn, when several members are engaged in the same CC, only the Team Leader Trooper can be chosen to perform the CC Roll, applying the Close Combat with Multiple Troopers rule.
  • In the Reactive Turn, if the Team Leader is not engaged in that CC, the player must choose one of the Fireteam members who are engaged in that CC to perform the CC Roll, applying the Close Combat with Multiple Troopers rule.
  • In ARO, the enemy will be able to target any Fireteam member engaged in the CC, but only one of them.


Fireteams, Frenzy and Impetuous

  • While in a Fireteam, the Frenzy and Impetuous Special Skills of a Trooper are not applied.
  • If the Trooper leaves the Fireteam, any Frenzy and Impetuous Special Skills will apply again, in whatever state they were in when the Trooper joined the Fireteam.
  • Any Fireteam that is an exception to this rule will specify this in its description.


Fireteam and Suppressive Fire State

  • A Trooper stops being part of a Fireteam if they enter Suppressive Fire State.
  • In addition, a Trooper's Suppressive Fire State is cancelled when joining a Fireteam.