Difference between revisions of "Discover"

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search
(FAQ)
(N5 first version.)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{section-common-skills}}
+
{{n5-section-common-skills}}
  
  
This Skill allows the user to locate enemies hidden in the form of a Marker, forcing them to reveal the Trooper, Weapon, or Equipment that the Marker represents.
+
This Skill allows the user to locate enemies hidden in the form of a Marker, forcing them to reveal the Trooper, Weapon, or Equipment that the Marker represents
  
{{skillbox |blueyellow| DISCOVER | SHORT MOVEMENT SKILL / ARO}}
+
{{css_skillbox |blueyellow| DISCOVER | BASIC SHORT SKILL / ARO }}
{{Requirements}}
+
{{requirements}}
*The user must be able to draw LoF to the target.  
+
* The user must be able to draw [[LoF]] to the target.
*This Skill cannot be used against the same Target twice in the same Order.  
+
* This Skill cannot be used against the same Target twice in the same Order.
{{Effects}}
+
{{effects}}
*If the user passes a Normal [[WIP]] Roll, applying the same MODs as in a [[BS Attack]] ([[Cover]], [[Range]], [[Mimetism]]...), the target Marker is removed, and must be replaced with the actual Trooper Model, or Weapon or Equipment Token.
+
* If the user passes a Normal [[WIP]] Roll, applying the same MODs as in a [[BS Attack]] ([[Cover]], [[Range]], [[Mimetism]]...), the target Marker is removed, and must be replaced with the actual Trooper Model, or Weapon or Equipment Token.
*A Trooper that fails a [[WIP]] Roll to Discover a [[Marker]] cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next [[Player Turn]]. <br> The Trooper may still attempt to Discover a different Marker that [[Player Turn]], and its player may still attempt to Discover the first Marker using a different Trooper. <br>
+
* A Trooper that fails a WIP Roll to Discover a Marker cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next Player Turn.
{{c1}}
+
* The Trooper may still attempt to Discover a different Marker that Player Turn, and its player may still attempt to Discover the first Marker using a different Trooper.
: Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered [[Camouflaged]] State again, does not count as the same Marker.
+
* Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered [[Camouflaged State]] or [[Impersonation State | Impersonation-1 or 2 State]] again, does not count as the same Marker.
{{c1end}}{{n4list}}
+
* A Trooper that fails the WIP Roll attempting to Discover a Marker, may attempt to Discover another different Marker.
: Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered [[Camouflaged]] or [[Impersonation State|Impersonation]]-1 or 2 State again, does not count as the same Marker.  
+
* The Discover Skill has its own Range MODs, as if it were a BS Weapon
{{n4end}}
+
{{css_skillbox-end}}
*A Trooper that fails the [[WIP]] Roll attempting to [[Discover]] a [[Marker]], may attempt to Discover '''another '''different [[Marker]].  
 
*The Discover Skill has its own [[Range]] [[MODs]], as if it were a [[BS Weapon]].
 
  
  
{{weapon}}
+
{{n5_weapon_single}}
{{weaponrow|Discover|+3|0|0|0|-3|-3|-6|||||[*see above]}}
+
{{n5_weaponrow|Discover|+3|0|0|0|-3|-3|-6|--|--|--|--|--|[***]}}
 
|}
 
|}
  
  
 
{{remember-start}}
 
{{remember-start}}
Discover is a Short Movement Skill, and it may therefore be combined with any other Short Skill or Short Movement Skill. (See [[Trooper Activation]].)
+
Discover is a Basic Short Skill, and it may therefore be combined with any other Basic Short Skill or Short Skill (see ]]Trooper Activation]]).
 
{{remember-end}}
 
{{remember-end}}
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
A common combination in an Order is '''[[Discover]] + [[Attack]]'''. This tactical maneuver allows you to declare an Attack against a Camouflaged enemy, which cannot normally be done.  
+
A common combination in an Order is Discover + Attack. This tactical maneuver allows you to declare an Attack against a Camouflaged enemy, which cannot normally be done.
* If the Camouflaged target declares an ARO, revealing themselves, there is no need to perform the [[Discover]] Roll before resolving the [[Attack]].
+
* If the Camouflaged target declares an ARO, revealing themselves, there is no need to perform the Discover Roll before resolving the Attack.
* If the Camouflaged target does not declare an ARO, the Trooper will need to pass the [[Discover]] Roll before resolving any [[Attack]] against that target.
+
* If the Camouflaged target does not declare an ARO, the Trooper will need to pass the Discover Roll before resolving any Attack against that target.
* Remember that the Active Trooper may [[Discover]] one target and [[Attack]] a different target if they so choose.
+
* Remember that the Active Trooper may Discover one target and Attack a different target if they choose to do so.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
  
  
 
=== Example of Discover + BS Attack ===
 
=== Example of Discover + BS Attack ===
{{image | name=eng-discover-flowchart-orig.jpg | style=1024 }}
 
  
 +
{{image | name=n5/eng-discover-flowchart.jpg | style=1024 }}
  
== FAQs & Errata ==
 
  
{{faqbox |
 
type = faq |
 
title = N4 FAQ |
 
version = 1.1.1, Dec 2021 |
 
q = Q: Can a Troop that has failed to Discover an Impersonation Marker retry to Discover it if it has changed its level of Impersonation? |
 
a = A: Yes, because they are different Markers. |
 
related = [[Discover]], [[Impersonation State]] }}
 
  
 
+
{{n5-section-common-skills}}
{{faqbox |
 
type = faq |
 
title = N4 FAQ |
 
version = 1.2, Jan 2022 |
 
q = Q: Does Discover benefit from the Targeted state? |
 
a = A: Yes, it does. Discover says to apply the same MODs as in a BS Attack. |
 
related = [[Discover]], [[Targeted]] }}
 
 
 
 
 
{{section-common-skills}}
 
  
  
 
[[Category:Common Skills]]
 
[[Category:Common Skills]]

Revision as of 11:05, 1 April 2025


This Skill allows the user to locate enemies hidden in the form of a Marker, forcing them to reveal the Trooper, Weapon, or Equipment that the Marker represents

DISCOVER
BASIC SHORT SKILL / ARO
REQUIREMENTS
  • The user must be able to draw LoF to the target.
  • This Skill cannot be used against the same Target twice in the same Order.
EFFECTS
  • If the user passes a Normal WIP Roll, applying the same MODs as in a BS Attack (Cover, Range, Mimetism...), the target Marker is removed, and must be replaced with the actual Trooper Model, or Weapon or Equipment Token.
  • A Trooper that fails a WIP Roll to Discover a Marker cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next Player Turn.
  • The Trooper may still attempt to Discover a different Marker that Player Turn, and its player may still attempt to Discover the first Marker using a different Trooper.
  • Note that a Trooper that has been revealed, and re-entered Camouflaged State or Impersonation-1 or 2 State again, does not count as the same Marker.
  • A Trooper that fails the WIP Roll attempting to Discover a Marker, may attempt to Discover another different Marker.
  • The Discover Skill has its own Range MODs, as if it were a BS Weapon


Name 8" 16" 24" 32" 40" 48" 96" PS B Ammo Save Attr. Save Rolls Traits
Discover +3 0 0 0 -3 -3 -6 -- -- -- -- -- [***]


REMEMBER

Discover is a Basic Short Skill, and it may therefore be combined with any other Basic Short Skill or Short Skill (see ]]Trooper Activation]]).


IMPORTANT

A common combination in an Order is Discover + Attack. This tactical maneuver allows you to declare an Attack against a Camouflaged enemy, which cannot normally be done.

  • If the Camouflaged target declares an ARO, revealing themselves, there is no need to perform the Discover Roll before resolving the Attack.
  • If the Camouflaged target does not declare an ARO, the Trooper will need to pass the Discover Roll before resolving any Attack against that target.
  • Remember that the Active Trooper may Discover one target and Attack a different target if they choose to do so.


Example of Discover + BS Attack

eng-discover-flowchart.jpg