Difference between revisions of "Template Weapons and Equipment"

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search
m
m
 
(21 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
''[[BS Weapons]]'' and Equipment that use a Template have an ''[[Area of Effect]]'' that affects not only the main target, but also an area of the game table determined by the size of the Template.
+
[[BS Weapon]]s and [[Equipment]] that use a Template have an Area of Effect that affects not only the main target, but also an area of the game table determined '''by the size of the Template'''.
  
 +
The '''Main Target''' of a Template Weapon or Equipment is a Game Element that must be able designated as a valid target for the [[BS Attack]], from which the MODs applied to the Roll are determined, if a Roll is required. This Roll will be opposed separately, one by one, by the rest of the Enemies affected by the template.
  
== Types of Templates ==
+
There are two types of Weapons and Equipment Templates:
 +
* [[Direct Template Weapons | Direct Template]].
 +
* [[Impact Template Weapons | Impact Template]].
  
In this rulebook, there are three kinds of Templates used by Weapons and pieces of Equipment: the Circular Template, the Large Teardrop Template and the Small Teardrop Template.
 
  
The height of the Templates used by Template Weapons and Equipment is equal to their radius, or half their width (except for those Ammunitions whose ''[[Traits]]'' otherwise specify it).
+
{{important-start}}
 +
If the Main Target is outside the [[Area of Effect]] of the Template Weapon or Equipment, the [[BS Attack]] is automatically considered a failure and no Game Element will be affected by the Template.
 +
{{important-end}}
  
{{image | name=eng-3d-templates-2.jpg | style=512border }}
 
  
{{image | name=eng-3d-templates-1.jpg | style=512border }}
+
== Types of Templates ==
 +
In this rulebook, there are three kinds of Templates used by [[Weapons]] and pieces of [[Equipment]]: the Circular Template, the Large Teardrop Template and the Small Teardrop Template.
  
 +
The height of the Templates used by Template Weapons and Equipment is equal to their radius, or half their width (except for those Ammunitions whose [[Traits]] otherwise specify it).
  
== Area of Effect ==
+
{{image | name=dual-types-of-templates-1024.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an ''[[Attack]]'' using a Template Weapon, all Troopers or targets in ''[[Silhouette]]'' contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the ''[[Attack]]''.
 
 
{{effects}}
 
*When using a Template Weapon or Equipment, any Trooper whose base or ''[[Silhouette]]'' Template is in contact with the Template, or is partially or fully inside it, is affected by the Weapon or Equipment.
 
*Any Trooper affected by a Template Weapon or Equipment can declare '''''[[Dodge]]''''' as their second Short Skill or ARO, '''even if they do not have LoF''' to the Trooper declaring the Attack.
 
*As a general rule, '''''[[Dodging]]''''' an Attack with a Template requires a successful '''PH Roll'''.
 
*As an exception to this, in the following cases the '''''[[Dodge]]''''' requires a '''PH-3 Roll''' to avoid an Attack with a Template Weapon:
 
**If the Trooper affected by the Template Weapon Attack '''has no LoF''' to the attacker.
 
**If the Template Weapon Attack is from a '''Deployable Weapon''' (a Mine, for example).
 
*The Area of Effect of a Template can affect ''[[Allied]] [[Troopers]]'' as long as the Template has no Damage Attribute and does not inflict any State.
 
  
 +
== Area of Effect ==
 +
The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an Attack using a Template Weapon, all Troopers or targets in [[Silhouette contact]] or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the Attack.
  
{{important-start}}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-area-1.jpg | style=fullborder }}
Troopers affected by a Template Weapon do not benefit from the -3 Attack Damage ''[[MOD]]'' for [[Partial Cover]].
 
{{important-end}}
 
  
 +
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-area-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
== Direct Template Weapons ==
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-area-3v2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's ''[[Silhouette]]'', or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.
 
  
{{Effects}}
 
*They do not require a BS Roll to hit.
 
*The Template must be placed '''when declaring the ''[[Attack]]''''' in order to determine which Troopers will be affected by the ''[[Attack]]'', as this may influence their possible ARO, or second Short Skill of their Order.
 
*'''Direct Teardrop Template''' (Chain Rifle, Flamethrower, etc.): The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (''Blast Focus'') must be placed in contact with the edge of the Silhouette of the Trooper declaring the ''[[Attack]]''. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the ''[[Attack]]''. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the ''[[Silhouette]]'' of the Trooper that is declaring the ''[[Attack]]'' (see example).
 
*'''Direct Circular Template:''' The center of the Circular Template (''Blast Focus'') must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
 
*Dodging a Direct Template Weapon requires a '''Normal ''[[PH]]'' Roll''' (or ''[[PH]]''-3 as mentioned previously).
 
*If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their ''[[Attack]]'' will be a Normal Roll (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc, requires a Roll). In the Resolution step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a ''[[Saving Roll]]'', since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
 
*Those Direct Template Weapons that have a '''Burst (B) value higher than 1''', allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their ''[[Burst]] (B)'' value indicates, and to distribute this ''[[B]]'' among different targets if so wished.
 
  
 +
===Area of Effect of Template Weapons and Equipment===
  
{{important-start}}
+
{{css_skillbox |black| Area of Effect of Template Weapons and Equipment }}
To ''[[Dodge]]'' an Attack with '''several Direct Templates''' in the same Order, a single Normal ''[[PH]]'' (or ''[[PH]]-3'') Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to ''[[Dodge]]'' all Templates with one Roll.
+
{{effects}}
{{important-end}}
+
* When using a Template Weapon or Equipment, any Trooper whose base or [[Silhouette]] Template is in contact with the Template, or is partially or fully inside it, is affected by the Weapon or Equipment.
 +
* Any Trooper affected by a Template Weapon or Equipment can declare '''[[Dodge]]''' as their second Short Skill or ARO, '''even if they do not have [[LoF]]''' to the Trooper declaring the Attack.
 +
* As a general rule, '''Dodging''' an Attack with a Template requires a successful '''[[PH]] Roll'''.
 +
* As an exception to this, in the following cases the Dodge requires '''a PH -3 Roll''' to avoid an Attack with a Template Weapon:
 +
** If the Trooper affected by the Template Weapon Attack has no [[LoF]] to the attacker.
 +
** If the Template Weapon Attack is from a '''[[Deployable Weapon]]''' (a [[Mines | Mine]], for example).
 +
* Once placed, the Template remains on the game table until the [[Resolution]] step of the Order.
 +
* The Area of Effect of a Template can affect [[Allied]] Troopers as long as the Template has no [[Possibility of Survival (PS) | PS value]] and does not inflict any [[State]].
 +
* When several Troopers are activated at the same time (a [[Coordinated Order]] or [[Fireteams Module | Fireteam]], for example), the Template affects every Trooper that was in [[Silhouette contact]] with its Area of Effect at any time during that Order, since everything happens simultaneously during the Order.
 +
* [[Critical]] Hits with Template Weapons:
 +
** When a Critical is rolled when using a Template Weapon, it counts as a Critical against the Main Target of the attack, and only the Main Target. Against any Secondary Targets affected by the Template, it is a successful Roll instead of a Critical.
 +
* Responding to a Template Weapon Roll:
 +
** Against an Attack with a Template Weapon that required a Roll to hit whether it was an Impact Template Weapon or an [[Intuitive Attack]], etc., each affected enemy may make a separate [[Face to Face Roll]] against the attacker.
 +
{{css_skillbox-end}}
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
Despite being in contact with the Template, Troopers declaring an ''[[Attack]]'' with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon's or Type of Ammunition's description.
+
Troopers affected by a Template Weapon do not benefit from the +3 MOD to the [[Saving Roll (SR)]] for [[Partial Cover]].
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
  
  
=== Direct Template Placement Examples ===
+
{{see-also}}
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapon Placement }}
+
'''[[Terrain and Scenery Structures#Special Terrain | Area of Effect of Special Terrain Zones]]'''<br>
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-1.jpg | style=512border }}
+
: In Infinity, the Area of Effect of a Special Terrain zone is the area in where its special effects are applied. Any Trooper in [[Silhouette contact]] with a Special Terrain zone, or whose base or [[Silhouette Template]] is covered at least partially by a Special Terrain zone, is equally affected by the Effects of the zone.
Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.
+
{{see-also-end}}
  
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-2.jpg | style=512border }}
 
The Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own Silhouette.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
  
 +
== Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers ==
 +
Declaring Attacks against [[Allied]] or [[Neutral]] Troopers is not allowed, nor is it allowed to perform Attacks that may affect them, unless the Template lacks a [[Possibility of Survival (PS) | PS Attribute]] value and does not inflict [[States]]. Therefore, if when declaring an Attack with a Template Weapon, an Allied or Neutral Trooper would be affected by the Template, that shot is cancelled (but not other shots of that same [[Burst]] that have no Allies or Neutrals within their Area of Effect). Any reactive Troopers within the Area of Effect of the cancelled shot can still declare [[ARO]]s.
  
== Template Weapons, Scenery Elements and Total Cover ==
+
In this case of a cancelled shot, if a Weapon with the [[Disposable]] Trait was used, the initially declared use is still consumed.
  
A Template's Area of Effect may be determined by the presence of scenery elements on the game board, as seen in the graphics.
+
=== Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers Example ===
 +
{{greybox-start | Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers}}
 +
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-allied-example.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
In Infinity CodeOne, different Templates have a '''Blast Focus''', that is used to determine if a Trooper is affected by the Template, or if the Template's ''Area of Effect'' has been blocked by Total Cover from intervening scenery elements. For a Trooper to be affected by the Template, it must be possible to trace a ''[[LoF]]'' from the Template's Blast Focus to the Trooper, without being blocked by Total Cover.  
+
Trooper 1 has [[B]]2 with their Pulzar. When declaring a [[BS Attack]] against Troopers 2 and 3 it is found that Template B affects Trooper 4 ([[Allied]] or [[Neutral]]). Template B is therefore cancelled.  
  
The ''Blast Focus'' is the center of the Circular Template and the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.
+
Troopers 2 and 3 may declare [[ARO]]s normally.
 +
{{greybox-end}}
  
''[[LoF]]'' from the ''Blast Focus'' to a Trooper may only be drawn within the Area of Effect of the Template itself.
 
  
 +
== Template Weapons Into Close Combat ==
 +
Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers engaged in [[Close Combat]] will always affect every Trooper involved, even if, due to the Template’s placement, it contacts only some of them. Players must take this into account, since Attacks cannot be performed against [[Allied]] Troopers.
  
=== Direct Templates and Cover Examples ===
+
{{see-also-start}}
 +
'''[[BS Attack Into a Close Combat]]'''
 +
{{see-also-end}}
  
{{greybox-start |Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
 
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-3.jpg | style=512border }}
 
  
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.
+
== Template Weapons, Scenery Elements and Total Cover ==
{{greybox-end}}
 
  
 +
A Template’s Area of Effect may be determined by the presence of scenery elements on the game board, as seen in the graphics.
  
{{greybox-start | Area of Effect, Placement and Total Cover}}
+
In Infinity, different Templates have a Blast Focus, which is used to determine if a Trooper is affected by the Template, or if the Template’s Area of Effect has been blocked by [[Total Cover]] from intervening scenery elements. For a Trooper to be affected by the Template, it must be possible to trace a [[LoF]] from the Template’s Blast Focus to the Trooper, without being blocked by [[Total Cover]].
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-4.jpg | style=512border }}
 
  
The enemy Trooper is unaffected by the Template given that, being Prone, their Silhouette is X, and therefore has their base’s height. If the Trooper was not Prone they would be affected by the Template.
+
The Blast Focus is the center of the Circular Template and the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.
{{greybox-end}}
 
  
 +
LoF from the Blast Focus to a Trooper may only be drawn within the Area of Effect of the Template itself.
  
{{greybox-start | Direct Template With Burst (B2): Area of Effect, Placement, and Troopers at Different Levels}}
 
{{image | name=eng-dtw-burst2.jpg | style=512border }}
 
  
During his Active Turn, a Betatrooper with Nanopulser (B+1), Direct Template BS Weapon, declares Move and BS Attack with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack, the Betatrooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
 +
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
The Betatrooper affects 3 out of 4 enemies in range. Being Direct Templates, Attacks declared as ARO will not be Face to Face Rolls.
+
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, [[LoF]] cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.
 
 
Being in Prone state, Trooper nº3 will remain unaffected by the Template, since it does not touch their base.
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
 +
{{greybox-start | Impact Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
 +
{{image | name=n5/eng-templates-impact-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
{{n5_weapon_single}}
 +
{{n5_weaponrow|Grenades|+3|-3|--|--|--|--|--|7|1|N|ARM|1|[[Speculative Attack]], [[BS Weapon (PH)]], [[Impact Template (Circular)]]}}
 +
|}
  
== Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers ==
+
By performing an Attack with an Impact Template, the Circular Template is centered on the underside of the Main Target’s Base, regardless of the impact point on the target. Any Game Element in contact or within the Area of Effect of the Circular Template will also be affected by the Attack. As we see in the picture, thanks to the scenery element, it is not possible to draw a LoF from the Blast Focus to Trooper 3, who is therefore unaffected.
 
 
Declaring ''[[Attacks]]'' against ''[[Allied]]'' or ''[[Neutral]]'' Troopers is '''not allowed''', nor is it allowed to perform ''[[Attacks]]'' that may affect them, unless the Template lacks a ''[[Damage Attribute]]'' value and does not inflict States. Therefore, if when declaring an ''[[Attack]]'' with a Template Weapon, an Allied or ''[[Neutral]]'' Trooper would be affected by the Template, that shot is cancelled (but not other shots of that same ''[[Burst]]'' that have no Allies or ''[[Neutrals]]'' within their Area of Effect). Any reactive Troopers within the Area of Effect of the cancelled shot can still declare AROs.  
 
 
 
In this case of a cancelled shot, if a Weapon with the ''[[Disposable]]'' Trait was used, the initially declared use is still consumed.
 
 
 
=== Allied and Neutral Troopers Example ===
 
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapons, Allied and Neutral Troopers}}
 
{{image | name=eng-dtw-allies.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
 
Trooper 1 has B2 with their Chain-colt, when declaring BS Attack against Troopers 2 and 3 it is checked that the B Template affects Trooper 4 (Allied or Neutral). Template B is therefore cancelled.
 
 
 
Troopers 2 and 3 may declare ARO normally.
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
 
== Template Weapons Into Close Combat ==
 
Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers engaged in Close Combat will always affect '''every''' Trooper involved, even if, due to the Template’s placement, it contacts only some of them. Players must take this into account, since ''[[Attacks]]'' cannot be performed against Allied Troopers.
 
 
 
== BS Attack Into a Close Combat ==
 
If a ''[[BS Attack]]'' is declared against an enemy Trooper that is engaged in CC Combat a '''-6 ''[[MOD]]''''' must be applied for each Allied Trooper engaged in the ''[[Close Combat|CC]]'' (in addition to any ''[[MODs]]'' for ''[[Range]], [[Cover]], [[Mimetism]]''... for the target).
 
 
 
  
  
  
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
  
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]

Latest revision as of 13:00, 28 May 2025


BS Weapons and Equipment that use a Template have an Area of Effect that affects not only the main target, but also an area of the game table determined by the size of the Template.

The Main Target of a Template Weapon or Equipment is a Game Element that must be able designated as a valid target for the BS Attack, from which the MODs applied to the Roll are determined, if a Roll is required. This Roll will be opposed separately, one by one, by the rest of the Enemies affected by the template.

There are two types of Weapons and Equipment Templates:


IMPORTANT

If the Main Target is outside the Area of Effect of the Template Weapon or Equipment, the BS Attack is automatically considered a failure and no Game Element will be affected by the Template.


Types of Templates

In this rulebook, there are three kinds of Templates used by Weapons and pieces of Equipment: the Circular Template, the Large Teardrop Template and the Small Teardrop Template.

The height of the Templates used by Template Weapons and Equipment is equal to their radius, or half their width (except for those Ammunitions whose Traits otherwise specify it).

dual-types-of-templates-1024.jpg


Area of Effect

The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an Attack using a Template Weapon, all Troopers or targets in Silhouette contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the Attack.

dual-templates-area-1.jpg

dual-templates-area-2.jpg

dual-templates-area-3v2.jpg


Area of Effect of Template Weapons and Equipment

Area of Effect of Template Weapons and Equipment
EFFECTS
  • When using a Template Weapon or Equipment, any Trooper whose base or Silhouette Template is in contact with the Template, or is partially or fully inside it, is affected by the Weapon or Equipment.
  • Any Trooper affected by a Template Weapon or Equipment can declare Dodge as their second Short Skill or ARO, even if they do not have LoF to the Trooper declaring the Attack.
  • As a general rule, Dodging an Attack with a Template requires a successful PH Roll.
  • As an exception to this, in the following cases the Dodge requires a PH -3 Roll to avoid an Attack with a Template Weapon:
    • If the Trooper affected by the Template Weapon Attack has no LoF to the attacker.
    • If the Template Weapon Attack is from a Deployable Weapon (a Mine, for example).
  • Once placed, the Template remains on the game table until the Resolution step of the Order.
  • The Area of Effect of a Template can affect Allied Troopers as long as the Template has no PS value and does not inflict any State.
  • When several Troopers are activated at the same time (a Coordinated Order or Fireteam, for example), the Template affects every Trooper that was in Silhouette contact with its Area of Effect at any time during that Order, since everything happens simultaneously during the Order.
  • Critical Hits with Template Weapons:
    • When a Critical is rolled when using a Template Weapon, it counts as a Critical against the Main Target of the attack, and only the Main Target. Against any Secondary Targets affected by the Template, it is a successful Roll instead of a Critical.
  • Responding to a Template Weapon Roll:
    • Against an Attack with a Template Weapon that required a Roll to hit whether it was an Impact Template Weapon or an Intuitive Attack, etc., each affected enemy may make a separate Face to Face Roll against the attacker.


IMPORTANT

Troopers affected by a Template Weapon do not benefit from the +3 MOD to the Saving Roll (SR) for Partial Cover.


SEE ALSO

Area of Effect of Special Terrain Zones

In Infinity, the Area of Effect of a Special Terrain zone is the area in where its special effects are applied. Any Trooper in Silhouette contact with a Special Terrain zone, or whose base or Silhouette Template is covered at least partially by a Special Terrain zone, is equally affected by the Effects of the zone.


Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers

Declaring Attacks against Allied or Neutral Troopers is not allowed, nor is it allowed to perform Attacks that may affect them, unless the Template lacks a PS Attribute value and does not inflict States. Therefore, if when declaring an Attack with a Template Weapon, an Allied or Neutral Trooper would be affected by the Template, that shot is cancelled (but not other shots of that same Burst that have no Allies or Neutrals within their Area of Effect). Any reactive Troopers within the Area of Effect of the cancelled shot can still declare AROs.

In this case of a cancelled shot, if a Weapon with the Disposable Trait was used, the initially declared use is still consumed.

Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers Example

Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers

dual-templates-allied-example.jpg

Trooper 1 has B2 with their Pulzar. When declaring a BS Attack against Troopers 2 and 3 it is found that Template B affects Trooper 4 (Allied or Neutral). Template B is therefore cancelled.

Troopers 2 and 3 may declare AROs normally.


Template Weapons Into Close Combat

Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers engaged in Close Combat will always affect every Trooper involved, even if, due to the Template’s placement, it contacts only some of them. Players must take this into account, since Attacks cannot be performed against Allied Troopers.

SEE ALSO


Template Weapons, Scenery Elements and Total Cover

A Template’s Area of Effect may be determined by the presence of scenery elements on the game board, as seen in the graphics.

In Infinity, different Templates have a Blast Focus, which is used to determine if a Trooper is affected by the Template, or if the Template’s Area of Effect has been blocked by Total Cover from intervening scenery elements. For a Trooper to be affected by the Template, it must be possible to trace a LoF from the Template’s Blast Focus to the Trooper, without being blocked by Total Cover.

The Blast Focus is the center of the Circular Template and the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.

LoF from the Blast Focus to a Trooper may only be drawn within the Area of Effect of the Template itself.


Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery

dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg

The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.

Impact Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery

eng-templates-impact-scenery.jpg

Name 8" 16" 24" 32" 40" 48" 96" PS B Ammo Save Attr. Save Rolls Traits
Grenades +3 -3 -- -- -- -- -- 7 1 N ARM 1 Speculative Attack, BS Weapon (PH), Impact Template (Circular)

By performing an Attack with an Impact Template, the Circular Template is centered on the underside of the Main Target’s Base, regardless of the impact point on the target. Any Game Element in contact or within the Area of Effect of the Circular Template will also be affected by the Attack. As we see in the picture, thanks to the scenery element, it is not possible to draw a LoF from the Blast Focus to Trooper 3, who is therefore unaffected.