Skills and Equipment in Infinity
Infinity possesses a series of Skills and pieces of Equipment which allows a Trooper to act during the game. Moreover, in this section we will explain how Unit Profiles are notated, for a simpler and quicker understanding of the information about Skills and pieces of Equipment.
- A positive MOD (+) in round brackets next to a Special Skill, Weapon, or Equipment will be applied only to the user of that Special Skill, Weapon, or Equipment.
- A negative MOD (-) in round brackets next to a Special Skill, Weapon, or Equipment will be applied only to enemies.
- The value of an Attribute, Burst, Damage, Ammunition, number of uses... in round brackets next to a Special Skill, Weapon, or Equipment will be used, applying its effects if necessary, only when using that Special Skill, Weapon or Equipment.
- “ReRoll” in round brackets next to a Special Skill, Weapon, or Equipment will allow the user to reroll one die from the Roll, only when using that Special Skill, Weapon, or Equipment.
MODs imposed by Skills, Special Skills, or pieces of Equipment may be applied to their users, or to those enemy Troopers acting against them, in several different ways. For example:
- BS Attack (+1B) means that, when its user declares a BS Attack in their Active Turn, they must apply a +1 MOD to their BS Weapon’s Burst. They may not, however, apply this MOD during their Reactive Turn if they declare a BS Attack ARO.
LEVELS, LABELS AND TRAITS
If a Special Skill or piece of Equipment has different Levels and only one of them is listed, it means the Trooper may only use the listed Level.
If “Total” is used, the player may choose which Level to use in each Order or ARO they declare.
The Labels, Traits and Effects of Skills and pieces of Equipment a Trooper has can be combined with each other, as long as the NFB Label is respected.
A good player lets their adversary know when they don’t use one of the Special Skills with the Optional Label. To expedite the match, both players may consider that these Optional Special Skills are always applied, unless otherwise stated.
COMMON AND SPECIAL SKILLS IN INFINITY
Different actions a Trooper may declare are called Skills. There are two types of Skills: Common Skills, that any Trooper can declare, and Special Skills, that can only be declared by those units which list the Special Skill in their Unit Profile.
Both Common and Special Skills have labels that indicate defining characteristics, for quick reference. You can check all Labels and Traits.
Both Common and Special Skills can also be divided into:
Automatic Skills are those that can be employed without expending an Order or ARO. Consequently, these Skills do not require a Roll.
Deployment Skills are those used during the Deployment Phase or during the game, when the Troopers are deployed. These Skills must observe the usual Deployment rules except when otherwise stated.
To declare one of these Skills, the user must expend one Short Skill.
|SHORT MOVEMENT SKILLS|
To declare one of these Skills, the user must expend one Short Movement Skill.
|ENTIRE ORDER SKILLS|
To declare one of these Skills, the user must expend one Entire Order. These Skills can only be declared in the Active Turn.
ARO Skills are those that Troopers may perform as an ARO.
Want to know more? You may find all the additional info to further explore the Infinity Universe in background books, articles and appendices.
FAQs & Errata
Q: When do you apply negative MODs for Skills, Equipment, and Weapons, and who do the MODs apply to? For example when using CC Attack (-X).
A: The value of an Attribute, Burst, Damage, Ammunition, MOD, number of uses... will only apply when using that Skill, Weapon or Equipment. If the Skill, Weapon, or Equipment requires any targets, the MOD will only apply to those targets.Related Pages: Skills and Equipment in Infinity
Q: Do Skills that let you perform a 'BS Attack Roll' (for example Intuitive Attack and Speculative Attack), or have the BS Attack Label, count as a BS Attack for MODs? For example if the Trooper has 'BS Attack (+1 Damage)' or 'BS Attack (AP)'.
A: Yes.Related Pages: BS Attack, Intuitive Attack, Labels, Skills and Equipment in Infinity, Speculative Attack