Difference between revisions of "Guts Roll"

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "{{section-combat-module}} {{n4only}} {{n4list}} When Troopers survive a successful Attack, it means their body armor took the brunt of the impact, keeping them from serious...")
 
(Updated see FAQ links.)
 
(3 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 9: Line 9:
 
{{Requirements}}
 
{{Requirements}}
 
* The Trooper is not in an [[Engaged]], [[Null]] or [[IMM]] State.
 
* The Trooper is not in an [[Engaged]], [[Null]] or [[IMM]] State.
* The Trooper had suffered one or more successful Attacks–even if all the attackers are in a [[Null]] State.
+
* The Trooper had suffered one or more successful Attacks–even if all the attackers are in a [[Null]] State. {{seefaq | Attacks with no Damage value that do not inflict States do not cause Guts Rolls.}}
 
{{Effects}}
 
{{Effects}}
 
* A Guts Roll consists in a single Normal [[WIP]] Roll, always performed at the very end of the Order, after performing any [[Saving Rolls]].
 
* A Guts Roll consists in a single Normal [[WIP]] Roll, always performed at the very end of the Order, after performing any [[Saving Rolls]].
Line 22: Line 22:
 
* This movement of a failed Guts Roll:
 
* This movement of a failed Guts Roll:
 
** Does not generate AROs or activate Deployable Weapons or Equipment.
 
** Does not generate AROs or activate Deployable Weapons or Equipment.
** Must follow the General Movement Rules as well as the Moving and Measuring rules.
+
** Must follow the [[General Movement Rules]] as well as the [[Moving and Measuring]] rules.
 
** Does '''not''' allow the Trooper to enter Silhouette contact with enemy Troopers, or with Mission Objectives.
 
** Does '''not''' allow the Trooper to enter Silhouette contact with enemy Troopers, or with Mission Objectives.
 +
 +
 +
{{remember-start}}
 +
Troopers in [[Engaged State]] do not make Guts Rolls.
 +
{{remember-end}}
 +
 +
 +
== FAQs & Errata ==
 +
 +
{{faqbox |
 +
type = faq |
 +
title = N4 FAQ |
 +
version = 1.0, Jan 2021 |
 +
q = Q: Do Smoke Grenades etc. cause Guts Rolls? |
 +
a = A: No. Attacks with no Damage value that do not inflict States do not cause Guts Rolls. |
 +
related = [[Eclipse Ammunition]], [[Guts Roll]], [[Smoke Ammunition]] }}
 +
 
{{n4end}}
 
{{n4end}}
  

Latest revision as of 11:17, 4 February 2021


This N4 rule is not used in CodeOne.

When Troopers survive a successful Attack, it means their body armor took the brunt of the impact, keeping them from serious injury. This triggers a primal fear of death, and survival instincts kick in. The Troopers' survival instincts can force them to recoil from danger and dive for cover.

GUTS ROLL
Requirements
Effects
  • A Guts Roll consists in a single Normal WIP Roll, always performed at the very end of the Order, after performing any Saving Rolls.
  • If the Guts Roll is successful, the Trooper must stand its ground and must do nothing else.
  • If a Trooper would have to make a Guts Roll, its owner can instead choose to fail it automatically.
  • If the WIP Roll is failed, it is compulsory to perform the first of these options that the Trooper can complete:
    • 1. The Trooper must move up to 2 inches to completely leave:
      • The LoF of the Enemy or Enemies (for example, in the case of a Coordinated Order, or multiple AROs) that have performed Attacks against the Trooper.
      • The danger zone or Area of Effect of Attacks that did not require LoF.
    • 2. If this is not possible, the Trooper must move up to 2 inches to gain Total or Partial Cover from all attackers.
    • 3. If the two previous options are not possible, the Trooper must go Prone, facing in any direction its player chooses.
  • This movement of a failed Guts Roll:
    • Does not generate AROs or activate Deployable Weapons or Equipment.
    • Must follow the General Movement Rules as well as the Moving and Measuring rules.
    • Does not allow the Trooper to enter Silhouette contact with enemy Troopers, or with Mission Objectives.


REMEMBER

Troopers in Engaged State do not make Guts Rolls.


FAQs & Errata

N4 FAQ
Version: 1.0, Jan 2021

Q: Do Smoke Grenades etc. cause Guts Rolls?

A: No. Attacks with no Damage value that do not inflict States do not cause Guts Rolls.

Related Pages: Eclipse Ammunition, Guts Roll, Smoke Ammunition