NOTICE: Infinity N5.2 and N5 FAQ 0.0.0

The wiki has been updated to include the N5.2 changes and the v0.0.0 FAQ.
List of wiki pages updated in N5.2.

Difference between pages "Template Weapons and Equipment" and "Direct Template Weapons"

From Infinity
(Difference between pages)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(Fixed Trooper numbers in one of the examples.)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
''[[BS Weapons]]'' and Equipment that use a Template have an ''[[Area of Effect]]'' that affects not only the main target, but also an area of the game table determined by the size of the Template.
+
As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's [[Silhouette]], or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.
  
 +
{{css_skillbox |black| DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS |}}
 +
{{Effects}}
 +
* They do not require a [[BS]] Roll to hit.
 +
* When declaring the Attack, the Template must be placed on the table to check that the Main Target is within the [[Area of Effect]], and to determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) are affected by the Attack.
 +
* The placement of the Direct Template depends on their type:
 +
** '''Direct Teardrop Template''': The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the [[Silhouette]] of the Trooper declaring the Attack. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example).
 +
** '''Direct Circular Template''': The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
 +
* '''[[Dodge | Dodging]]''' a Direct Template Weapon requires a '''Normal [[PH]] Roll''' (or PH-3 as mentioned previously).
 +
* If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their Attack will be a [[Normal Roll]] (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc., requires a Roll). In the [[Resolution]] step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a [[Saving Roll]], since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
 +
* In [[ARO]], any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.
 +
* Those Direct Template Weapons that have a '''[[Burst]] (B) value higher than 1''', allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among different targets if so wished.
 +
{{css_skillbox-end}}
  
== Types of Templates ==
 
  
In this rulebook, there are three kinds of Templates used by Weapons and pieces of Equipment: the Circular Template, the Large Teardrop Template and the Small Teardrop Template.
+
{{important-start}}
 
+
To [[Dodge]] an Attack with several Direct Templates in the same Order, a single Normal [[PH]] (or PH-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to Dodge all Templates with one Roll.
The height of the Templates used by Template Weapons and Equipment is equal to their radius, or half their width (except for those Ammunitions whose ''[[Traits]]'' otherwise specify it).
+
{{important-end}}
  
{{image | name=eng-3d-templates-2.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
{{image | name=eng-3d-templates-1.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
 
== Area of Effect ==
 
 
The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an ''[[Attack]]'' using a Template Weapon, all Troopers or targets in ''[[Silhouette]]'' contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the ''[[Attack]]''.
 
 
{{effects}}
 
*When using a Template Weapon or Equipment, any Trooper whose base or ''[[Silhouette]]'' Template is in contact with the Template, or is partially or fully inside it, is affected by the Weapon or Equipment.
 
*Any Trooper affected by a Template Weapon or Equipment can declare '''''[[Dodge]]''''' as their second Short Skill or ARO, '''even if they do not have LoF''' to the Trooper declaring the Attack.
 
*As a general rule, '''''[[Dodging]]''''' an Attack with a Template requires a successful '''PH Roll'''.
 
*As an exception of this, in the following cases the '''''[[Dodge]]''''' requires a '''PH-3 Roll''' to avoid an Attack with a Template Weapon:
 
**If the Trooper affected by the Template Weapon Attack '''has no LoF''' to the attacker.
 
**If the Template Weapon Attack is from a '''Deployable Weapon''' (a Mine, for example).
 
*The Area of Effect of a Template can affect ''[[Allied]] [[Troopers]]'' as long as the Template has no Damage Attribute and does not inflict any State.
 
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
Troopers affected by a Template Weapon do not benefit from the -3 Attack Damage ''[[MOD]]'' for [[Partial Cover]].
+
Despite being in [[Silhouette contact | contact]] with the Template, Troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon’s, Skill’s or Type of Ammunition’s description.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
 
 
== Direct Template Weapons ==
 
As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's ''[[Silhouette]]'', or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.
 
 
{{Effects}}
 
*They do not require a BS Roll to hit.
 
*The Template must be placed '''when declaring the ''[[Attack]]''''' in order to determine which Troopers will be affected by the ''[[Attack]]'', as this may influence their possible ARO, or second Short Skill of their Order.
 
*'''Direct Teardrop Template''' (Chain Rifle, Flamethrower, etc.): The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (''Blast Focus'') must be placed in contact with the edge of the Silhouette of the Trooper declaring the ''[[Attack]]''. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the ''[[Attack]]''. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the ''[[Silhouette]]'' of the Trooper that is declaring the ''[[Attack]]'' (see example).
 
*'''Direct Circular Template:''' The center of the Circular Template (''Blast Focus'') must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
 
*Dodging a Direct Template Weapon requires a '''Normal ''[[PH]]'' Roll''' (or ''[[PH]]''-3 as mentioned previously).
 
*If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their ''[[Attack]]'' will be a Normal Roll (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc, requires a Roll). In the Resolution step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a ''[[Saving Roll]]'', since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
 
*Those Direct Template Weapons that have a '''Burst (B) value higher than 1''', allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their ''[[Burst]] (B)'' value indicates, and to distribute this ''[[B]]'' among different targets if so wished.
 
  
  
 
=== Direct Template Examples ===
 
=== Direct Template Examples ===
 
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapon Placement }}
 
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapon Placement }}
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-1.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-1.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.
 
Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.
  
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-2.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
The Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own Silhouette.
+
The Teardrop Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own [[Silhouette]].
 +
 
 +
{{image | name=n5/eng-direct-template-example-3.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be over the center of the Trooper’s base.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
{{greybox-start |Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template With Burst 2 }}
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-3.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-4.jpg | style=fullborder }}
{{greybox-end}}
+
During his Active Turn, a Trooper with a Pulzar ([[B]]+1), a Direct Template [[BS Weapon]], declares [[Move]] and [[BS Attack]] with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack. The Trooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.
  
 +
The Trooper affects 2 out of 4 enemies in range. As the Active Trooper is using a Direct Template Weapon, any Attacks declared as [[ARO]]s will not be [[Face to Face Roll]]s.
  
{{greybox-start | Area of Effect, Placement and Total Cover}}
+
As Troopers #2 and #3 are in [[Prone State]], they are not affected by the Template, since it does not touch their [[Silhouette]]s.
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-4.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
{{greybox-start | Direct Template With Burst (B2): Area of Effect, Placement, and Troopers at Different Levels}}
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template, Shot Cancelled }}
{{image | name=eng-dtw-burst2.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-5.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
+
In this picture, we have Trooper A who declares a [[BS Attack]] against Trooper B with his Direct Template Weapon (a Pulzar). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy [[Camouflaged | Camouflage Marker]] (CAMO).
During his Active Turn, a Betatrooper with Nanopulser (B+1), Direct Template BS Weapon, declares Move and BS Attack with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack, the Betatrooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.
 
 
 
The Betatrooper affects 3 out of 4 enemies in range. Being Direct Templates, Attacks declared as ARO will not be Face to Face Rolls.
 
  
Being in Prone state, Trooper nº3 will remain unaffected by the Template, since it does not touch their base.
+
Since Trooper B is not in the [[Area of Effect]] of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
{{important-start}}
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
To ''[[Dodge]]'' an Attack with '''several Direct Templates''' in the same Order, a single Normal ''[[PH]]'' (or ''[[PH]]-3'') Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to ''[[Dodge]]'' all Templates with one Roll.
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
{{important-end}}
 
  
 
+
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, [[LoF]] cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the [[Area of Effect]].
{{important-start}}
 
Despite being in contact with the Template, Troopers declaring an ''[[Attack]]'' with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon's or Type of Ammunition's description.
 
{{important-end}}
 
 
 
 
 
== Template Weapons, Scenery Elements and Total Cover ==
 
 
 
A Template's Area of Effect may be determined by the presence of scenery elements on the game board, as seen in the graphics.
 
 
 
In Infinity CodeOne, different Templates have a '''Blast Focus''', that is used to determine if a Trooper is affected by the Template, or if the Template's ''Area of Effect'' has been blocked by Total Cover from intervening scenery elements. For a Trooper to be affected by the Template, it must be possible to trace a ''[[LoF]]'' from the Template's Blast Focus to the Trooper, without being blocked by Total Cover.
 
 
 
The ''Blast Focus'' is the center of the Circular Template and the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.
 
 
 
''[[LoF]]'' from the ''Blast Focus'' to a Trooper may only be drawn within the Area of Effect of the Template itself.
 
 
 
 
 
== Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers ==
 
 
 
Declaring ''[[Attacks]]'' against ''[[Allied]]'' or ''[[Neutral]]'' Troopers is '''not allowed''', nor is it allowed to perform ''[[Attacks]]'' that may affect them, unless the Template lacks a ''[[Damage Attribute]]'' value and does not inflict States. Therefore, if when declaring an ''[[Attack]]'' with a Template Weapon, an Allied or ''[[Neutral]]'' Trooper would be affected by the Template, that shot is cancelled (but not other shots of that same ''[[Burst]]'' that have no Allies or ''[[Neutrals]]'' within their Area of Effect). Any reactive Troopers within the Area of Effect of the cancelled shot can still declare AROs.
 
 
 
In this case of a cancelled shot, if a Weapon with the ''[[Disposable]]'' Trait was used, the initially declared use is still consumed.
 
 
 
=== Allied and Neutral Troopers Example ===
 
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapons, Allied and Neutral Troopers}}
 
{{image | name=eng-dtw-allies.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
 
Trooper 1 has B2 with their Chain-colt, when declaring BS Attack against Troopers 2 and 3 it is checked that the B Template affects Trooper 4 (Allied or Neutral). Template B is therefore cancelled.
 
 
 
Troopers 2 and 3 may declare ARO normally.
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
 
== Template Weapons Into Close Combat ==
 
Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers engaged in Close Combat will always affect '''every''' Trooper involved, even if, due to the Template’s placement, it contacts only some of them. Players must take this into account, since ''[[Attacks]]'' cannot be performed against Allied Troopers.
 
 
 
== BS Attack Into a Close Combat ==
 
If a ''[[BS Attack]]'' is declared against an enemy Trooper that is engaged in CC Combat a '''-6 ''[[MOD]]''''' must be applied for each Allied Trooper engaged in the ''[[Close Combat|CC]]'' (in addition to any ''[[MODs]]'' for ''[[Range]], [[Cover]], [[Mimetism]]''... for the target).
 
 
 
  
  
  
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
  
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]

Revision as of 14:23, 28 May 2025


As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's Silhouette, or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.

DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS
EFFECTS
  • They do not require a BS Roll to hit.
  • When declaring the Attack, the Template must be placed on the table to check that the Main Target is within the Area of Effect, and to determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) are affected by the Attack.
  • The placement of the Direct Template depends on their type:
    • Direct Teardrop Template: The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the Silhouette of the Trooper declaring the Attack. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example).
    • Direct Circular Template: The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
  • Dodging a Direct Template Weapon requires a Normal PH Roll (or PH-3 as mentioned previously).
  • If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their Attack will be a Normal Roll (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc., requires a Roll). In the Resolution step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a Saving Roll, since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
  • In ARO, any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.
  • Those Direct Template Weapons that have a Burst (B) value higher than 1, allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among different targets if so wished.


IMPORTANT

To Dodge an Attack with several Direct Templates in the same Order, a single Normal PH (or PH-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to Dodge all Templates with one Roll.


IMPORTANT

Despite being in contact with the Template, Troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon’s, Skill’s or Type of Ammunition’s description.


Direct Template Examples

Direct Template Weapon Placement

dual-direct-template-example-1.jpg Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.

dual-direct-template-example-2.jpg The Teardrop Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own Silhouette.

eng-direct-template-example-3.jpg The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be over the center of the Trooper’s base.


Direct Template With Burst 2

dual-direct-template-example-4.jpg During his Active Turn, a Trooper with a Pulzar (B+1), a Direct Template BS Weapon, declares Move and BS Attack with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack. The Trooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.

The Trooper affects 2 out of 4 enemies in range. As the Active Trooper is using a Direct Template Weapon, any Attacks declared as AROs will not be Face to Face Rolls.

As Troopers #2 and #3 are in Prone State, they are not affected by the Template, since it does not touch their Silhouettes.


Direct Template, Shot Cancelled

dual-direct-template-example-5.jpg In this picture, we have Trooper A who declares a BS Attack against Trooper B with his Direct Template Weapon (a Pulzar). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy Camouflage Marker (CAMO).

Since Trooper B is not in the Area of Effect of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.


Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery

dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg

The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.