NOTICE: Infinity N5.2 and N5 FAQ 0.0.0

The wiki has been updated to include the N5.2 changes and the v0.0.0 FAQ.
List of wiki pages updated in N5.2.

Difference between pages "Template Weapons and Equipment" and "Direct Template Weapons"

From Infinity
(Difference between pages)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Added see-also box for terrain zones AoE.)
 
(Fixed Trooper numbers in one of the examples.)
 
Line 2: Line 2:
  
  
BS Weapons and Equipment that use a Template have an Area of Effect that affects not only the main target, but also an area of the game table determined '''by the size of the Template'''.
+
As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's [[Silhouette]], or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.
  
The '''Main Target''' of a Template Weapon or Equipment is a Game Element that must be able designated as a valid target for the [[BS Attack]], from which the MODs applied to the Roll are determined, if a Roll is required. This Roll will be opposed separately, one by one, by the rest of the Enemies affected by the template.
+
{{css_skillbox |black| DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS |}}
 
+
{{Effects}}
There are two types of Weapons and Equipment Templates:
+
* They do not require a [[BS]] Roll to hit.
* [[Direct Template Weapons | Direct Template]].
+
* When declaring the Attack, the Template must be placed on the table to check that the Main Target is within the [[Area of Effect]], and to determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) are affected by the Attack.
* [[Impact Template Weapons | Impact Template]].  
+
* The placement of the Direct Template depends on their type:
 +
** '''Direct Teardrop Template''': The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the [[Silhouette]] of the Trooper declaring the Attack. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example).
 +
** '''Direct Circular Template''': The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
 +
* '''[[Dodge | Dodging]]''' a Direct Template Weapon requires a '''Normal [[PH]] Roll''' (or PH-3 as mentioned previously).
 +
* If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their Attack will be a [[Normal Roll]] (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc., requires a Roll). In the [[Resolution]] step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a [[Saving Roll]], since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
 +
* In [[ARO]], any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.
 +
* Those Direct Template Weapons that have a '''[[Burst]] (B) value higher than 1''', allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among different targets if so wished.
 +
{{css_skillbox-end}}
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
If the Main Target is outside the Area of Effect of the Template Weapon or Equipment, the BS Attack is automatically considered a failure and no Game Element will be affected by the Template.
+
To [[Dodge]] an Attack with several Direct Templates in the same Order, a single Normal [[PH]] (or PH-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to Dodge all Templates with one Roll.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
 
 
== Types of Templates ==
 
In this rulebook, there are three kinds of Templates used by Weapons and pieces of Equipment: the Circular Template, the Large Teardrop Template and the Small Teardrop Template.
 
 
The height of the Templates used by Template Weapons and Equipment is equal to their radius, or half their width (except for those Ammunitions whose [[Traits]] otherwise specify it).
 
 
{{image | name=dual-types-of-templates-1024.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
 
 
== Area of Effect ==
 
The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an Attack using a Template Weapon, all Troopers or targets in Silhouette contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the Attack.
 
 
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-area-1.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
 
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-area-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
 
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-area-3v2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
 
 
===Area of Effect of Template Weapons and Equipment===
 
 
{{css_skillbox |black| Area of Effect of Template Weapons and Equipment }}
 
{{effects}}
 
* When using a Template Weapon or Equipment, any Trooper whose base or [[Silhouette]] Template is in contact with the Template, or is partially or fully inside it, is affected by the Weapon or Equipment.
 
* Any Trooper affected by a Template Weapon or Equipment can declare '''[[Dodge]]''' as their second Short Skill or ARO, '''even if they do not have [[LoF]]''' to the Trooper declaring the Attack.
 
* As a general rule, '''Dodging''' an Attack with a Template requires a successful '''PH Roll'''.
 
* As an exception to this, in the following cases the Dodge requires '''a PH -3 Roll''' to avoid an Attack with a Template Weapon:
 
** If the Trooper affected by the Template Weapon Attack has no LoF to the attacker.
 
** If the Template Weapon Attack is from a '''[[Deployable Weapon]]''' (a Mine, for example).
 
* Once placed, the Template remains on the game table until the [[Resolution]] step of the Order.
 
* The Area of Effect of a Template can affect [[Allied]] Troopers as long as the Template has no [[PS value]] and does not inflict any [[State]].
 
* When several Troopers are activated at the same time (a [[Coordinated Order]] or [[Fireteams Module | Fireteam]], for example), the Template affects every Trooper that was in Silhouette contact with its Area of Effect at any time during that Order, since everything happens simultaneously during the Order.
 
* [[Critical]] Hits with Template Weapons:
 
** When a Critical is rolled when using a Template Weapon, it counts as a Critical against the Main Target of the attack, and only the Main Target. Against any Secondary Targets affected by the Template, it is a successful Roll instead of a Critical.
 
* Responding to a Template Weapon Roll:
 
** Against an Attack with a Template Weapon that required a Roll to hit whether it was an Impact Template Weapon or an [[Intuitive Attack]], etc., each affected enemy may make a separate Face to Face Roll against the attacker.
 
{{css_skillbox-end}}
 
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
Troopers affected by a Template Weapon do not benefit from the +3 MOD to the [[Saving Roll (SR)]] for [[Partial Cover]].
+
Despite being in [[Silhouette contact | contact]] with the Template, Troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon’s, Skill’s or Type of Ammunition’s description.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
  
  
{{see-also}}
+
=== Direct Template Examples ===
'''[[Terrain and Scenery Structures#Special Terrain | Area of Effect of Special Terrain Zones]]'''<br>
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapon Placement }}
In Infinity, the Area of Effect of a Special Terrain zone is the area in where its special effects are applied. Any Trooper in [[Silhouette contact]] with a Special Terrain zone, or whose base or [[Silhouette Template]] is covered at least partially by a Special Terrain zone, is equally affected by the Effects of the zone.
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-1.jpg | style=fullborder }}
{{see-also-end}}
+
Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.
  
 +
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
The Teardrop Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own [[Silhouette]].
  
== Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers ==
+
{{image | name=n5/eng-direct-template-example-3.jpg | style=fullborder }}
Declaring Attacks against [[Allied]] or [[Neutral]] Troopers is not allowed, nor is it allowed to perform Attacks that may affect them, unless the Template lacks a [[Possibility of Survival (PS) | PS Attribute]] value and does not inflict [[State]]s. Therefore, if when declaring an Attack with a Template Weapon, an Allied or Neutral Trooper would be affected by the Template, that shot is cancelled (but not other shots of that same Burst that have no Allies or Neutrals within their Area of Effect). Any reactive Troopers within the Area of Effect of the cancelled shot can still declare AROs.
+
The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be over the center of the Trooper’s base.
 +
{{greybox-end}}
  
In this case of a cancelled shot, if a Weapon with the [[Disposable]] Trait was used, the initially declared use is still consumed.
 
  
=== Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers Example ===
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template With Burst 2 }}
{{greybox-start | Template Weapons, and Allied and Neutral Troopers}}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-4.jpg | style=fullborder }}
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-allied-example.jpg | style=fullborder }}
+
During his Active Turn, a Trooper with a Pulzar ([[B]]+1), a Direct Template [[BS Weapon]], declares [[Move]] and [[BS Attack]] with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack. The Trooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.
  
Trooper 1 has B2 with their Pulzar. When declaring a BS Attack against Troopers 2 and 3 it is found that Template B affects Trooper 4 (Allied or Neutral). Template B is therefore cancelled.  
+
The Trooper affects 2 out of 4 enemies in range. As the Active Trooper is using a Direct Template Weapon, any Attacks declared as [[ARO]]s will not be [[Face to Face Roll]]s.
  
Troopers 2 and 3 may declare AROs normally.
+
As Troopers #2 and #3 are in [[Prone State]], they are not affected by the Template, since it does not touch their [[Silhouette]]s.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
== Template Weapons Into Close Combat ==
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template, Shot Cancelled }}
Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers engaged in Close Combat will always affect every Trooper involved, even if, due to the Template’s placement, it contacts only some of them. Players must take this into account, since Attacks cannot be performed against Allied Troopers.
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-5.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
In this picture, we have Trooper A who declares a [[BS Attack]] against Trooper B with his Direct Template Weapon (a Pulzar). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy [[Camouflaged | Camouflage Marker]] (CAMO).
  
{{see-also-start}}
+
Since Trooper B is not in the [[Area of Effect]] of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.
'''[[BS Attack Into a Close Combat]]'''
+
{{greybox-end}}
{{see-also-end}}
 
 
 
 
 
== Template Weapons, Scenery Elements and Total Cover ==
 
 
 
A Template’s Area of Effect may be determined by the presence of scenery elements on the game board, as seen in the graphics.
 
 
 
In Infinity, different Templates have a Blast Focus, which is used to determine if a Trooper is affected by the Template, or if the Template’s Area of Effect has been blocked by [[Total Cover]] from intervening scenery elements. For a Trooper to be affected by the Template, it must be possible to trace a [[LoF]] from the Template’s Blast Focus to the Trooper, without being blocked by Total Cover.
 
 
 
The Blast Focus is the center of the Circular Template and the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.
 
 
 
LoF from the Blast Focus to a Trooper may only be drawn within the Area of Effect of the Template itself.
 
  
  
Line 102: Line 62:
 
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.
+
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, [[LoF]] cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the [[Area of Effect]].
{{greybox-end}}
 
 
 
{{greybox-start | Impact Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
 
{{image | name=n5/eng-templates-impact-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
{{n5_weapon_single}}
 
{{n5_weaponrow|Grenades|+3|-3|--|--|--|--|--|7|1|N|ARM|1|[[Speculative Attack]], [[BS Weapon (PH)]], [[Impact Template (Circular)]]}}
 
|}
 
 
 
By performing an Attack with an Impact Template, the Circular Template is centered on the underside of the Main Target’s Base, regardless of the impact point on the target. Any Game Element in contact or within the Area of Effect of the Circular Template will also be affected by the Attack. As we see in the picture, thanks to the scenery element, it is not possible to draw a LoF from the Blast Focus to Trooper 3, who is therefore unaffected.
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  

Revision as of 14:23, 28 May 2025


As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's Silhouette, or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.

DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS
EFFECTS
  • They do not require a BS Roll to hit.
  • When declaring the Attack, the Template must be placed on the table to check that the Main Target is within the Area of Effect, and to determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) are affected by the Attack.
  • The placement of the Direct Template depends on their type:
    • Direct Teardrop Template: The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the Silhouette of the Trooper declaring the Attack. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example).
    • Direct Circular Template: The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
  • Dodging a Direct Template Weapon requires a Normal PH Roll (or PH-3 as mentioned previously).
  • If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their Attack will be a Normal Roll (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc., requires a Roll). In the Resolution step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a Saving Roll, since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
  • In ARO, any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.
  • Those Direct Template Weapons that have a Burst (B) value higher than 1, allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among different targets if so wished.


IMPORTANT

To Dodge an Attack with several Direct Templates in the same Order, a single Normal PH (or PH-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to Dodge all Templates with one Roll.


IMPORTANT

Despite being in contact with the Template, Troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon’s, Skill’s or Type of Ammunition’s description.


Direct Template Examples

Direct Template Weapon Placement

dual-direct-template-example-1.jpg Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.

dual-direct-template-example-2.jpg The Teardrop Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own Silhouette.

eng-direct-template-example-3.jpg The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be over the center of the Trooper’s base.


Direct Template With Burst 2

dual-direct-template-example-4.jpg During his Active Turn, a Trooper with a Pulzar (B+1), a Direct Template BS Weapon, declares Move and BS Attack with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack. The Trooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.

The Trooper affects 2 out of 4 enemies in range. As the Active Trooper is using a Direct Template Weapon, any Attacks declared as AROs will not be Face to Face Rolls.

As Troopers #2 and #3 are in Prone State, they are not affected by the Template, since it does not touch their Silhouettes.


Direct Template, Shot Cancelled

dual-direct-template-example-5.jpg In this picture, we have Trooper A who declares a BS Attack against Trooper B with his Direct Template Weapon (a Pulzar). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy Camouflage Marker (CAMO).

Since Trooper B is not in the Area of Effect of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.


Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery

dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg

The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.