Difference between revisions of "Impact Template Weapons"

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search
(PDF 2.1)
(N5 first version.)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
{{n4only}}
 
{{n4}}
 
 
These weapons place a Template at the point of impact.
 
These weapons place a Template at the point of impact.
  
{{n4end}}{{n4list}}
+
{{css_skillbox |black| IMPACT TEMPLATE WEAPONS |}}
{{skillbox |bluegrey| IMPACT TEMPLATE WEAPONS |}}
 
 
{{Requirements}}
 
{{Requirements}}
{{update | PDF 2.1, July 2023}}
+
* Impact Template Weapons require an '''Attack Roll, using [[BS]], [[PH]],''' or the appropriate [[Attribute]] to hit.
* '''Impact Template Weapons require an Attack Roll, using BS, PH''' or the appropriate Attribute, to hit.
+
* It is obligatory to declare a valid Main Target who will be the reference to place the Circular Template. The Main Target must be in [[LoF]] when declaring the Attack.
* It is obligatory to declare a valid Main Target who will be the reference to place the Circular Template. {{erratahighlight}}The Main Target must be in LoF when declaring the Attack.{{erratahighlight-end}}
+
* When the Attack is declared, the center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the Main Target's base. This way, the player will check the Area of Effect and determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, weapons, Deployables...) are affected by this Attack.
* The Template must be placed '''when declaring the [[Attack]]''' in order to determine which Troopers and Game Elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) will be affected by the Attack, as this may influence their possible ARO, or second Short Skill of their Order.  
+
 
{{update-end}}
 
 
{{effects}}
 
{{effects}}
 
* The Circular Template only applies its effect on each affected Trooper if the [[Normal Roll|Normal]] or [[Face to Face Roll]] is successful.
 
* The Circular Template only applies its effect on each affected Trooper if the [[Normal Roll|Normal]] or [[Face to Face Roll]] is successful.
* The Trooper who declared the Attack compares this Roll against each enemy Trooper affected by the Template individually. Each enemy Trooper affected by the template resolves their Face to Face Roll completely independently of each other. The Face to Face Roll of one affected enemy Trooper '''cannot''' affect the Face to Face Rolls of the others (see the example below).
+
* The Trooper who declared the Attack compares this Roll against each enemy trooper affected by the Template individually. Each enemy Trooper affected by the template resolves their Face to Face Roll completely independently of each other. The Face to Face Roll of one affected enemy Trooper '''cannot''' affect the Face to Face Rolls of the others (see the example below).
* All MODs applied to the attacker's Roll are determined by the Main Target. As stated above, this Roll will be compared '''separately''' against the Rolls of each enemy Trooper affected by the Template.
+
* All MODs applied to the attacker's Roll are determined using a valid '''Main Target '''as the basis. As stated above, this Roll is compared separately against the Rolls of each of the other enemy Troopers affected by the Template ("Secondary Targets" from now on).
* The center of the '''Circular Template''' (Blast Focus) must match the center of the underside of the Main Target's base. All other Troopers affected by the Circular Template suffer the Attack as well.
+
* In order to [[Dodge]] an Attack with an Impact Template Weapon, the Main Target and any Secondary Targets affected by the Impact Template may make a Face to Face Roll with their PH (or PH-3 in the cases mentioned under Effects) against the attacker's Attack Roll.
* In order to [[Dodge]] an Attack with an Impact Template Weapon, the Main Target or any other affected Trooper can make a Face to Face Roll with their [[PH]] (or PH-3 in the cases mentioned under Effects) against the attacker's Attack Roll.
 
 
* Impact Template, '''Special Cases''':
 
* Impact Template, '''Special Cases''':
** When using an Impact Template Weapon with the [[Targetless]] Trait (such those using [[Smoke Ammunition]]), you do not need to declare an enemy Trooper as the target; the target can be an area on the game table.
+
** When using an Impact Template Weapon with the [[Targetless]] Trait (such those using [[Smoke Ammunition]]), you do not need to declare an enemy Trooper as the Main Target; the target can be an area on the game table.
** When declaring '''[[Speculative Attack]]''' with an Impact Template Weapon, you do not have to place the Circular Template under the center of the target's base.
+
** When declaring '''[[Speculative Attack]]''' with an Impact Template Weapon, you do not have to place the Circular Template over the center of the target's base.
{{n4end}}
+
{{css_skillbox-end}}
{{n4}}
 
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
To [[Dodge]] an Attack with several Impact Templates in the same Order, every Face to Face Roll must be performed separately against the [[PH]] Roll (or PH-3 Roll, according to the case) of the target Trooper, allowing the Trooper to dodge all Templates with a single Roll.  
+
To [[Dodge]] an Attack with several Impact Templates in the same Order, every Face to Face Roll must be performed separately against the [[PH] Roll (or PH-3 Roll, according to the case) of the target Trooper, allowing the Trooper to dodge all Templates with a single Roll.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
  
  
 
{{greybox-start | Example of Impact Template Weapon. Targets React with BS Attack and Dodge Without LoF. Shot Cancelled. }}
 
{{greybox-start | Example of Impact Template Weapon. Targets React with BS Attack and Dodge Without LoF. Shot Cancelled. }}
{{image | name=eng-impact-example-cancelled-1024.jpg | style= fullborder }}
+
{{image | name=n5/eng-impact-template-example-1.jpg | style= fullborder }}
 +
The Unidron declares [[BS Attack]] with his Plasma Carbine in Blast Mode, targeting Fusiliers 1 and 2, hoping that the template would also affect Fennec 3.
  
The Unidron declares BS Attack with his Plasma Carbine in Blast Mode, targeting Fusiliers 1 and 2, hoping that the template would also affect Fusilier 3.  
+
After declaring the BS Attack, the Circular Templates are centered on the Fennecs and it is indeed checked that they also affect Fennec 3, as well as the [[Unconscious]] Unidron next to Fennec 1.
  
After declaring the BS Attack, the Circular Templates are centered on the Fusiliers and it is indeed checked that they also affect Fusilier 3, as well as the Unconscious Unidron next to Fusilier 1.
+
Therefore, Fennec 3 gains the right to [[ARO]], since he was affected by a Template Weapon and the other Attack, declared against Fennec 1, was cancelled because it affected an [[Allied]] Trooper.
  
Therefore, Fusilier 3 gains the right to ARO, since he was affected by a Template Weapon and the other Attack, declared against Fusilier 1, was cancelled because it affected an Allied Trooper.
+
In that moment, Fennecs 1 and 2 declare their AROs: BS Attack. Fennec 3 declares [[Dodge]] (PH-3 due to the lack of [[LoF]] to his attacker).
 
 
In that moment, Fusiliers 1 and 2 declare their AROs: BS Attack. Fusilier 3 declares Dodge (PH-3 due to the lack of LoF to his attacker).
 
  
 
Thus, the following Rolls are performed:
 
Thus, the following Rolls are performed:
  
One Normal Roll from Fusilier 1 against the Unidron.  
+
One Normal Roll from Fennec 1 against the Unidron.
  
Two Face to Face Rolls from the Unidron against Fusiliers 2 and 3. The result obtained by the Unidron after applying all relevant MODs will be compared separately with the BS Attack of Fusilier 2 and the Dodge of Fusilier 3.  
+
Two Face to Face Rolls from the Unidron against Fennecs 2 and 3. The result obtained by the Unidron after applying all relevant MODs will be compared separately with the BS Attack of Fennec 2 and the Dodge of Fennec 3.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
{{n4end}}
 
  
  
== FAQs & Errata ==
+
{{greybox-start | Impact Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
 +
{{image | name=n5/eng-templates-impact-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
{{n5_weapon_single}}
 +
{{n5_weaponrow|Grenades|+3|-3|--|--|--|--|--|7|1|N|ARM|1|[[Speculative Attack]], [[BS Weapon (PH)]], [[Impact Template (Circular)]]}}
 +
|}
  
 +
By performing an Attack with an Impact Template, the Circular Template is centered on the underside of the Main Target’s Base, regardless of the impact point on the target. Any Game Element in contact or within the Area of Effect of the Circular Template will also be affected by the Attack. As we see in the picture, thanks to the scenery element, it is not possible to draw a LoF from the Blast Focus to Trooper 3, who is therefore unaffected.
 +
{{greybox-end}}
  
{{faqbox |
 
type = faq |
 
title = N4 FAQ |
 
version = Replaced with errata in 1.3, Nov 2022 <s>1.2, Jan 2022</s> |
 
q = <s>Q: How are Impact Template Weapons placed during the Order Expenditure Sequence?</s> |
 
a = <s>A: The Main Target must be in LoF when declaring the Attack.</s> |
 
related = [[Impact Template Weapons]], [[Trooper Activation]] }}
 
  
  
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
  
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]

Revision as of 10:21, 26 March 2025


These weapons place a Template at the point of impact.

IMPACT TEMPLATE WEAPONS
REQUIREMENTS
  • Impact Template Weapons require an Attack Roll, using BS, PH, or the appropriate Attribute to hit.
  • It is obligatory to declare a valid Main Target who will be the reference to place the Circular Template. The Main Target must be in LoF when declaring the Attack.
  • When the Attack is declared, the center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the Main Target's base. This way, the player will check the Area of Effect and determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, weapons, Deployables...) are affected by this Attack.
EFFECTS
  • The Circular Template only applies its effect on each affected Trooper if the Normal or Face to Face Roll is successful.
  • The Trooper who declared the Attack compares this Roll against each enemy trooper affected by the Template individually. Each enemy Trooper affected by the template resolves their Face to Face Roll completely independently of each other. The Face to Face Roll of one affected enemy Trooper cannot affect the Face to Face Rolls of the others (see the example below).
  • All MODs applied to the attacker's Roll are determined using a valid Main Target as the basis. As stated above, this Roll is compared separately against the Rolls of each of the other enemy Troopers affected by the Template ("Secondary Targets" from now on).
  • In order to Dodge an Attack with an Impact Template Weapon, the Main Target and any Secondary Targets affected by the Impact Template may make a Face to Face Roll with their PH (or PH-3 in the cases mentioned under Effects) against the attacker's Attack Roll.
  • Impact Template, Special Cases:
    • When using an Impact Template Weapon with the Targetless Trait (such those using Smoke Ammunition), you do not need to declare an enemy Trooper as the Main Target; the target can be an area on the game table.
    • When declaring Speculative Attack with an Impact Template Weapon, you do not have to place the Circular Template over the center of the target's base.


IMPORTANT

To Dodge an Attack with several Impact Templates in the same Order, every Face to Face Roll must be performed separately against the [[PH] Roll (or PH-3 Roll, according to the case) of the target Trooper, allowing the Trooper to dodge all Templates with a single Roll.


Example of Impact Template Weapon. Targets React with BS Attack and Dodge Without LoF. Shot Cancelled.

eng-impact-template-example-1.jpg The Unidron declares BS Attack with his Plasma Carbine in Blast Mode, targeting Fusiliers 1 and 2, hoping that the template would also affect Fennec 3.

After declaring the BS Attack, the Circular Templates are centered on the Fennecs and it is indeed checked that they also affect Fennec 3, as well as the Unconscious Unidron next to Fennec 1.

Therefore, Fennec 3 gains the right to ARO, since he was affected by a Template Weapon and the other Attack, declared against Fennec 1, was cancelled because it affected an Allied Trooper.

In that moment, Fennecs 1 and 2 declare their AROs: BS Attack. Fennec 3 declares Dodge (PH-3 due to the lack of LoF to his attacker).

Thus, the following Rolls are performed:

One Normal Roll from Fennec 1 against the Unidron.

Two Face to Face Rolls from the Unidron against Fennecs 2 and 3. The result obtained by the Unidron after applying all relevant MODs will be compared separately with the BS Attack of Fennec 2 and the Dodge of Fennec 3.


Impact Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery

eng-templates-impact-scenery.jpg

Name 8" 16" 24" 32" 40" 48" 96" PS B Ammo Save Attr. Save Rolls Traits
Grenades +3 -3 -- -- -- -- -- 7 1 N ARM 1 Speculative Attack, BS Weapon (PH), Impact Template (Circular)

By performing an Attack with an Impact Template, the Circular Template is centered on the underside of the Main Target’s Base, regardless of the impact point on the target. Any Game Element in contact or within the Area of Effect of the Circular Template will also be affected by the Attack. As we see in the picture, thanks to the scenery element, it is not possible to draw a LoF from the Blast Focus to Trooper 3, who is therefore unaffected.