Difference between revisions of "Direct Template Weapons"

From Infinity
Jump to: navigation, search
(Undo revision 2522 by Ian (talk) and strikethrough FAQ instead of removing it.)
Tag: Undo
(Fixed Trooper numbers in one of the examples.)
 
(5 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
 
As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's [[Silhouette]], or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.
 
As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's [[Silhouette]], or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.
  
{{skillbox |bluegrey| DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS |}}
+
{{css_skillbox |black| DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS |}}
 
{{Effects}}
 
{{Effects}}
* They do not require a BS Roll to hit.
+
* They do not require a [[BS]] Roll to hit.
{{c1}}
+
* When declaring the Attack, the Template must be placed on the table to check that the Main Target is within the [[Area of Effect]], and to determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) are affected by the Attack.
* The Template must be placed '''when declaring the [[Attack]]''' in order to determine which Troopers will be affected by the [[Attack]], as this may influence their possible ARO, or second Short Skill of their Order. {{seefaq}}
+
* The placement of the Direct Template depends on their type:
{{c1end}}
+
** '''Direct Teardrop Template''': The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the [[Silhouette]] of the Trooper declaring the Attack. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example).
{{n4list}}
+
** '''Direct Circular Template''': The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
* The Template must be placed '''when declaring the [[Attack]]''' in order to determine if the Main Target is inside in the Area of Effect and which Troopers and Game Elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment…) will be affected by the [[Attack]], as this may influence their possible ARO, or second Short Skill of their Order. {{seefaq}}
+
* '''[[Dodge | Dodging]]''' a Direct Template Weapon requires a '''Normal [[PH]] Roll''' (or PH-3 as mentioned previously).
{{n4end}}
+
* If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their Attack will be a [[Normal Roll]] (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc., requires a Roll). In the [[Resolution]] step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a [[Saving Roll]], since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
** '''Direct Teardrop Template''' (Chain Rifle, Flamethrower, etc.): The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the Silhouette of the Trooper declaring the [[Attack]]. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the [[Attack]]. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the [[Silhouette]] of the Trooper that is declaring the [[Attack]] (see example).
+
* In [[ARO]], any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.
** '''Direct Circular Template:''' The center of the Circular Template (''Blast Focus'') must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
+
* Those Direct Template Weapons that have a '''[[Burst]] (B) value higher than 1''', allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among different targets if so wished.
* Dodging a Direct Template Weapon requires a '''Normal [[PH]] Roll''' (or [[PH]]-3 as mentioned previously).
+
{{css_skillbox-end}}
* If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their [[Attack]] will be a Normal Roll (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc, requires a Roll). In the Resolution step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a [[Saving Roll]], since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.  
 
* Those Direct Template Weapons that have a '''Burst (B) value higher than 1''', allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their [[Burst]] (B) value indicates, and to distribute this [[B]] among different targets if so wished.  
 
{{update | 1.3, Nov 2022}}
 
* {{erratahighlight}}In ARO, any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.{{erratahighlight-end}}
 
{{update-end}}
 
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
To [[Dodge]] an Attack with '''several Direct Templates''' in the same Order, a single Normal [[PH]] (or [[PH]]-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to [[Dodge]] all Templates with one Roll.
+
To [[Dodge]] an Attack with several Direct Templates in the same Order, a single Normal [[PH]] (or PH-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to Dodge all Templates with one Roll.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
  
  
 
{{important-start}}
 
{{important-start}}
Despite being in contact with the Template, Troopers declaring an [[Attack]] with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon's, Skill's or Type of Ammunition's description.
+
Despite being in [[Silhouette contact | contact]] with the Template, Troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon’s, Skill’s or Type of Ammunition’s description.
 
{{important-end}}
 
{{important-end}}
  
  
=== Direct Template Placement Examples ===
+
=== Direct Template Examples ===
 
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapon Placement }}
 
{{greybox-start | Direct Template Weapon Placement }}
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-1.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-1.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 
Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.
 
Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.
  
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-2.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-2.jpg | style=fullborder }}
The Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own Silhouette.
+
The Teardrop Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own [[Silhouette]].
  
{{n4}}
+
{{image | name=n5/eng-direct-template-example-3.jpg | style=fullborder }}
{{image | name=eng-circular-template-placement-1024.jpg | style=512border }}
+
The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be over the center of the Trooper’s base.
The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must match the center of the underside of the Trooper’s base.  
 
{{n4end}}
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
{{greybox-start | Direct Template With Burst (B2): Area of Effect, Placement, and Troopers at Different Levels}}
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template With Burst 2 }}
{{image | name=eng-dtw-burst2.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-4.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
During his Active Turn, a Trooper with a Pulzar ([[B]]+1), a Direct Template [[BS Weapon]], declares [[Move]] and [[BS Attack]] with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack. The Trooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.
  
During his Active Turn, a Betatrooper with Nanopulser (B+1), Direct Template BS Weapon, declares Move and BS Attack with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack, the Betatrooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.
+
The Trooper affects 2 out of 4 enemies in range. As the Active Trooper is using a Direct Template Weapon, any Attacks declared as [[ARO]]s will not be [[Face to Face Roll]]s.
  
The Betatrooper affects 3 out of 4 enemies in range. Being Direct Templates, Attacks declared as ARO will not be Face to Face Rolls.
+
As Troopers #2 and #3 are in [[Prone State]], they are not affected by the Template, since it does not touch their [[Silhouette]]s.
 
 
Being in Prone state, Trooper nº3 will remain unaffected by the Template, since it does not touch their base.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
 
 
 
 
=== Direct Templates and Cover Examples ===
 
 
 
{{greybox-start |Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
 
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-3.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
 
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
{{greybox-start | Area of Effect, Placement and Total Cover}}
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template, Shot Cancelled }}
{{image | name=eng-dtw-example-4.jpg | style=512border }}
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-direct-template-example-5.jpg | style=fullborder }}
 +
In this picture, we have Trooper A who declares a [[BS Attack]] against Trooper B with his Direct Template Weapon (a Pulzar). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy [[Camouflaged | Camouflage Marker]] (CAMO).
  
The enemy Trooper is unaffected by the Template given that, being Prone, their Silhouette is X, and therefore has their base’s height. If the Trooper was not Prone they would be affected by the Template.
+
Since Trooper B is not in the [[Area of Effect]] of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
  
  
{{n4}}
+
{{greybox-start | Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery}}
=== Direct Templates, Shot Cancelled ===
+
{{image | name=n5/dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg | style=fullborder }}
  
{{greybox-start | Example of a Direct Teardrop Template Weapon. Shot Cancelled }}
+
The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, [[LoF]] cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the [[Area of Effect]].
{{image | name=eng-direct-template-cancelled-1024.jpg | style=512border }}
 
 
 
In this picture, we have a Betatrooper who declares a BS Attack against a Fusilier with his Direct Template Weapon (a Nanopulser). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy Camouflage Marker (CAMO). Since the Fusilier is not in the Area of Effect of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.
 
 
{{greybox-end}}
 
{{greybox-end}}
{{n4end}}
 
 
 
== FAQs & Errata ==
 
 
{{faqbox |
 
type = faq |
 
title = N4 FAQ |
 
version = Removed in 1.3, Nov 2022 <s>1.2, Jan 2022 </s> |
 
q =  <s>Q: How are Direct Template Weapons placed during the Order Expenditure Sequence? </s> |
 
a =  <s>A: All the placement rules must be fulfilled when declaring the Attack. For example, a Direct Teardrop Template must be placed so that it is in contact along the Trooper's movement path, and not from a point they haven't reached yet.</s>
 
  
Removed in 1.3, Nov 2022, replaced with errata for all [[Skills]]. |
 
related = [[Direct Template Weapon]], [[Trooper Activation]] }}
 
  
  
{{section-combat-module}}
+
{{n5-section-combat-module}}
  
  
  
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]
 
[[Category: Combat Module]]

Latest revision as of 14:23, 28 May 2025


As their name implies, these are the ones where the Template is placed directly touching the edge of the attacking Trooper's Silhouette, or centred on the attacker for the Circular Template.

DIRECT TEMPLATE WEAPONS
EFFECTS
  • They do not require a BS Roll to hit.
  • When declaring the Attack, the Template must be placed on the table to check that the Main Target is within the Area of Effect, and to determine which Troopers or game elements (Markers, Deployable weapons or Equipment...) are affected by the Attack.
  • The placement of the Direct Template depends on their type:
    • Direct Teardrop Template: The narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) must be placed in contact with the edge of the Silhouette of the Trooper declaring the Attack. Every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack. The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example).
    • Direct Circular Template: The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be placed over the center of the base of the Trooper declaring the Attack, and every Trooper affected by the Template will suffer the Attack.
  • Dodging a Direct Template Weapon requires a Normal PH Roll (or PH-3 as mentioned previously).
  • If a Trooper affected by a Direct Template Weapon declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon, their Attack will be a Normal Roll (if the Weapon, Special Skill, etc., requires a Roll). In the Resolution step of the Order, the Trooper will need to make a Saving Roll, since this type of Template Weapon affects targets directly, without needing to Roll to hit.
  • In ARO, any Active Trooper in the Area of Effect of the Template during the Order counts as a Main Target when checking whether the Template is cancelled.
  • Those Direct Template Weapons that have a Burst (B) value higher than 1, allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among different targets if so wished.


IMPORTANT

To Dodge an Attack with several Direct Templates in the same Order, a single Normal PH (or PH-3) Roll must be passed, allowing the Trooper to Dodge all Templates with one Roll.


IMPORTANT

Despite being in contact with the Template, Troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template will not be affected by it, unless otherwise specified in the Weapon’s, Skill’s or Type of Ammunition’s description.


Direct Template Examples

Direct Template Weapon Placement

dual-direct-template-example-1.jpg Direct Template Weapon, Blast Focus and placement of the Template.

dual-direct-template-example-2.jpg The Teardrop Template’s placement cannot pass through the Trooper’s own Silhouette.

eng-direct-template-example-3.jpg The center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) must be over the center of the Trooper’s base.


Direct Template With Burst 2

dual-direct-template-example-4.jpg During his Active Turn, a Trooper with a Pulzar (B+1), a Direct Template BS Weapon, declares Move and BS Attack with B2 from the point he has chosen to perform the BS Attack. The Trooper may place each Template freely, affecting different targets if he so chooses.

The Trooper affects 2 out of 4 enemies in range. As the Active Trooper is using a Direct Template Weapon, any Attacks declared as AROs will not be Face to Face Rolls.

As Troopers #2 and #3 are in Prone State, they are not affected by the Template, since it does not touch their Silhouettes.


Direct Template, Shot Cancelled

dual-direct-template-example-5.jpg In this picture, we have Trooper A who declares a BS Attack against Trooper B with his Direct Template Weapon (a Pulzar). He places it in such a way that it affects an enemy Camouflage Marker (CAMO).

Since Trooper B is not in the Area of Effect of the Teardrop Template, the Attack is cancelled and the Marker remains unaffected.


Direct Template: Area of Effect, Blast Focus, and Scenery

dual-templates-direct-scenery.jpg

The Scenery element completely covers the enemy Trooper. Therefore, LoF cannot be traced from the Blast Focus so the Trooper is not affected by the Area of Effect.