Zone of Control
Zone of Control
Troopers have an awareness of their surroundings thanks to rear sensors or plain (or augmented) hearing.
A trooper's Zone of Control is an area 8 inches extending from the border of its base, as measured vertically or horizontally. The Zone of Control is projected upwards and downwards in a cylinder 8 inches high.
Zone of Control and ARO
Enemies entering or acting inside the Zone of Control of a trooper while remaining outside that figure's LoF can be reacted to, but only by using the Common Skill Change Facing or Reset, unless the trooper has a Special Skill or piece of Equipment that can be used without LoF.
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.2|
|Q: In the reactive turn, when can you measure the Zone of Control?|
|A: Following the steps of the Order Expenditure Sequence: you declare a ZoC ARO, and in the step of resolution, is when the players take measurements. So, is troop is in the ZoC, resolve his ARO, but if not, the ARO is lost.|
|Related Pages: Zone of Control, ARO|
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.1|
|Q: Does Stealth stop Hacking AROs if the Hacker doesn’t have Line of Fire?|
|A: Yes, it does. As stated in the rule, a trooper with Stealth that declares a Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement Skill within the Zone of Control but outside LoF does not grant an ARO, so that prevents the Hacker from using any program, because that would be declaring an ARO.|
|Related Pages: ARO, LoF, Stealth, ZoC|
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019|
|Q: If two or more troops, one with Stealth and the other without Stealth, were activated simultaneously within ZC and outside LoF of an enemy, troops without Stealth would granted to the enemy an ARO. Could the ARO be declared against the troops with Stealth?|
|A: No, you can only ARO against the troop without Stealth. This does not prevent you from declaring Change Facing or Reset.|
|Related Pages: Change Facing, Reset, Stealth, ZoC|