Difference between revisions of "Guts Roll"

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "When a troop passes an ''ARM'' or ''BTS'' Roll, it means their body armor took the brunt of the impact, keeping them from serious injury. This triggers a primal fear o...")
 
m (Rules for Guts Rolls (Active/Reactive Turn))
Line 19: Line 19:
 
*If the Guts Roll is successful, the troop can stand its ground and must do nothing else.
 
*If the Guts Roll is successful, the troop can stand its ground and must do nothing else.
 
*If the troop fails its Guts Roll, it must go ''[[Prone]]'' or move up to 2 inches in order to abandon the danger zone, gain ''[[Cover]]'', or improve its ''[[Cover]]'' against the attack.
 
*If the troop fails its Guts Roll, it must go ''[[Prone]]'' or move up to 2 inches in order to abandon the danger zone, gain ''[[Cover]]'', or improve its ''[[Cover]]'' against the attack.
*This movement can never be towards the enemy who declared the ''[[Attack,]]'' nor can it be used to enter base to base contact with an enemy.
+
*This movement can never be towards the enemy who declared the ''[[Attack]]'', nor can it be used to enter base to base contact with an enemy.
 
*Guts Rolls are always made at the end of the resolution of the Order, during its ''[[Conclusion]]'', after all ''[[ARM/ BTS]]'' Rolls have been made.
 
*Guts Rolls are always made at the end of the resolution of the Order, during its ''[[Conclusion]]'', after all ''[[ARM/ BTS]]'' Rolls have been made.
 
*If a troop would have to make a Guts Roll, its owner can instead choose to fail it automatically and move the troop as required.
 
*If a troop would have to make a Guts Roll, its owner can instead choose to fail it automatically and move the troop as required.

Revision as of 17:56, 18 June 2015

When a troop passes an ARM or BTS Roll, it means their body armor took the brunt of the impact, keeping them from serious injury. This triggers a primal fear of death, and survival instincts kick in. The troop's survival instincts can force them to recoil from danger and dive for cover.

QUICK SUMMARY
If a troop survives an Attack, at the end of the Order it must make a Normal WIP Roll. In case of failure or forfeit, the troop must try to exit the danger zone or improve its Cover as much as possible—Total Cover being preferable to Partial Cover—with up to 2 inches of movement. If it can do neither, the troop must go Prone. If none of these cases applies, the troop does nothing.

Requirements

Several events can force a troop to make a Guts Roll:


Rules for Guts Rolls (Active/Reactive Turn)

  • To make a Guts Roll, a troop makes one single Normal WIP Roll, regardless of the number of Attacks the troop survived during the resolution of the Order.
  • If the Guts Roll is successful, the troop can stand its ground and must do nothing else.
  • If the troop fails its Guts Roll, it must go Prone or move up to 2 inches in order to abandon the danger zone, gain Cover, or improve its Cover against the attack.
  • This movement can never be towards the enemy who declared the Attack, nor can it be used to enter base to base contact with an enemy.
  • Guts Rolls are always made at the end of the resolution of the Order, during its Conclusion, after all ARM/ BTS Rolls have been made.
  • If a troop would have to make a Guts Roll, its owner can instead choose to fail it automatically and move the troop as required.
  • Troops in Close Combat do not make Guts Rolls.


How to move after a failed Guts Roll

  • If the troop has no Cover against the attack, it must move up to 2 inches in order to obtain Partial or Total Cover against at least one of the enemies who Attacked it, or go Prone.
  • If the troop has Partial Cover against the attack, it must move up to 2 inches in order to obtain Total Cover against at least one of the enemies who Attacked it, or go Prone.
  • If the troop is inside a danger zone, such as the Area of Effect of a Special Skill or a weapon that uses a Template or that requires no LoF, it must move up to 2 inches in order to try to exit the danger zone, or declare itself Prone if it can prevent further Attacks that way.
  • If none of the previous cases apply—because a 2-inch movement is not enough to improve the troop's Cover or make it abandon the danger zone, because the troop cannot go Prone, or for any other reason—, then, if player desires so, the troop does not move at all and performs no actions.
  • Troops must use the movement that results from a failed Guts Roll to obtain the best available type of Cover. For example, a troop must chose a Total Cover position before a Partial Cover, and abandoning a danger zone has a higher priority than gaining Total Cover.
  • A troop who failed its Guts Roll cannot use its 2-inch movement to approach the enemy who declared the Attack against it, even if that would allow the troop to gain better Cover.
  • Movement resulting from a failed Guts Roll can never be used to enter base to base contact with enemies or objectives.


Guts Roll: Example of play-1

The Alguacil Ortega, in his Active Turn, faces the Fusiliers Angus and Silva, both in their Reactive Turn. After making and resolving the BS and ARM Rolls, Ortega and Angus both must make a Guts Roll.

Ortega fails his Guts Roll. Since he is currently in Partial Cover and does not have Total Cover within reach in a 2-inch radius, he goes Prone, thus exiting his enemies' LoF and gaining Total Cover against them.

Angus, in the meantime, is not in Cover at all, and fails his Guts Roll as well, so he must move to get to Cover. However, no Cover is available in a 2-inch radius, forcing Angus to go Prone.


Guts Roll: Example of play-2

Fusilier Angus, in his Reactive Turn, faces the fearsome Irmandinho Fendetestas, who declares a BS Attack with his Chain Rifle—a Direct Template weapon—against Angus. Angus responds with a BS Attack, so he automatically receives a hit from the Direct Template weapon. After passing the ARM Roll, Angus must make a Guts Roll. However, Angus does not have Cover, so he decides to forfeit his Guts Roll. Since this is an automatic failure, Angus must move to a position that provides Cover. However, there is no available Cover in a 2-inch radius that is outside the Area of Effect of the Direct Template weapon. Angus must move away from his attacker to exit the danger zone created by the Direct Template weapon, even if that movement leaves him in open ground.


Guts Roll: Example of play-3

A Haqqislamite Maghariba Guard TAG, in its Active Turn, is in Partial Cover when it receives a series of hits that force it to make a Guts Roll. The Maghariba fails its Normal WIP Roll, but there is no Total Cover within its 2-inch reach and, since it is a TAG, it cannot go Prone. The Maghariba cannot improve its Cover, so she stands its ground and does not move at all.