Discover

From Infinity Wiki
Revision as of 13:28, 15 July 2019 by IJW (Talk | contribs) (FAQ)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

This Skill allows the user to locate enemies hidden in the form of a Marker, forcing them to reveal the Trooper, Weapon, or Equipment the Marker represents.

DISCOVER SHORT MOVEMENT SKILL / ARO
Movement.
REQUIREMENTS

The user must be able to draw LoF to the target.

EFFECTS


Discover Short Medium Long Maximum
Discover 0-8" +3 8-32" 0 32-48" -3 48-96" -6


  • A trooper that fails a WIP Roll to Discover a Marker cannot attempt to Discover the same Marker until the next Player Turn. The trooper may still attempt to Discover a different Marker that Player Turn, and its player may still attempt to Discover the first Marker using a different trooper.


Special Maneuver: Discover + BS Attack

The combination of Discover + BS Attack in a single Order is a special maneuver that allows the trooper to make a Discover attempt and then a BS Attack against the same enemy, but only if the Discover attempt is successful. The game sequence for this special maneuver is:

  1. The Active Player declares Discover against an enemy as the first Short Skill of his Order.
  2. His opponent declares AROs normally. If the target declares an ARO that would reveal it, then the Active Player may declare BS Attack as the second Short Skill of his Order, ignoring the now redundant Discover Roll.
  3. If the target did not reveal itself, then the Active Player may still declare a BS Attack. However, he must make his Discover Roll, and only if it is successful may he roll his BS Attack. If the Active Player fails that Discover Roll, the declared BS Attack is canceled and null.


Example of Discover in Active Turn
In his Active Turn, Fusilier Angus has an enemy Camouflage Marker behind Partial Cover in his LoF. Angus has been ordered to eliminate it, so he declares the first Short Skill of his Order: Discover. The enemy Marker, confident in his CH: Camouflage skill and the protection of its Partial Cover, bides its time and declares no ARO. Angus then declares the second Short Skill of his Order: BS Attack with his Combi Rifle.
For Angus to make the BS Attack he declared, he first needs to pass the Discover WIP Roll. In this case, Angus applies to his WIP Attribute a series of MODs: a +3 Range MOD, a -3 Partial Cover MOD, and a -3 CH: Camouflage MOD. Angus final Roll will be WIP-3 (+3 - 3 - 3 = -3).
If he passes this Discover Roll, then he will get to roll for his BS Attack. If he fails the Discover Roll, then his BS Attack will be lost.
Angus makes his WIP-3 Roll and succeeds, so the Marker is replaced by the model of the enemy that it represented. Now Angus can roll the BS Attack he had previously declared.
Had Angus failed his WIP-3 Roll, he would have been unable to execute his BS Attack, and would have lost the second Short Skill of his Order.


Example of Discover in Reactive Turn
In his Active Turn, an enemy Camouflage Marker declares a Short Movement Skill within LoF of Fusiliers Angus and Bipandra.
The only AROs available to the Fusiliers are Dodge (to try to relocate slightly) and Discover (to reveal the Marker and be able to shoot at it in subsequent Orders). What they very specifically cannot do is have Angus declare Discover and Bipandra declare BS Attack. Remember that all AROs are simultaneous, and a Marker must be revealed before it can be the target of a BS Attack.
The Fusiliers can also delay their ARO declaration until the Marker declares the second Short Skill of its Order; but if the Marker is not revealed by its second Skill, then they would lose their chance to ARO at all.
After some deliberation, Angus will attempt to Discover and Bipandra will delay her ARO to cover all bases. The Camouflage Marker plans to bank on Angus' legendary poor luck and declares Move as his second Short Skill, remaining camouflaged for now. This means that Bipandra loses her chance to react to that Order. But Angus has a chance to pass a Normal WIP Roll to Discover the Camouflage Marker. Were he to fail this Roll, Angus would be unable to try to Discover that Marker again until the next Player Turn.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a Fireteam declare the special maneuver: Discover + BS Attack?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Discover, Fireteams in the Active Turn
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you declare Discover + BS Attack to Discover a trooper but shoot at a different trooper?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Discover
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you split the Burst between several troops, when you declare Discover + BS Attack to discover a trooper and shoot at a different trooper?
A: Yes. Losing the shots at the target of the Discover if the Discover fails.
Related Pages: Discover, BS Attack Declaration, BS Attack
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: To discover a trooper in Impersonation-2 state, the rule states that the enemy must pass a Discover Roll that applies no MODs, does that include the Range MODs?
A: The Range MODs apply normally. The only MOD that does not apply is the -6 MOD for the previous Impersonation-1 state.
Related Pages: Discover, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: At the moment of delaying the ARO against an Impersonation Marker, if the Marker does not reveal itself with its second Short Skill, can I declare a Discover ARO?
A: No. It works in the same way as it does against Camouflaged troops, if the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, Discover, Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Do MediKits, Forward Observer, Discover, Deactivators and Minesweepers get the Burst Support Bonus granted by a Fireteam? Can they be used with Triangulated Fire? Removed in FAQ 1.7.
A: No, because they are Skills or items of Equipment. Removed in FAQ 1.7.
Related Pages: Burst Support Bonus, Deactivator, Discover, Forward Observer, MediKit, Minesweeper, Triangulated Fire

Editor's note - remember that Deactivators, Minesweepers and Discover are not BS Weapons so still won't benefit from the Burst Support Bonus and cannot be used with Triangulated Fire.


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019
Q: Can I declare two Discover skill against same marker in one Order?
A: No.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, Discover, IMP-1, IMP-2, TO Camouflaged