Suppressive Fire Mode

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

In the hands of a trained soldier providing Suppressive Fire, a gun becomes an area-denying tool, burning through magazines at a rate that makes accuracy irrelevant. The only goal is to saturate the area with projectiles so that the enemy is forced to keep his head down or face a storm of lead.

Name Range (inches) DAM B Ammo Traits
Short Medium Long Maximum
SF Mode 0-8" 0 8-16" 0 16-24" -3 -- * 3 * *

NOTE*: Use original weapon values.

Trained soldiers know how to use the automatic fire option of their weapons to saturate an area with a hail of bullets. When doing this, the other tactical specs of their guns are beside the point, and the window of effectiveness is reduced to the specific task at hand. Precision is no longer a concern for the shooter, whose goal is simply to prevent the desire of enemy combatants to stand in the crossfire.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Is the Suppressive Fire state cancelled when a trooper, in Suppressive Fire, fails its Guts Roll?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Guts Roll, Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: If I declare a Suppressive Fire ARO beyond 24”, does the -3 MOD for the Suppressive Fire apply to the opponent?
A: No. As the target is farther than the maximum Range value, the attack fails automatically and there is no FtF Roll so the -3 MOD of the Suppressive Fire State doesn’t apply.
Related Pages: Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When do I choose which ammunition or fire mode is used while in Suppresive Fire?
A: At the moment of declaring the Burst.
Related Pages: BS Attack Declaration, Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: For a trooper with more than one weapon with the Suppressive Fire trait, must we declare which one he uses to enter Suppressive Fire state or can he use any of those weapons while in this state?
A: When entering Suppressive Fire state, you must choose which weapon the trooper will use.
Related Pages: Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode