Structure of an Order

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Players use Orders to activate troopers and have them perform actions in the form of Skills (Move, Jump, CC Attack...). Depending on their complexity and the in-game time taken, Skills are divided into:

  • Short Movement Skills: Can be declared twice or combined with a different Short Movement Skill in the same Order. For instance, you could use an Order to Move and Discover. They can also combine with a Short Skill.
  • Short Skills: Can only combine within the same Order with a Short Movement Skill. Cannot be declared twice or combined with other Short Skills.
  • Entire Order Skills (or just Entire Order for short): These Skills employ one whole Order and cannot combine in any way.

In other words, the expenditure of an Order allows the activated trooper to declare one of the following combinations of Skills:

  • Any one Entire Order Skill.
  • Any one Short Movement Skill plus any one Short Movement Skill.
  • Any one Short Movement Skill plus any one Short Skill (and vice versa).
REMEMBER

Even if declared one after the other, both Skills in a single Order occur simultaneously. For example, if you declare Move plus BS Attack, (the Short Skill troopers use to fire their weapons), you can make the BS Attack at any point during the movement route declared, and not necessarily at the beginning or the end of that route.


FAQ

Basic Rules

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
A: Yes, it is obligatory.
Related Pages: Structure of an Order, ARO: Automatic Reaction Order, Camouflage, Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: An Auxilia and his Auxbot declares Move as first Short Skill of his Order. A Celestial Guard who only has LoF against Auxbot decide not to declare any ARO. With the second Short Skill, the Auxilia and Auxbot Move again, so that the Auxilia is now within the LoF with the Celestial Guard. Could the Celestial Guard declare an ARO against Auxilia now?
A: No, because the Auxilia and the Auxbot generated a single ARO as they possess the G: Synchronized Special Skill. Therefore, as the Celestial Guard has decided not to declare his ARO after the first Short Skill, he has lost the ability to declare any ORA against that Order.
Related Pages: ARO, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Fireteams in the Active Turn, Coordinated Orders, Structure of an Order


Combat

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When do you choose which point of the movement path the BS Attack (or any other similar Skill) is performed?
A: In the Resolution step, when the players are about to measure distances. In case the order of declaration is important, the active player is the one who chooses who must declare it first.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: That means that if I declare my first Short Skill while in Cover, my opponents may declare their Attacks when this trooper is in Cover even if my second Short Skill is a movement that takes it out of that Cover?
A: No. The opponents will declare the Skills that they are going to use, with all the corresponding details. But the Attacks are made at the best point of the movement for the one who declares the Attack.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order


Characteristics & Skills

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When declaring a Dodge in Reactive Turn, the movement of the Dodge ends in the Trigger Area of a Mine. Does this make the Mine activate? Does the declared Dodge Skill avoid the damage of the Mine?
A: Yes, a Mine is activated by an Order or ARO if enemy troops is in its Trigger Area. Following the Order Expenditure Sequence (pag. 31) in the Declaration of AROs it states that if movements are declared the player measures the movement distance and specifies where the trooper would be at the end of its movement path, therefore the Dodge roll would a Face to Face Roll against the trooper that declared the Order and a Normal Roll against the Mine. In the case of failing the Normal Roll or losing the Face to Face Roll, the Dodge movement does not occur, so the Mine does not activate.
Related Pages: Dodge, Structure of an Order, Mines