Reset

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This Common Skill allows the user to sidestep cyber-attacks by quickly rebooting all systems.

RESET SHORT SKILL / ARO
Advanced Combat: Hacking, No LoF.
REQUIREMENTS

A trooper can only declare Reset if at least one of these is true:

EFFECTS
  • By passing a Face to Face WIP Roll, the trooper avoids a Hacking Attack or a Comms Attack.
  • The user can declare Reset even without LoF to the attacker, and even if the attacker is outside his Zone of Control and his Hacking Area. Reset can be also declared if the attacker is in base to base contact with the user, in Engaged state.
  • If the user wins the Face to Face WIP Roll, he may apply the Guts Roll rules.
  • By passing a Normal WIP Roll, the user cancels his own Immobilized-1 state.


Coordinated Order: Dodge and Reset If the target of a Coordinated Order chooses to Dodge or Reset as his ARO, then his Roll is compared in Face to Face against all attacking Rolls.


In the hyper-technological modern warfare environment, nearly every piece of gear has been designed with safeguards against hostile interference. If a cyber-attack is underway, the soldier can simply perform a soft system reboot to revert to optimal operational settings and avoid its pernicious effects. This process is very quick, as it bypasses normal shutdown protocols in case of emergency. However, expert infowar operators are capable of paralyzing semi-autonomous robotic units and powered armor suits before a soft reboot can take place. For this purpose, these devices are universally fitted with a manually-controlled hard reset switch that cannot be blocked via software.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: If a troop is already in Immobilized-1 state from a previous Hacking Attack and suffers a second Hacking attack and wins the Face to Face Roll with a Reset, does this cancel the first Immobilized state?
A: Yes. Any successful unbeaten Reset roll will cancel the IMM-1 state.
Related Pages: Immobilized-1, Reset
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019
Q: If two or more troops, one with Stealth and the other without Stealth, were activated simultaneously within ZC and outside LoF of an enemy, troops without Stealth would granted to the enemy an ARO. Could the ARO be declared against the troops with Stealth?
A: No, you can only ARO against the troop without Stealth. This does not prevent you from declaring Change Facing or Reset.
Related Pages: Change Facing, Reset, Stealth, ZoC
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019
Q: If two or more hackable troops, one with Stealth and the other without Stealth, were activated simultaneously within Hacking Area, could I declare Hacking against the troops with Stealth?
A: No, you can only ARO against the troop without Stealth. This does not prevent you from declaring Change Facing or Reset.
Related Pages: Change Facing, Hacking Area, Repeater, Reset, Stealth