Remote Pilot

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Third Offensive Content.

The owner of this Special Skill is the pilot or driver of a TAG or Vehicle with the G: Remote Presence or G: Mnemonica Special Skill who can operate outside of the TAG or Vehicle via an auxiliary unit.

REMOTE PILOT AUTOMATIC SKILL
Optional
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
  • This Special Skill allows the use of the alternative Troop Profile in which it is included.
  • This Remote Pilot Troop Profile can only be used if, when activating the troop possessing it, the player has declared the Move Short Movement Skill Dismount from the G: Remote Presence/G: Mnemonica TAG or Vehicle.
  • A Remote Pilot Marker (REM. PILOT) or the corresponding model will represent the alternative Troop Profile.
  • When using this Special Skill the pilot is considered dismounted from the TAG or Vehicle which enters the Locked state. Players indicate this with a Locked Marker (LOCKED).
  • The G: Remote Presence/G: Mnemonica Vehicle or TAG cannot be activated by Order or ARO while it is in the Locked state.
  • The only exception to the above is if the Remote Pilot is on the game table in the Immobilized (IMM-1 or IMM-2), Isolated, or any Null state, in which case his player can spend Orders or AROs to declare Reset to try and cancel the Vehicle's or TAG's Locked state.
  • If the TAG or Vehicle succeeds at the Reset WIP Roll, the Locked state will be cancelled, removing both the Locked Marker and the Remote Pilot Marker or model from the game table.
  • A TAG or Vehicle in a Null state is considered a casualty and therefore does not generate Orders in the Order count, even if the Remote Pilot is on the game table.
  • In the same way, in this situation the Remote Pilot is considered neither a surviving trooper nor a casualty for Victory Points, Retreat!, or any other purposes.
  • If a TAG or Vehicle is in the Locked state and has its Remote Pilot in a Null state, it does not generate Orders in the Order count.
  • Unless stated otherwise in the Troop Profile, a G: Remote Presence/G: Mnemonica Vehicle or TAG only possesses one Remote Pilot unit.


Game Example. Remote Pilot:

A Shasvastii Sphinx, a G: Remote Presence TAG, declares Move, Dismounting from the TAG using the Remote Pilot Special Skill. The player places a Locked Marker besides the TAG and a Remote Pilot Marker or model in base contact with the Sphinx, and continues to spend Orders on it. Now, the Shasvastii player cannot spend Orders to activate the Sphinx until cancelling the Locked state by remounting the TAG or successfully making a Reset Roll.
In the Shasvastii player's Reactive Turn the Sphinx is affected by a Template Weapon, but cannot declare an ARO because of its Locked state. If the Sphinx enters the Unconscious or Dead state, then the player must consider it a casualty for Victory Points and Retreat! purposes. The Shasvastii player can continue to activate the Remote Pilot using the Orders from the Order Reserve of its Combat Group, but he has lost the TAG's Order. If the Remote Pilot enters into a Null state it cannot be consider a casualty, as the TAG has already been counted as a casualty.

Game Example. Remote Pilot in a Null state:

If the Remote Pilot of the Sphinx enters into the Unconscious state, which is a Null state, the TAG would continue to be in the Locked state. However, the player could spend an Order or ARO to declare Reset and cancel that state. If the player successfully makes the roll, the Locked state would be cancelled and the Remote Pilot removed from the game table.
If the player fails the roll, and in the Tactical Phase of his next Active Turn the Remote Pilot is still in a Null state and the TAG in Locked state, then the player cannot add its Order to the Order Count.

Game Example. Remote Pilot with TAG in Possessed state:

Let's suppose the Sphinx in the Locked state suffers a successful Hacking Attack, causing it to enter the Possessed state. Being in the Locked state, the player that induced the Possessed state cannot activate it with an Order, except to declare a Reset as the Locked state indicates. So, that player cannot use the TAG until the Remote Pilot cancels the Locked state by remounting the Sphinx.
This also means that the Shasvastii player cannot remount his Remote Pilot to the Sphinx until the Possessed state is cancelled, to avoid cancelling the Locked state and to allow his adversary to completely control the TAG.

Game Example. Remote Pilot with TAG in the Isolated state:

Let's suppose the Sphinx is in the Isolated state. In this situation, the Shasvastii player can use the Remote Pilot Special Skill. However, this Remote Pilot would be in the Isolated state too, and can only use his own Order and no other. When declaring the use of the Remote Pilot Special Skill, the TAG would be then in the Isolated and Locked states.


A common feature for modern remotely operated vehicles and TAGs is to incorporate an ancillary unit enslaved to the same remote presence framework. Due to the parameters of their compact, lightweight design, these ancillary units are intended for short-range survey and appraisal tasks only. Even the most advanced models have limited autonomy and are liable to handicap their pilot, who must leave the main vehicle or TAG on standby mode while operating the ancillary unit.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: When can you Mount or Dismount a troop?
A: When declaring Move as the first Short Skill of an Order, at the beginning of its movement, a troop can Mount or Dismount.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG 
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: When Mounting or Dismounting, which profile is activated?
A: The new Troop Profile is the one that is activated for the entire Order sequence. The other profile does not count as having been activated.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: During a CC Combat, can a trooper Dismount from his TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle?
A: No. When a trooper is in Engaged state at the start of the Order they can only declare CC Attack, Coup de Grâce, Dodge and those Skills which specify that they can be used in CC Combat or in the Engaged state, such as Reset.
Related Pages: Engaged, General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can a troop Dismount from his TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle if it is in Hidden Deployment or in a Marker state?
A: Yes, but this action will reveal the TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, General Movement Rules, Hidden Deployment, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can a Pilot or Remote Pilot Mount any “empty” TAG?
A: No, they can only Mount their own TAG.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: A Pilot or Remote Pilot has dismounted from his TAG and the TAG is not in a Null state. Does the TAG still generate Orders in the Order count step of the Tactical Phase?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Manned, Order count, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can you use the Hacking Programs Overlord or Total Control on a TAG whose Pilot or Remote Pilot has dismounted?
A: No.
Related Pages: Locked, Manned, Overlord, Pilot, Possessed, Remote Pilot, Total Control
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019
Q: If a Pilot or Remote Pilot has a Supply Box, an item from a Panoply or any Synched Civilians, what happens if the Pilot or Remote Pilot Mounts his TAG again?
A: The TAG will have the Supply Box or item from the Panoply and will have any Civilians Synched to them. The same applies if the Pilot or Remote Pilot Dismounts from a TAG that has a Supply Box, an item from a Panoply or any Synched Civilians.
Related Pages: Civilian Rules, General Movement Rules, ITS, Pilot, Remote Pilot