Jammer

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Human Sphere N3 Content.

This Technical Weapon doesn't require LoF and acts in the user's Zone of Control, inducing the Isolated state.

  • The user of a Jammer can declare a BS Attack using his WIP Attribute against a target within his ZoC. However, this weapon does not require LoF to the target.
  • A successful Roll forces the target to make a BTS Roll versus Damage 13.
  • Failing the BTS Roll causes the target to enter the Isolated state, signified by an Isolated Marker in base to base contact.
  • Critical hits with a Jammer put the target directly into the Isolated state, bypassing the usual BTS roll.
  • The user of a Jammer can declare an Intuitive Attack to target a Camouflage or TO Marker within his ZoC.
REMEMBER

The target of a Comms Attack can declare Reset to avoid the Attack.

Name Range (inches) DAM B Ammo Traits
Short Medium Long Maximum
Jammer -- -- -- -- 13 1 -- Comms Attack, Intuitive Attack, No LoF, State: Isolated, Technical Weapon, Zone of Control


The Jammer is an electronic warfare tactical weapon, which means it is a short range, compact, and specialized artefact. To adapt to its military function, the Jammer has been designed as a hybrid technology device that includes a communication frequency tracker, affecting not only radio but also laser, microwave, and other electromagnetic energy, all combined in a powerful radial jamming transmitter. However, the military requirements that it be portable and as lightweight as a personal weapon, plus the limitation of its area of effect to avoid unexpected interference to friendly devices, created the final notorious design flaw of the Jammer. This weapon has a limited action radius that obliges its carrier to move very close to his targets, preventing it from being popularized as an infantry weapon, due to the risk to its carrier. However, the effective application of a Jammer on the battlefield, thwarting enemy communications and the chaos this causes amongst hostile forces is so useful that only one of these devices can completely confound an enemy's strategy.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: When performing an Attack with a Jammer, is the roll affected by the negative MOD of ODD or Camouflage, for example? 
A: No, in the case of an attack that does not require LoF, the negative MODs are not applied.
Related Pages: Camouflage and Hiding (CH), Jammer, ODD
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Does the Jammer ignore the +3 BTS granted by cover?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Jammer, partial Cover
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.8, Oct 2019
Q: Do Jammers benefit from Fireteam bonuses?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Fireteam Bonuses, Jammer