Impersonation

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This Special Skill allows the user to deploy farther than the rest of his army and avoid detection by disguising as an enemy. Impersonation has several states that represent how difficult it is to identify the user as a foe.

IMPORTANT!

Any Level of Impersonation automatically grants its user the Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot L1 and Stealth Special Skills.

IMPORTANT!

You cannot use Impersonation to deploy in base to base contact with another figure, Marker or mission objective. This is true of all Levels of the Impersonation Special Skill unless otherwise stated in the Level rules or the conditions of the scenario being played.

IMPORTANT!

Enemies perceive an impersonator in the Impersonation-1 or Impersonation-2 state (IMP-1 or IMP-2 Marker) as an ally.


IMPERSONATION LEVEL 0: INFERIOR IMPERSONATION

IMPERSONATION LEVEL 0: INFERIOR IMPERSONATION DEPLOYMENT SKILL
Optional, NFB, Fire-Sensitive
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
  • During the Deployment Phase, allows the user to deploy anywhere on the game table except for the enemy Deployment Zone.
  • Allows the user to deploy in the Impersonation-2 state (see Infinity N3).
  • Allows the user to deploy inside the enemy Deployment Zone by making a WIP Roll.
  • Roll the user's WIP after placing him on the battlefield in order to determine the effects of a failed Roll.
  • The user cannot deploy in base to base contact with any other trooper.

Impersonation: Failing a Deployment Roll

If the user fails his WIP Roll, he is penalized with a Dispersion Roll. Place the center of the Circular Template over the center of the deployed user's base.

If the Dispersion takes the user outside the game table, or anywhere he cannot deploy, place him inside your own Deployment Zone in base contact with one of the borders of the game table.

Additionally, if the user fails his Deployment Roll, he loses the option to deploy in the Impersonation-2 state, must deploy as a figure and not a Marker, and loses any Deployable Weapons and/or Equipment deployed alongside him.

Inferior Impersonation: Game state Cancellation

If the Impersonation-2 state is cancelled, then the user of Inferior Impersonation cannot activate it again.


IMPERSONATION LEVEL 1. BASIC IMPERSONATION

IMPERSONATION LEVEL 1. BASIC IMPERSONATION DEPLOYMENT SKILL
Optional, NFB, Fire-Sensitive.
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
  • During the Deployment Phase, allows the user to deploy anywhere on the game table except for the enemy Deployment Zone.
  • Allows the user to deploy in the Impersonation-1 state.
  • Allows the user to deploy inside the enemy Deployment Zone by making a WIP Roll.
  • Roll the user's WIP after placing him on the battlefield in order to determine the effects of a failed Roll.
  • The user cannot deploy in base to base contact with any other trooper.
  • This Level of Impersonation is less effective against armies formed by members of a species alien to the user. A human trooper (in a Haqqislam army, for example) with Basic Impersonation can never adopt the Impersonation-1 state against an alien army (the Combined Army, for example).


Impersonation: Failing a Deployment Roll.

If the user fails his WIP Roll, he is penalized with a Dispersion Roll. Place the center of the Circular Template over the center of the deployed user's base.

If the Dispersion takes the user outside the game table, or anywhere he cannot deploy, place him inside your own Deployment Zone in base contact with one of the borders of the game table.

Additionally, if the user fails his Deployment Roll, he loses the option to deploy in the Impersonation-1 state, must deploy as a figure and not a Marker, and loses any Deployable Weapons and/or Equipment deployed alongside him.

IMPERSONATION LEVEL 2. IMPERSONATION PLUS

IMPERSONATION LEVEL 2. IMPERSONATION PLUS DEPLOYMENT SKILL
Optional, NFB, Fire-Sensitive.
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
  • This Level has the same effects and limitations as Impersonation L1, with one exception: Impersonation L2 may be used to impersonate a species alien to the user.


Reacting to an Impersonator

The only AROs available against an Impersonation Marker are Discover, Change Facing and Dodge.

Enemies in their Reactive Turn may delay their ARO declarations until the impersonator declares the second Short Skill of his Order.


Impersonation and Fire Special Ammunition

  • A trooper with Impersonation who is affected by Fire Special Ammunition, regardless of the outcome of the ARM Roll, loses the ability to use this Special Skill until it is repaired (by an Engineer, for example).
  • To indicate this, place a Burnt Marker (BURNT) beside the trooper.


Example of Impersonation and base to base contact

In his Active Turn, a Hassassin Fiday in the Impersonation-1 Marker (IMP-1) state declares the first Short Skill of his Order: Moving into base to base contact with an enemy Fusilier. Since he ends his Movement in base to base contact, the Fiday reveals himself automatically: he loses his Impersonation-1 Marker state and the Marker is replaced by his figure. Remember that, as a rule, all events that take place during an Order are simultaneous. This means that by entering base to base contact at the end of his Movement, the Fiday is revealed and acts as a figure during his entire Movement route. The Impersonation-1 Marker (IMP-1) is replaced by the Fiday model the moment he declares his Movement, and this affects possible AROs.
Enemy troopers with LoF may react against the Fiday but, since he executes the first Short Skill of his Order as a figure and not a Marker, enemies cannot delay their ARO declarations.
They may, however, choose to react with an Attack against the Fiday. The Fusilier, now in base to base contact with the Fiday, may react by declaring a BS Attack, a CC Attack, or Dodge, for example.
Once enemies have declared their AROs, the Fiday declares the second Short Skill of his Order. He may declare CC Attack, BS Attack or Dodge, among others, depending on his foes' AROs.
The Fiday declares CC Attack. Assuming there are no other enemies with LoF, the best course of action for the Fiday is to declare a CC Attack against the lone Fusilier. This Roll is between the Fiday's CC Attribute and the Fusilier's CC (if his ARO is a CC Attack), BS (if his ARO is a BS Attack) or PH (if his ARO is Dodge).
However, since the CC Attack must be made in base to base contact, the Fiday may benefit from his CC Special Skills and their associated MODs.
If the Fusilier declares Dodge and wins the Face to Face Roll, he may disengage from base to base contact with the Fiday and move the distance allowed by Dodging in Reactive Turn, ending the order a few inches away from the Fiday.
The Fiday declares BS Attack. Imagine there is one other enemy with LoF to the Fiday besides the target Fusilier. In that circumstance, the Fiday declares a BS Attack as his second Short Skill, distributing his Light Shotgun's B 2 between his two foes.
In this scenario, there are two Face to Face Rolls between the active trooper's BS and the appropriate Attributes of his two enemies. If the Fusilier declares CC Attack, his CC Attribute is pitted against the Fiday's BS.
Like in the previous case, if that Fusilier declares Dodge and wins the ensuing Face to Face Roll, the two figures enter base to base contact briefly but the Fusilier gets to move as per his Dodge ARO, and ends the Order away from the Fiday figure.
The Fiday declares Dodge. Now imagine there are numerous enemies with LoF who declare Attacks against the Fiday. He might then decide to Dodge as his second Short Skill to maximize the chances of surviving the Order.
A Face to Face Roll is made between the PH Attribute of the Fiday and the corresponding attributes of his opponents. If the Fiday wins this Face to Face Roll, he evades all Attacks and ends the Order in base to base contact with the Fusilier.
Like in the previous cases, if that Fusilier declares Dodge and wins the ensuing Face to Face Roll, the two figures enter base to base contact briefly but the Fusilier gets to move as per his Dodge ARO, and ends the Order away from the Fiday figure.

Impersonation example: Regaining Impersonation vs Hidden Deployment

In her Active Turn, a player wants one of her figures with the Impersonation Special Skill to return to the Impersonation-1 Marker state. She confirms that there aren't any enemy figures or Markers with LoF to her trooper, and spends one Order to disguise him into an Impersonation-1 Marker. Her opponent knows he has a trooper in Hidden Deployment who would have LoF to the active trooper. However, as the Hidden Deployment trooper is not on the table neither as a figure nor as a Marker, he cannot disrupt the active trooper's declaration of regaining the Impersonation-1 Marker state. Once the Entire Order has been declared, the Hidden Deployment trooper nevertheless has the chance to reveal himself and declare an ARO, disrupting the execution of the Order—it cannot be carried out if it fails to comply with its Requirements—and making the active trooper lose his Order as it becomes illegal. Additionally, if the trooper in Hidden Deployment were to declare an Attack as his ARO, he would make a Normal Roll.


Operative assets under the Impersonator designation are considered infiltration experts and ace performers. On the field, they are equipped with sophisticated holographic masking gear. A master Impersonator can breach the enemy lines, eliminate a target and, posing as the target, take his place in the enemy ranks for a devastating blow weeks or months down the line. Impersonators are the ultimate assassins. No one is so well protected that an Impersonator cannot reach them, kill them, and then disappear amidst the crowd with the swap of a mask and a trick of smoke and mirrors.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does Basic Impersonation work against alien races?
A: As stated on the rule (pag.80) in the sixth bullet point of Effects, the trooper can never adopt the Impersonation-1 state, the trooper with this Skill will instead start in Impersonation-2 state and when reactivating Impersonation state they will enter Impersonation-2 state.
Related Pages: Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: At the moment of delaying the ARO against an Impersonation Marker, if the Marker does not reveal itself with its second Short Skill, can I declare a Discover ARO?
A: No. It works in the same way as it does against Camouflaged troops, if the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, Discover, Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Can you choose to cancel game states that are the result of an optional Skill? For example Camouflaged state or an IMP state.
A: No, unless the Cancellation bullet points for the game state say that you can cancel the state voluntarily.
Related Pages: Camouflage and Hiding (CH), Camouflaged, IMP-1, IMP-2, Impersonation, TO Camouflaged