Hidden Deployment

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Marker

This state is not indicated by a Marker.

Activation

Effects

  • The Hidden Deployment state is a special form of deployment that allows the user to deploy during the Deployment Phase but place neither model nor Marker on the battlefield.
  • In your Deployment Phase, write down the position of your Hidden Deployment troopers in as much detail as possible (make sure to specify whether the trooper is in Cover, Prone, etc.) in order to show your opponent when their state is canceled and their position revealed.
  • The Hidden Deployment state is Private Information. However, once it is canceled, your opponent has the right to verify that trooper's deployment.
  • As long as they remain in the Hidden Deployment state, troopers do not add their Order to the Order Pool, but instead generate an Order they may only use themselves.
  • Until a trooper's Hidden Deployment state is canceled, that trooper is considered not to be on the game table at all. Consequently, such a trooper does not affect allied LoF, is not affected by Template Weapons, etc.
  • In his Active Turn only, a trooper in the Hidden Deployment state may use the Surprise Shot L1 Special Skill to declare a BS Attack or a Hacking Attack that benefits from the Surprise Shot L1 MODs.

Cancellation

  • The Hidden Deployment state is automatically canceled whenever the trooper declares any Short Skill, Entire Order or ARO.
  • If the Hidden Deployment trooper declares Cautious Movement or any other Short Movement Skill that does not require a Roll (except Alert), then his state of Hidden Deployment is canceled. Place a TO Camouflage Marker (TO CAMO) in the position you wrote down during the Deployment Phase.
  • If the trooper declares a Skill or Entire Order other than those previously mentioned, the Hidden Deployment state is also canceled. In that case, place the model that represents the trooper in the position you wrote down, facing in the direction of your choice.
  • When you place a model on the battlefield, you are required to share all Open Information relative to that trooper.
  • The Hidden Deployment state is canceled if the user is Discovered by means of a Special Skill that explicitly allows it (such as Sensor).
  • Once a trooper has lost his state of Hidden Deployment, he cannot regain it.

Hidden Deployment and Infiltration

A trooper with both CH: TO Camouflage and Infiltration may combine the effects of Hidden Deployment with those of Infiltration. In that case, write down your chosen deployment location before making the Infiltration Roll, in order to determine the effects of a failed Roll.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you delay the ARO with a trooper in Hidden Deployment?
A: Yes, but you have to place the TO Camouflage Marker, cancelling the Hidden Deployment state.
Related Pages: Hidden Deployment, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When is the Infiltration Roll made when using Hidden Deployment?
A: As established in the rule of “Hidden Deployment and Infiltration” (pag. 72) in the rulebook, the player must write down the chosen deployment position for the Hidden Deployment troop before performing the Infiltration Roll, and immediately after that roll for Infiltration to determine the effects in case of failure of the Infiltration Roll.

Although the troops in Hidden Deployment are considered not to be on the table at all, for the purposes of the Infiltration Roll (pag.83) they are considered to be on the table so that the roll should be made once you have written down their position.

If the Infiltration Roll is a success, the troop infiltrates and does not lose the Hidden Deployment, but if the user fails his Infiltration Roll, he must deploy inside his player’s Deployment Zone and in contact with ones of the edges of the game table.

Related Pages: Hidden Deployment, Infiltrate
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a Camouflage Marker prevents an enemy troop from reverting to the Camouflaged state, does it reveal itself?
A: No. If the trooper was in Hidden Deployment you will have to place the TO Camouflage Marker.
Related Pages: Camouflage, Camouflaged, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: If a Combat Group only contains troopers in Hidden Deployment or that are off-table with Airborne Deployment, do you have to indicate to your opponent that you have two Combat Groups?
A: Yes. The number of Combat Groups is Open Information.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Hidden Deployment, Open and Private Information
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can a troop Dismount from his TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle if it is in Hidden Deployment or in a Marker state?
A: Yes, but this action will reveal the TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, General Movement Rules, Hidden Deployment, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG, TO Camouflaged


Switching Combat Groups

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can units that are not deployed on the table (TO, AD) be moved to a different Combat Group by using a Command Token?
A: Yes, but that will inform the opponent of the existence of those troopers.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does this reveal units in Hidden Deployment?
A: No. This doesn’t activate the trooper in Hidden Deployment, so there’s no need to reveal them.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Does it make the unit’s information public?
A: No it doesn’t.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment


Coordinated Order with TO Camouflage

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

a) Are they eligible for a Coordinated Order while they are in Hidden Deployment?

A: Yes.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

b) Can I spend one of the TO Camo trooper’s personal Order to execute the Coordinated Order? The Coordinated Order rules talk about a “Regular Order”, and the TO Camo trooper’s one is a Regular Order.

A: No. Those Regular Orders are not added to the Order Pool and can only be expended on the trooper that generated it. To coordinate the troopers you would need a Regular Order from the Order Pool.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

c) If I coordinate 3 TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment in this way, will I add their Orders to the Order Pool, lose them, or something else?

A: No. These Orders can only be used to reveal and activate the troop in Hidden Deployment. So these Orders will be lost.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment