FAQ: Combat

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Ballistic Skills (BS)

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can a miniature throw a Smoke Grenade to protect another figure from an attack?
A: No. In a similar way to a Dodge, the Special Dodge provided by throwing a Smoke Grenade can only protect the throwing trooper.
Related Pages: Smoke Special Ammunition, Eclipse Special Ammunition
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you do Speculative Fire or Guided Attack from or into a sealed room?
A: No you can’t, because there is no way to trace the trajectory of the Attack.
Related Pages: Speculative Fire, Guided
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: How does Speculative Fire interact with enemy troops in Targeted State? For example is the attack affected by Camouflage or Cover?
A: The Attack is performed without the -6 MOD for Speculative Fire and with a MOD of +3 for being against a troop in Targeted State. The negative MOD imposed for Camouflage, for example, do not apply to a Speculative Fire and the Cover ARM/BTS bonus also does not apply as it is an Attack with a Weapon Template.
Related Pages: Speculative Fire, Targeted


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When do you choose which point of the movement path the BS Attack (or any other similar Skill) is performed?
A: In the Resolution step, when the players are about to measure distances. In case the order of declaration is important, the active player is the one who chooses who must declare it first.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: That means that if I declare my first Short Skill while in Cover, my opponents may declare their Attacks when this trooper is in Cover even if my second Short Skill is a movement that takes it out of that Cover?
A: No. The opponents will declare the Skills that they are going to use, with all the corresponding details. But the Attacks are made at the best point of the movement for the one who declares the Attack.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can I apply the bonus of +1 to Burst for Twin Weapons, if my troop has a Light Shotgun and has used the Special Skill Scavenger to get a Rifle+Light Shotgun?
A: No. To be able to apply the bonus for Twin Weapons, both the weapons must be exactly the same. The weapons with the symbol “+” are a combined weapon.
Related Pages: Twin Weapons, Scavenger
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you declare an Attack against pieces of Equipment deployed by allied troops?
A: No.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Equipment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you declare Discover + BS Attack to Discover a trooper but shoot at a different trooper?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Discover
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you split the Burst between several troops, when you declare Discover + BS Attack to discover a trooper and shoot at a different trooper?
A: Yes. Losing the shots at the target of the Discover if the Discover fails.
Related Pages: Discover, BS Attack Declaration, BS Attack
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: What happens when a Direct Template Weapon in ARO misses the target because it’s out of range? Does it affect the other troops inside the Template or does it get cancelled?
A: The Attack is cancelled.
Related Pages: BS Attack, ARO, Direct Template Weapon
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can Camouflage Markers be indirectly hit by Templates Weapons? How does this interact with Impersonation?
A: If you hit an enemy trooper not in Camouflaged state and there is an enemy Camouflage Marker inside the Area of Effect of the Template, then the Camouflage Marker would be affected too. However, with an Impersonation Marker you can not declare the Attack because it counts as a friendly trooper.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2, Template Weapon


Close Combat

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Is the Twin Weapons rule applied to Close Combat?
A: No.
Related Pages: Twin Weapons, Close Combat


Damage

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a miniature with Transmutation or Symbiont Armor loses the last Wound of its first Troop Profile, what happens first: the Guts Roll or the profile change?
A: After the correspondent ARM/BTS rolls, the Guts Roll is made and after that the change of profile is made.
Related Pages: Transmutation, Symbiont Armor, Wounds, Guts Roll
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does the Guts Roll work if the trooper that triggered it falls Unconscious in that Order?
A: Apply the Guts rule normally.
Related Pages: Guts Roll, Unconscious