FAQ: Characteristics and Skills

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Common Skills

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: What happens if a miniature with a 25 mm base moves inside a room with a Narrow Access receives a successful Engage attack from a model with a 40 mm base?
A: Both figures will end their movements inside the room, ignoring the Narrow Access.
Related Pages: Access Width, Engage
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When a trooper enters the Unconscious state does this cancel the Engaged state? See FAQ 1.4.
A: The Engaged state can be cancelled when all the adversaries of the active troop are in Null or Immobilized states.
Related Pages: Engaged, Close Combat, Unconscious, Immobilized-1, Immobilized-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: The second bullet of the Engaged state the text should be:
A: At the Conclusion of an Order, the Engaged state can be cancelled when all of a trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state. When this happens, the trooper’s player must decide whether to keep the Engaged state, or cancel it by separating the trooper by 1mm from the adversaries. If all of an active trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state the trooper can also cancel Engaged state by declaring Move (but following the structure of the Order) to separate from the adversaries.
Related Pages: Close Combat, Engaged, Immobilized-1, Immobilized-2, Unconscious
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: In a CC with the bonus to Burst applied for friendly troopers in that combat. Can I place more than one D-Charge?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Close Combat, CC Attack Declaration, D-Charges
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When declaring a Dodge in Reactive Turn, the movement of the Dodge ends in the Trigger Area of a Mine. Does this make the Mine activate? Does the declared Dodge Skill avoid the damage of the Mine?
A: Yes, a Mine is activated by an Order or ARO if enemy troops is in its Trigger Area. Following the Order Expenditure Sequence (pag. 31) in the Declaration of AROs it states that if movements are declared the player measures the movement distance and specifies where the trooper would be at the end of its movement path, therefore the Dodge roll would a Face to Face Roll against the trooper that declared the Order and a Normal Roll against the Mine. In the case of failing the Normal Roll or losing the Face to Face Roll, the Dodge movement does not occur, so the Mine does not activate.
Related Pages: Dodge, Structure of an Order, Mines
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you declare a Dodge ARO even if the Order generating that reaction does not include an Attack?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Dodge, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How do the MODs for Low/Poor Visibility Zones apply to Dodge Rolls? And to Engage?
A: The MODs apply whenever a Skill, Special Skill or piece of Equipment requires LoF and is declared from, into or through a Low or Poor Visibility Zone. Note that if the trooper is within the Visibility Zone this also applies to Dodge Rolls against template weapons from outside LoF. So:
  • Any Dodge declared inside a Low/Poor Visibility Zone suffers the negative MOD, even in Close Combat or if the Dodge didn’t involve LoF.
  • Any Dodge which LoF to the enemy trooper passes into/out/through a Low/Poor Visibility Zone suffers the penalty.

The negative MOD will also apply to the Engage Common Skill.

Related Pages: Low Visibility Zone, Poor Visibility Zone, Dodge, Engage
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can I declare Change Facing if I can not gain LoF to the enemy?
A: Yes. Since gaining LoF is not a Requirement for this skill.
Related Pages: Change Facing, LoF
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can Motorcycles / Vehicle use stairs?
A: Yes. Motorcycles / Vehicles cannot use the Climb skill but the stairs can be used without declaring Climb.
Related Pages: Motorcycle, Vehicles (VH), Climb
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can troopers move through obstacles that do not exceed the height of their Silhouette Template? Then is that movement considered “up and down” or does it count as if they were always at ground level?
A: Troops can vault and they are considered to be moving “up and down”.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: If a trooper declares a Dodge in ARO, does this “open up” LoF to troopers behind them?
A: No. A trooper that declares a Dodge in ARO continues to block LoF during that Order.
Related Pages: Dodge, LoF

Suppressive Fire

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Is the Suppressive Fire state cancelled when a trooper, in Suppressive Fire, fails its Guts Roll?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Guts Roll, Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: If I declare a Suppressive Fire ARO beyond 24”, does the -3 MOD for the Suppressive Fire apply to the opponent?
A: No. As the target is farther than the maximum Range value, the attack fails automatically and there is no FtF Roll so the -3 MOD of the Suppressive Fire State doesn’t apply.
Related Pages: Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When do I choose which ammunition or fire mode is used while in Suppresive Fire?
A: At the moment of declaring the Burst.
Related Pages: Burst, Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: For a trooper with more than one weapon with the Suppressive Fire trait, must we declare which one he uses to enter Suppressive Fire state or can he use any of those weapons while in this state?
A: When entering Suppressive Fire state, you must choose which weapon the trooper will use.
Related Pages: Suppressive Fire, Suppressive Fire (State), Suppressive Fire Mode

Special Skills

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Which version of Bioimmunity is the correct, the English version or the Spanish version?
A: The English version. The trooper with Bioimmunity can choose an ARM or BTS Roll against Attacks with the BioMunitions Category.
Related Pages: Bioimmunity
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Against an AP+Shock shot, how does Bioimmunity work if you choose to make the Armor Roll with the BTS Attribute?
A: The Shock Ammunition would treated like Normal Ammunition, but is combined with AP Ammunition so it is compulsory to make the Roll with the ARM Attribute, not with the BTS.
Related Pages: Bioimmunity, Shock Special Ammunition, Types of Special Ammunition
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does Kinematika increase the Engage radius?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Engage, Kinematika
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Do Kinematika levels stack?
A: No
Related Pages: Kinematika
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Do Booty, Kinematika or Infiltrate Special Skills grant the lower Levels?
A: Yes, but they are not stackable.
Related Pages: Booty, Infiltrate, Kinematika
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When is the Infiltration Roll made when using Hidden Deployment?
A: As established in the rule of “Hidden Deployment and Infiltration” (pag. 72) in the rulebook, the player must write down the chosen deployment position for the Hidden Deployment troop before performing the Infiltration Roll, and immediately after that roll for Infiltration to determine the effects in case of failure of the Infiltration Roll.

Although the troops in Hidden Deployment are considered not to be on the table at all, for the purposes of the Infiltration Roll (pag.83) they are considered to be on the table so that the roll should be made once you have written down their position.

If the Infiltration Roll is a success, the troop infiltrates and does not lose the Hidden Deployment, but if the user fails his Infiltration Roll, he must deploy inside his player’s Deployment Zone and in contact with ones of the edges of the game table.

Related Pages: Hidden Deployment, Infiltrate
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a troop with the Special Skill Protheion declare an Attack with this skill against an Unconscious trooper that is in Sepsitorized State and controlled by you?
A: No. Sepsitorized troops are considered Allies even when Unconscious. So, it can not be the target of attacks from his own troops.
Related Pages: Protheion, Sepsitorized, Unconscious



N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: How do V: Dogged and G: Remote Presence interact with each other?
A: When a trooper that has both skills enters the Unconscious state for first time, the player controlling it has to choose which to use.

If the player chooses to activate V: Dogged, the trooper will ignore the effects of the Unconscious state and enter the Dogged state. That means that the trooper will enter the Dead state at the end of the Turn, or if the trooper suffers a new wound before the Turn ends.

If the player chooses to use G: Remote Presence, the trooper will suffer the effects of the Unconscious state, but will gain a second Unconscious level before entering the Dead state and it could be repaired meanwhile.

Related Pages: Dogged, G: Remote Presence, No Wound Incapacitation, Unconscious, V: Dogged, V: No Wound Incapacitation
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: If a trooper with G: Remote Presence and V: Dogged enters the second level of Unconsciousness, can he use Dogged?
A: Yes, because V: Dogged can activate when the trooper entered the Unconscious state.
Related Pages: Dogged, G: Remote Presence, No Wound Incapacitation, Unconscious, V: Dogged, V: No Wound Incapacitation
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Is it the same procedure with V: No Wound Incapacitation?
A: Yes, because the activation is the same as V: Dogged.
Related Pages: Dogged, G: Remote Presence, No Wound Incapacitation, Unconscious, V: Dogged, V: No Wound Incapacitation


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Could a trooper with Sixth Sense in Engaged state react to an Attack from outside that Close Combat?
A: Yes, you can always Dodge when all the Sixth Sense requirements are met.
Related Pages: Close Combat, Dodge, Engaged, Sixth Sense
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Troops with V: Courage and Religious, how do the V: Courage and the Religious Skills interact with each other in a Guts Roll?
A: Troopers with both Skills can choose which one they are going to use in a Guts Roll.
Related Pages: Guts Roll, Religious Troop, V: Courage
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When can an Engineer detonate a D-Charge?
A: A trooper with the Engineer Special Skill may, in the Active Turn, remotely detonate, without range or LoF restrictions and without a Roll, a D-Charge previously planted by themselves or by any other trooper from their army.

In the Reactive Turn they may detonate a D-Charge if either of the following is true:

  • He has Line of Fire (LoF) to a trooper being activated by the Active Player.
  • Or if the trooper activates within his Zone of Control.

AROs must choose the trooper activated by the Order as their target.

Related Pages: D-Charges, Engineer
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How many D-Charges can be detonated at a time?
A: One per Order or ARO.
Related Pages: D-Charges, Engineer
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does a trooper with the G: Servant Special Skill provide the bonus of +1 to Burst in CC to friendly troopers in the same combat?
A: Yes, but only if they have not been activated by Order or ARO.
Related Pages: Close Combat, G: Servant
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When using the Minelayer Special Skill or deploying CrazyKoalas how do deployable weapons or Equipment work during Deployment?
A: The deployment of weapons or deployable Equipment must follow the Deployment rules.

They must always be within the area in which the trooper is allowed to deploy. For example, if the Minelayer trooper lacks the Infiltration Special Skill, the Deployable Weapons must be placed inside the trooper’s Deployment Zone. In the case that the trooper with Minelayer uses the Infiltration Special Skill, and this trooper deployes in his own half of the table, he only can deploy the mine inside his half of the table, never beyond.

Related Pages: Equipment, Minelayer, Perimeter
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you pick your AD: Parachutist location at any time during the Deployment Phase of any player?
A: No. You have to choose the location during the Deployment Phase of the owning player.
Related Pages: Deployment Phase, Parachutist
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can a Camouflage Marker prevent that an enemy trooper from reverting to the Camouflaged state? If the Camouflage Marker were a Mine, would prevent it too?
A: Yes, no matter if it is a Mine or a real trooper, as the Camouflage trooper trying to Camouflage again doesn’t know.
Related Pages: Camouflage, Camouflaged, Mine
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a Camouflage Marker prevents an enemy troop from reverting to the Camouflaged state, does it reveal itself?
A: No. If the trooper was in Hidden Deployment you will have to place the TO Camouflage Marker.
Related Pages: Camouflage, Camouflaged, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does Basic Impersonation work against alien races?
A: As stated on the rule (pag.80) in the sixth bullet point of Effects, the trooper can never adopt the Impersonation-1 state, the trooper with this Skill will instead start in Impersonation-2 state and when reactivating Impersonation state they will enter Impersonation-2 state.
Related Pages: Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: To discover a trooper in Impersonation-2 state, the rule states that the enemy must pass a Discover Roll that applies no MODs, does that include the Range MODs?
A: The Range MODs apply normally. The only MOD that does not apply is the -6 MOD for the previous Impersonation-1 state.
Related Pages: Discover, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: At the moment of delaying the ARO against an Impersonation Marker, if the Marker does not reveal itself with its second Short Skill, can I declare a Discover ARO?
A: No. It works in the same way as it does against Camouflaged troops, if the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, Discover, Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: How does the Piece of Equipment TinBot C work with the Neurocinetics Special Skill on the Yān Huǒ 2 Missile Launcher profile?
A: The TinBot C allow use of the Twin Weapons bonus in the Reactive Turn, granting Burst 2 with Neurocinetics.
Related Pages: Neurocinetics, TinBot, Twin Weapons
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Does the Marksmanship Lv1 Special Skill apply to Template Weapons?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Marksmanship, Template Weapons


Mount/Dismount

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: When can you Mount or Dismount a troop?
A: When declaring Move as the first Short Skill of an Order, at the beginning of its movement, a troop can Mount or Dismount.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG 
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: When Mounting or Dismounting, which profile is activated?
A: The new Troop Profile is the one that is activated for the entire Order sequence. The other profile does not count as having been activated.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: During a CC Combat, can a trooper Dismount from his TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle?
A: No. When a trooper is in Engaged state at the start of the Order they can only declare CC Attack, Coup de Grâce, Dodge and those Skills which specify that they can be used in CC Combat or in the Engaged state, such as Reset.
Related Pages: Engaged, General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can a troop Dismount from his TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle if it is in Hidden Deployment or in a Marker state?
A: Yes, but this action will reveal the TAG, Vehicle or Motorcycle.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, General Movement Rules, Hidden Deployment, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can a Pilot or Remote Pilot Mount any “empty” TAG?
A: No, they can only Mount their own TAG.
Related Pages: General Movement Rules, Manned, Motorcycle, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: A Pilot or Remote Pilot has dismounted from his TAG and the TAG is not in a Null state. Does the TAG still generate Orders in the Order count step of the Tactical Phase?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Manned, Order count, Pilot, Remote Pilot, TAG
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: What happens if a Pilot has Dismounted from a Manned TAG and the Pilot or TAG enters Dead State?
A: If the Pilot is Dead, the TAG also enters Dead state and is removed from the game table. If the TAG is Dead, the Pilot stays on the table until he enters Dead state.
Related Pages: Dead, Manned, Pilot, TAG


CC Special Skills

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: If a troop with Special Skill: Scavenger take a Hacking Device or a Medikit, is it considered a Specialist Troop?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Hacking Device, MediKit, Scavenger
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: A troop with Special Skill: Scavenger, if this troop take a Hacking Device, could it be the target of a Hacking Attacks?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Hacking Device, Scavenger