FAQ: Basic Rules

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Basic Rules

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Are these two miniatures in base to base contact?
A: Yes, as their Silhouette Volumes are touching each other.

File:Basecontact.jpg

Related Pages: Volume and Silhouette Templates, Base Contact
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: In the reactive turn, when can you measure the Zone of Control?
A: Following the steps of the Order Expenditure Sequence: you declare a ZoC ARO, and in the step of resolution, is when the players take measurements. So, is troop is in the ZoC, resolve his ARO, but if not, the ARO is lost.
Related Pages: Zone of Control, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can I return a shot in ARO if a troop attacks within the 180˚ front half base, but without LoF from the 180˚ front half base?
A: A troop have a LoF angle of 180˚, that is, they can see with the front half of their base.

LoF can be drawn from any point in the troop’s volume to any point in the target’s volume.

Because of this little nuance of troop / target, “If I can see you, you can see me” the target can draw LoF to the attacker troop when the attacker is within the 180˚ front half base of the target. In summary: For a miniature can ARO must be within its 180˚ front half base and be able to draw the LoF from those 180˚.

As we can see on the graphic, the Fusilier can draw a LoF from any point of his volume to any visible point of the volume of the Reverend. The Fusilier is within the 180˚ front half of the Reverend, but she can’t draw a LoF from her 180˚ front half, because the scenery block the line, so she can’t shoot.

File:Front180aro.jpg

Related Pages: Line of Fire, ARO


Initiative and Deployment

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When do AI Beacons deploy?
A: AI Beacons deploy during the Deployment Phase, just like any other troop that has no Deployment Special Skill.
Related Pages: AI Beacon, Airborne Deployment (AD)
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When are Booty and MetaChemistry rolled for?
A: After the player’s Deployment Phase.
Related Pages: Booty, MetaChemistry
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: When are the Symbiomates or SymbioBombs assigned?
A: They are assigned at the moment that you deploy the trooper whose profile includes the SymbioMates or SymbioBombs is deployed.
Related Pages: SymbioBomb, SymbioMate

Game Sequence

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Under 3rd Ed rules, how should the game terms Game Turn and Player Turn in the Campaign Paradiso rules be treated?
A: When the game terms “Game Turn” and “Player Turn” appear in the Campaign Paradiso rule texts, you must consider them as Game Round and Player Turn respectively.
Related Pages: Game Sequence


Order & Order Pool

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
A: Yes, it is obligatory.
Related Pages: Structure of an Order, ARO: Automatic Reaction Order, Camouflage, Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you delay the ARO with a trooper in Hidden Deployment?
A: Yes, but you have to place the TO Camouflage Marker, cancelling the Hidden Deployment state.
Related Pages: Hidden Deployment, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: An Auxilia and his Auxbot declares Move as first Short Skill of his Order. A Celestial Guard who only has LoF against Auxbot decide not to declare any ARO. With the second Short Skill, the Auxilia and Auxbot Move again, so that the Auxilia is now within the LoF with the Celestial Guard. Could the Celestial Guard declare an ARO against Auxilia now?
A: No, because the Auxilia and the Auxbot generated a single ARO as they possess the G: Synchronized Special Skill. Therefore, as the Celestial Guard has decided not to declare his ARO after the first Short Skill, he has lost the ability to declare any ORA against that Order.
Related Pages: ARO, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Fireteams in the Active Turn, Coordinated Orders, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Do Impetuous trooper ever consider a Piece of Equipment, Deployable Weapon, or a Perimeter Weapon, like a CrazyKoala or Netrod, to be the nearest enemy figure?
A: No.
Related Pages: Impetuous


Infinity Fireteams

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Under 3rd Ed rules, what happens to a Fireteam that enters Loss of Lieutenant?
A: Loss of Lieutenant in 3rd Ed does not automatically break Fireteam links. However, troopers in Loss of Lieutenant become Irregular. Should a member of a Fireteam expend his Irregular Order, he automatically and immediately abandons the Fireteam and forfeits all its bonuses.
Related Pages: Loss of Lieutenant, Fireteam Integrity, Fireteam Cancellation
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: With 3rd Ed rules, can the players apply the burst bonus provided by the Fireteams to any kind of attacks?
A: No, the +1 B bonus is not applicable when the attack is an Entire Order Skill.
Related Pages: Burst Support Bonus
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a Fireteam be part of a Coordinated Order?
A: No. If any member of the Fireteam is part of a Coordinated Order would no longer be part of Fireteam automatically, losing the Bonus.
Related Pages: Coordinated Order, Fireteam Integrity
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a Fireteam declare the special maneuver: Discover + BS Attack?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Discover, Fireteams in the Active Turn