FAQ: Advanced Rules

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

FAQ: Advanced Rules

Command Tokens

Switching Combat Groups

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When can this be done?
A: As stated by the rules, this can only be done during the Order Count in the Tactical Phase of the Active Turn.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Do Unconscious models count towards the limit?
A: Yes. Unconscious troopers are still part of their Combat Group.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens, Unconscious
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can units that are not deployed on the table (TO, AD) be moved to a different Combat Group by using a Command Token?
A: Yes, but that will inform the opponent of the existence of those troopers.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does this reveal units in Hidden Deployment?
A: No. This doesn’t activate the trooper in Hidden Deployment, so there’s no need to reveal them.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Does it make the unit’s information public?
A: No it doesn’t.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment

Cancelling Retreat! for a Unit

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: If a Command Token is used to cancel Retreat! for a unit does this also ignore other effects of Retreat!, e.g. downgrading Camouflage to Mimetism, breaking links, etc?
A: The Token cancels all the effects of the Retreat! state for the trooper.
Related Pages: Command Tokens, Retreat!, Retreat! (State)

Coordinated Orders

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a group of troopers activate simultaneously (using a Coordinated Order or a Fireteam, for example), and they receive an ARO from a Template Weapon, does the attack affect all the troops that traverse the area of effect at any time during the Order, or does the Reactive Player have to declare the exact moment where he places the template, affecting only some of the targets?
A: The template affects all the troopers that get in contact with the area of effect during this Order, as everything happening during the Order is simultaneous.
Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Template Weapon
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When two or more troopers activate simultaneously, (through a Coordinated Order or Fireteam, for example) can one of them “hide” behind the others to avoid AROs?
A: No. Troopers don’t block LoF while moving.
Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, LoF

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: What happens when several troopers try to activate the same mission objective through a Coordinated Order or G: Synchronized?
A: If all pass the Roll, you meet the Requirement and the element is activated.

If all fail the roll, you do not meet the Requirement and the element is not activated. If some troops fail the roll and other troops pass the roll, you meet the Requirement and the element is activated, since the failure of one does not eliminate the success of another (as would occur with Heal / Repair).

Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, G: Synchronized, ITS
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Is possible to activate more than one objective Marker (Antennas, Console...) at the same time through a Coordinated Order?
A: No, because it is necessary to select the Marker as a target, and in the Coordinated Order the target has to be the same for all the participating troopers.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, ITS
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: In the same way, can you destroy multiple Scenery Items?
A: No, because you have to target the same objective when you declare an Attack.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, ITS

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does the Targetless trait interact with Coordinated Orders or with increased Burst in reaction, for example when throwing Smoke Grenades is it necessary to target the same point?
A: Yes, in both cases.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Eclipse Special Ammunition, Fireteam Bonuses, Smoke Special Ammunition, Targetless
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Does the Regular Order used for a Coordinated Order need to be from the same Combat Group as the coordinated troopers?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Coordinated Orders, Regular Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a trooper in Isolated state take part in a Coordinated Order?
A: No.
Related Pages: Coordinated Order, Isolated
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Are Skills with the BS Attack label considered to be BS Attacks or other Skills when declaring a Coordinated Order? For example, could a Coordinated Order be made where one of the members declares Surprise Shot, another Forward Observer and a third troop shoot with a rifle?
A: They are considered to be BS Attacks, so can be combined in a Coordinated Order.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Coordinated Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: When a trooper with the G: Servant or G: Synchronized Skill is in a Null state or a Disconnected state, can his controller be part of a Coordinated Order?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Coordinated Order, G: Servant, G: Synchronized

Coordinated Order with TO Camouflage

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

a) Are they eligible for a Coordinated Order while they are in Hidden Deployment?

A: Yes.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

b) Can I spend one of the TO Camo trooper’s personal Order to execute the Coordinated Order? The Coordinated Order rules talk about a “Regular Order”, and the TO Camo trooper’s one is a Regular Order.

A: No. Those Regular Orders are not added to the Order Pool and can only be expended on the trooper that generated it. To coordinate the troopers you would need a Regular Order from the Order Pool.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

c) If I coordinate 3 TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment in this way, will I add their Orders to the Order Pool, lose them, or something else?

A: No. These Orders can only be used to reveal and activate the troop in Hidden Deployment. So these Orders will be lost.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment

Coordinated Order with Airborne Deployment

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some AD troops. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

a) Can I use one of their personal Orders to do a Coordinated Order?

A: No. You need a Regular Order from the Order Pool.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Coordinated Orders
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some AD troops. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

b) If I coordinate the landing, will the Orders of the AD troopers be added to the Order Pool or not?

A: No. As those Orders can only be used to deploy the AD trooper that generated it, the AD Orders are lost.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Coordinated Orders
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some AD troops. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

c) The same case as b), but with Impetuous troopers. If I coordinate the landing using a Regular Order from my pool, will their Impetuous Orders be lost?

A: The Impetuous Order would be lost because you would have cancelled it. Remember that Impetuous Orders are only available during the Impetuous Phase.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Coordinated Orders

Advanced Combat: Hacking

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: What happens when the Face to Face roll for Airborne Deployment vs Hack Transport Aircraft results in a tie?
A: As stated in the Hacking Program, the Hacker needs to win the roll to apply the effects of the Program. So, in the case of a tie, the Program doesn’t have any effect at all.
Related Pages: Combat Jump, Hack Transport Aircraft
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can a Hacker that acquired the Impersonation-2 state using the Hacking Program: Cybermask declare a Surprise Attack or a Surprise Shot?
A: Yes. As stated in the Impersonation-2 state Effects of the online version (updated from the Errata file), a trooper in this state may use the Surprise Attack or Surprise Shot L1 Special Skills.
Related Pages: Cybermask, Impersonation-2, Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a Hacker equipped with ODD uses the Hacking Program: Cybermask, does his ODD turn off? When will the ODD turn on again?
A: A trooper can only use or benefit from one Special Skill, piece of Equipment or Hacking Program with the NFB Trait or Label in the same Order.

When you use Cybermask, the ODD will turn off because this Equipment has the NFB Trait and any Special Skill or Equipment with this Trait or Label is incompatibe with any other Special Skill or Equipment that has the same Trait or Label.

The ODD will turn on when you cancel or turn off the effect of the Special Skill, Equipment, or in this case the Hacking Program, that produces the disconnection.

As an example, this means a trooper cannot benefit from the ODD and also the Surprise Shot provided by Cybermask in the same Order.

Related Pages: Cybermask, Impersonation-2, Negative Feedback, ODD, Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does a Remote that enters a Null state still keep any active Supportware Programs it has when it gets repaired?
A: Yes, because the Requirement of the Programs are that the hacker doesn’t enter Disabled state, Isolate state or any Null state or use another Supportware Program.
Related Pages: Assisted Fire, Controlled Jump, Cybermask, Enhanced Reaction, Fairy Dust, Kaleidoscope, Overclock, Reboot, TeamPro
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Should the Hacking Program: White Noise have the Special Dodge trait? And against Multispectral Visor?
A: No. It does not have the Special Dodge Trait, even against troopers using a Multispectral Visor. The same applies to Pheroware Tactics: Mirrorball.
Related Pages: Mirrorball, Multispectral Visor, Special Dodge, White Noise
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: What volume does the Hacking Program: White Noise create? A sphere like a Template Weapon or a zone with the size of a Circular Template and with infinite height?
A: The Hacking Program: White Noise generates a zone with the size of a Circular Template and with infinite height.
Related Pages: White Noise
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does Stealth stop Hacking AROs if the Hacker doesn’t have Line of Fire?
A: Yes, it does. As stated in the rule, a trooper with Stealth that declares a Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement Skill within the Zone of Control but outside LoF does not grant an ARO, so that prevents the Hacker from using any program, because that would be declaring an ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, LoF, Stealth, ZoC
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: If a troop is already in Immobilized-1 state from a previous Hacking Attack and suffers a second Hacking attack and wins the Face to Face Roll with a Reset, does this cancel the first Immobilized state?
A: Yes. Any successful unbeaten Reset roll will cancel the IMM-1 state.
Related Pages: Immobilized-1, Reset
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does a non-lethal hacking program (but without this trait) with DT Ammunition or similar, like Total Control, inflict a wound for each BTS roll failed by the target?
A: Only the programs that state that the target loses one point of his Wounds/Structure Attribute loses wounds. The types of ammunition apply the effects of the reduction to BTS or multiple rolls, not the lethal damage.
Related Pages: BTS Roll, DT Special Ammunition, Total Control
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can the Burst increase from the Hacking Program: Enhanced Reaction be used in CC?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Close Combat, Enhanced Reaction
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you Split the weapon’s Burst in a Reactive Turn with an active Hacking Program: Enhanced Reaction?
A: No.
Related Pages: ARO, Enhanced Reaction
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does the Hacking Program: Blackout cause a troop to enter the Isolated state?
A: No. The Hacking Program: Blackout causes the target to enter the Disabled state.
Related Pages: Blackout, Disabled, Isolated, Oblivion
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Since a possessed TAG is considered to be an enemy, can you declare an Overlord attack to take control of a TAG in Possesed state? What happens then?
A: Yes. Then you would control the TAG but in Possessed state (applying the corresponding Troop Profile). If the Possessed state of a trooper is cancelled, the trooper will return to the control of the owning player, regardless of who currently controls it.
Related Pages: Overlord, Possessed, Total Control
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can you declare to the Gorgos TAG, Iguana TAG or Anaconda TAG as valid targets of the Hacking Program: Expel?
A: No.
Related Pages: Evacuation Device (ED), Expel
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Can you use the Hacking Programs Overlord or Total Control on a TAG whose Pilot or Remote Pilot has dismounted?
A: No.
Related Pages: Locked, Manned, Overlord, Pilot, Possessed, Remote Pilot, Total Control
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Every success when using the Hacker: Carbonite program, involves two BTS Rolls applying the effects of DT Special Ammunition. Does the target have to perform two or four BTS rolls?
A: Only two BTS Rolls per success.
Related Pages: Carbonite

Hacking: Equipment

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: The Defensive Hacking Device rule allows use of GADGET Programs Level 1 and the quick references chart of the Appendices allows use of GADGET Programs Level 1 and 2. Which one is correct?
A: The Programs listed in the rule of the Device, it allows only use of GADGET Level 1.
Related Pages: Defensive Hacking Device
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can the bearer of an AI Beacon use the +3 PH Bonus to Airbone Deployment provided by an EVO Hacking Device?
A: No.
Related Pages: AI Beacon, EVO Hacking Device
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: How do enemy Repeaters extend a Hacker’s Hacking Area?
A: If a Hacker is in the ZoC of an enemy Repeater, all enemy Hackers on the table are inside their Hacking Area.
Related Pages: Hacking Area, Repeater

Special Terrain Rules

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does a Saturation Zone reduce the Burst? Example 1
A: A Grenzer with a Sniper Rifle with B2, inside a Saturation Zone, declares a BS Attack with his total Burst to the Fusilier A, who is outside of the Saturation Zone. After suffering the -1 B MOD for Saturation Zone his B changes to 1 (2-1=1).

File:Saturation 1.jpg

Related Pages: Saturation Zone
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does a Saturation Zone reduce the Burst? Example 2
A: A Grenzer with a Sniper Rifle with B2, inside a Saturation Zone, divides his weapon’s Burst among Fusilier A, who is outside the Saturation Zone and the Fusilier B, who is also outside of the Saturation Zone. He allocates 1 shot each to Fusiliers A and B. The Burst 1 against Fusiliers A and B remains unchanged, as a Saturation Zone cannot modify the Burst below 1.

File:Saturation 2.jpg

Related Pages: Saturation Zone
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does a Saturation Zone reduce the Burst? Example 3
A: In this situation, the Grenzer with Sniper Rifle with B2, outside a Saturation Zone, divides his weapon’s Burst among Fusilier A, who is outside a Saturation Zone and Fusilier B, who is inside a Saturation Zone. He allocates 1 shot each to Fusiliers A and B. The Burst 1 against Fusilier B remains unchanged, as a Saturation Zone cannot modify the Burst below 1.

File:Saturation 3.jpg

Related Pages: Saturation Zone

Scenery Structures

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can any trooper pass through a Narrow Gate in a Prone State?
A: Yes, because prone troopers have a Silhouette value of 0, so they fulfil the Requirements to pass through the Narrow Gate.
Related Pages: Access Width, Prone, Silhouette
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When an Access Scenery Item (a door, for example) enters Destroyed state, is the access point blocked, open or something else?
A: The Access point is considered open.
Related Pages: Access Width, Destroyed


States

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Can you choose to cancel game states that are the result of an optional Skill? For example Camouflaged state or an IMP state.
A: No, unless the Cancellation bullet points for the game state say that you can cancel the state voluntarily.
Related Pages: Camouflage and Hiding (CH), Camouflaged, IMP-1, IMP-2, Impersonation, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: If you use a Command Token to cancel the Possessed state of a TAG, when during the Tactical Phase is the Possessed state cancelled?
A: Before the Order count.
Related Pages: Order count, Possessed, TAG