Coordinated Orders

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

A Coordinated Order is an organized combat action or maneuver carried out by several troopers at once. By acting in unison, they can minimize the enemy's capacity for hostile reaction and use their superior numbers to safely neutralize a target.

Coordinated Order (Regular Order + Command Token)

Labels

Attack/Movement

Requirements

Spearhead.jpg
  • To declare a Coordinated Order, you must spend 1 Regular Order and 1 Command Token.
  • Up to 4 troopers can participate in a Coordinated Order.
  • When you declare a Coordinated Order, name one of the participating troopers as that Order's Spearhead, and place a Spearhead Marker (SPEARHEAD) beside him.
  • All participating troopers must declare and execute the exact same sequence of Skills.
  • If one of the Skills of the Coordinated Order demands a target, all troops must act against the same single target.
  • Only troopers with the same Training (Regular/Irregular) and in the same Combat Group can participate in a Coordinated Order.
  • You can only declare a Coordinated Order during the Orders Phase of your Active Turn.

Effects

  • In a Coordinated Order, the Spearhead trooper uses half the usual Burst (B) of his weapon, including any bonuses, rounded up.
  • All other troopers participating in the Coordinated Order have their B reduced to 1, regardless of their weapon.
  • The group of troopers in a Coordinated Order provokes one single ARO to each enemy within LoF or ZC.
  • Reactive troopers may choose which of the coordinated troopers they will declare their ARO against, and are not obligated to choose the same target.
  • If one or more of the participants in the Coordinated Order is unable to complete any of the Short Skills of the Order, then they only complete those they can. However, for the purposes of ARO generation, these troopers count as having declared all Short Skills of the Order.
  • In Close Combat, only the Spearhead trooper will perform the CC Roll, getting a MOD of +1 to his B and +1 to the PH Attribute for Damage for each friendly trooper participating in the Coordinated Order engaged with the adversary.
  • Other friendly troopers engaged in that CC but not participating in the Coordinated Order don't provide any Bonus to the Spearhead trooper.
  • When the Coordinated Order is finished, the player must remove the Spearhead Marker (SPEARHEAD) from the table.

Coordinating Skills

In a Coordinated Order, all participants must declare the same sequence of Skills, but can perform the same Skills differently. Consequently, in a coordinated BS Attack each participant would be able to choose his own weapon and apply its effects. For example, one of the troopers could use his Combi Rifle, another throw a Grenade, a third one shoot with her Flash Pulse, and the fourth employ his Chain Rifle, since all these count as a BS Attack.

However, in a BS Attack part of a Coordinated Order, none of the participants could declare Speculative Fire or Intuitive Attack, since these Skills are different than a BS Attack.

Coordinated Order: Dodge, Change Facing, Engage and Reset

If the target of a Coordinated Order chooses to Dodge, Change Facing, Engage or Reset as his ARO, then his Roll is Face to Face against attacking Rolls.

Coordinated Order: Success + Failure

If the participants of a Coordinated Order declare the use of a Skill or Equipment such as Doctor, MediKit or Engineer on a common target, then each failure in the Rolls cancels one success. In the event of a draw, the target suffers no effect at all.

Coordinated Order: Hacking

Hacking Programs cannot be used in Coordinated Order unless there is a scenario special rule, or the player has a trooper in the Army List possessing a piece of equipment or Special Skill, which specifies otherwise.

Coordinated Order example: Movement + BS Attack

In her Active Turn, a PanOceanian player coordinates a group of 3 Fusiliers and 1 Orc Troop to mount an attack against a Raicho, a Morat TAG of the Combined Army. The PanOceanian player spends a Command Token and a Regular Order, and assigns the Spearhead role to the Orc Troop by placing a Spearhead Marker beside it. Then, she declares the first Short Skill of her Coordinated Order: Move.

The Morat TAG can only declare ARO against one of the four PanOceanian troopers in its LoF, so it declares a BS Attack against the Spearheading Orc Troop. The Orc's BS is higher and his B, even halved, is better than that of the coordinated Fusiliers, so he is more likely to inflict serious damage.

The PanOceanian player declares the second Short Skill of her Coordinated Order: BS Attack against the Morat TAG.

The exchange is resolved with a Face to Face BS Roll between the Orc Troop, whose MULTI Rifle has its Burst reduced to 2, and the Raicho. The three Fusiliers, meanwhile, make one Normal BS Roll each, as their B is 1.

Coordinated Order example: Movement + CC Attack

During his Active Turn, a Combined Army player decides to coordinate a group of 4 Vanguard Infantry Morats and sic them into Close Combat against a Dragão. He spends a Command Token and a Regular Order, places a Spearhead Marker beside one of the Morats, and declares the first Short Skill of his Coordinated Order: Move.

The Dragão can only react against one of the oncoming Vanguards, so it declares BS Attack against the Spearhead Morat.

The Combined Army player declares the second Short Skill of his Coordinated Order: CC Attack against the PanOceanian TAG.

There is a Face to Face Roll between the Spearhead Morat's CC and the Dragão's BS. The Morat has the +1 MOD to his B provided by each one of his comrades engaged in that CC, so the Morat has a B's total value of +4 (1+3). If the Morat wins the CC Face to Face Roll, then he will also have the +1 MOD to his Damage provided by each one of his comrades engaged in the fight (Damage +3).

Coordinated Order example: Failed activation

To see what happens when one of the coordinated troopers is unable to carry out one of the Skills declared, we will go back to the previous example of 3 Fusiliers and 1 Orc Troop against a Raicho.

After selecting the Orc Troop as Spearhead and declaring the first Short Skill of the Order, Movement, the player measures and moves her four troopers. The Raicho declares its ARO, and it becomes apparent that there is no LoF between the TAG and one of the Fusiliers. In spite of this, the PanOceanian player declares a BS Attack against the Raicho with the second Short Skill of the Coordinated Order. The Fusilier without LoF will simply be unable to open fire. Specifically, the Fusilier does not perform the declared BS Attack, and just stands there instead. However, the Fusilier has been activated and for the purposes of ARO generation has declared the BS Attack the same as his comrades.

Coordinated Order example: Coordinating Marker troopers

In her Active Turn, the PanOceanian player wants to coordinate 2 TO Camouflage Markers and 1 Orc Troop against the fearsome Raicho. The PanOceanian player spends a Command Token and a Regular Order, selects the Orc Troop as Spearhead, and declares the first Short Skill of her Coordinated Order: Move.

The Morat TAG can only declare its ARO against one of the three looming PanOceanian troopers, and chooses to react to one of the TO Camouflage Markers. Since he is reacting to a TO Camouflage Marker, the Raicho may delay its ARO, so it waits until the PanOceanian player declares the second Short Skill of her Order to see if the chosen TO Marker reveals itself before declaring ARO.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: An Auxilia and his Auxbot declares Move as first Short Skill of his Order. A Celestial Guard who only has LoF against Auxbot decide not to declare any ARO. With the second Short Skill, the Auxilia and Auxbot Move again, so that the Auxilia is now within the LoF with the Celestial Guard. Could the Celestial Guard declare an ARO against Auxilia now?
A: No, because the Auxilia and the Auxbot generated a single ARO as they possess the G: Synchronized Special Skill. Therefore, as the Celestial Guard has decided not to declare his ARO after the first Short Skill, he has lost the ability to declare any ORA against that Order.
Related Pages: ARO, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Fireteams in the Active Turn, Coordinated Orders, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a Fireteam be part of a Coordinated Order?
A: No. If any member of the Fireteam is part of a Coordinated Order would no longer be part of Fireteam automatically, losing the Bonus.
Related Pages: Coordinated Order, Fireteam Integrity
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a group of troopers activate simultaneously (using a Coordinated Order or a Fireteam, for example), and they receive an ARO from a Template Weapon, does the attack affect all the troops that traverse the area of effect at any time during the Order, or does the Reactive Player have to declare the exact moment where he places the template, affecting only some of the targets?
A: The template affects all the troopers that get in contact with the area of effect during this Order, as everything happening during the Order is simultaneous.
Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Template Weapon
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When two or more troopers activate simultaneously, (through a Coordinated Order or Fireteam, for example) can one of them “hide” behind the others to avoid AROs?
A: No. Troopers don’t block LoF while moving.
Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, LoF

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: What happens when several troopers try to activate the same mission objective through a Coordinated Order or G: Synchronized?
A: If all pass the Roll, you meet the Requirement and the element is activated.

If all fail the roll, you do not meet the Requirement and the element is not activated. If some troops fail the roll and other troops pass the roll, you meet the Requirement and the element is activated, since the failure of one does not eliminate the success of another (as would occur with Heal / Repair).

Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, G: Synchronized, ITS
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Is possible to activate more than one objective Marker (Antennas, Console...) at the same time through a Coordinated Order?
A: No, because it is necessary to select the Marker as a target, and in the Coordinated Order the target has to be the same for all the participating troopers.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, ITS
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: In the same way, can you destroy multiple Scenery Items?
A: No, because you have to target the same objective when you declare an Attack.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, ITS

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does the Targetless trait interact with Coordinated Orders or with increased Burst in reaction, for example when throwing Smoke Grenades is it necessary to target the same point?
A: Yes, in both cases.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Eclipse Special Ammunition, Fireteam Bonuses, Smoke Special Ammunition, Targetless
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Does the Regular Order used for a Coordinated Order need to be from the same Combat Group as the coordinated troopers?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Coordinated Orders, Regular Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can a trooper in Isolated state take part in a Coordinated Order?
A: No.
Related Pages: Coordinated Order, Isolated
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Are Skills with the BS Attack label considered to be BS Attacks or other Skills when declaring a Coordinated Order? For example, could a Coordinated Order be made where one of the members declares Surprise Shot, another Forward Observer and a third troop shoot with a rifle?
A: They are considered to be BS Attacks, so can be combined in a Coordinated Order.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Coordinated Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: When a trooper with the G: Servant or G: Synchronized Skill is in a Null state or a Disconnected state, can his controller be part of a Coordinated Order?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Coordinated Order, G: Servant, G: Synchronized


Coordinated Order with TO Camouflage

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

a) Are they eligible for a Coordinated Order while they are in Hidden Deployment?

A: Yes.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

b) Can I spend one of the TO Camo trooper’s personal Order to execute the Coordinated Order? The Coordinated Order rules talk about a “Regular Order”, and the TO Camo trooper’s one is a Regular Order.

A: No. Those Regular Orders are not added to the Order Pool and can only be expended on the trooper that generated it. To coordinate the troopers you would need a Regular Order from the Order Pool.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: have some TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

c) If I coordinate 3 TO Camo troopers in Hidden Deployment in this way, will I add their Orders to the Order Pool, lose them, or something else?

A: No. These Orders can only be used to reveal and activate the troop in Hidden Deployment. So these Orders will be lost.
Related Pages: Coordinated Orders, Hidden Deployment


Coordinated Order with Airborne Deployment

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some AD troops. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

a) Can I use one of their personal Orders to do a Coordinated Order?

A: No. You need a Regular Order from the Order Pool.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Coordinated Orders
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some AD troops. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

b) If I coordinate the landing, will the Orders of the AD troopers be added to the Order Pool or not?

A: No. As those Orders can only be used to deploy the AD trooper that generated it, the AD Orders are lost.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Coordinated Orders
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: I have some AD troops. They are all in the same group and they are all Regular. Now:

c) The same case as b), but with Impetuous troopers. If I coordinate the landing using a Regular Order from my pool, will their Impetuous Orders be lost?

A: The Impetuous Order would be lost because you would have cancelled it. Remember that Impetuous Orders are only available during the Impetuous Phase.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Coordinated Orders