Command Tokens

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Command Tokens represent the command and control resources at your disposal to support your combat force.
Command token.jpg

Each player has four Command Tokens per game.

Command Tokens have two different gaming use modes: Strategic Use and Tactical Use.

Command Tokens: Strategic Use

The Strategic Use of the Command Tokens has a special and unique nature, reflecting intel defensive actions deployed by Mission Control.

Only the player who has the second Player Turn can apply the Strategic Use of the Command Tokens.

The player can only apply the Strategic Use in the first Turn of the first Game Round.

Only during the Tactical Phase of the enemy Turn the player can spend one single Command Token to perform one of the following options:

  • Nullify two Regular Orders of the enemy Order Pool during that Turn only. The player using the Command Token will decide from which Combat Group or Groups the nullified Orders will come from. The player can only perform this option in the enemy Tactical Phase, after the Order Count.
  • Prevent the adversary from using more than one single Command Token during that first Turn.

Command Tokens: Tactical Use

Players can apply the Tactical Use of the Command Tokens during the game. This reflects the tactical usage of intel resources by Mission Control.

By expending one Command Token, you may do one of the following:

  • Permanently move an allied troop to a different Combat Group, but respecting the 10 members limit. This option can only be used during the Order Count in the Tactical Phase of the Active Turn.
  • Cancel the Possessed state of a friendly trooper in an Active Turn that follows the turn in which the model became Possessed. This option can only be used before the Order Count in the Tactical Phase of the Active Turn.
  • Declare a Coordinated Order, expending a Regular Order from the Order Pool as well.
  • Have an allied troop automatically pass or fail a Guts Roll, as desired, ignoring the result on the die and any Special Skills the troop might have.
  • Transform the Irregular Order provided by an Irregular troop into a single Regular Order, substituting the corresponding Order Marker but only for that Player Turn.
  • Have one troop be unaffected by Retreat! This troop ignores the effects of the Retreat! situation until the end of the game.
  • Reroll a failed WIP Roll when trying to use the Special Skill Doctor on a troop with a Cube. This reroll does not provide a new ARO to the enemy.
  • Reroll a failed WIP Roll when trying to use the Special Skill Engineer on a troop with the Ghost Special Skill. This reroll does not provide a new ARO to the enemy.

Except those options that specify the contrary, players may use Command Tokens either at the beginning of their Active Turn, during the Tactical Phase before making the Order Pool count, or at any point during their Active Turn's Impetuous Phase and Orders Phase.

Players may expend as many Command Tokens during a single Active Turn as they desire, assuming they have enough. Players may also use more than one Command Token for the same effect.

Players cannot expend Command Tokens during their Reactive Turn.

Example of use of Command Tokens: Rerolling

During her Active Turn, a Reverend Healer tries to use her Special Skill Doctor to heal the courageous Alguacil Ortega, who is currently Unconscious. She expends one Short Skill of her Order, but fails her WIP Roll. However, her player uses a Command Token to reroll the WIP Roll. Without expending or declaring a new Order, the Reverend Healer rolls her WIP again. Sadly, luck is not on her side and she fails again. Still her player wants to spend a new Command Token and give the Reverend Healer one further opportunity to pass her WIP Roll and heal Ortega. This will be her last chance, but only because her player has no more Command Tokens left to spend.


FAQ

Switching Combat Groups

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When can this be done?
A: As stated by the rules, this can only be done during the Order Count in the Tactical Phase of the Active Turn.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Do Unconscious models count towards the limit?
A: Yes. Unconscious troopers are still part of their Combat Group.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens, Unconscious
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can units that are not deployed on the table (TO, AD) be moved to a different Combat Group by using a Command Token?
A: Yes, but that will inform the opponent of the existence of those troopers.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does this reveal units in Hidden Deployment?
A: No. This doesn’t activate the trooper in Hidden Deployment, so there’s no need to reveal them.
Related Pages: Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Does it make the unit’s information public?
A: No it doesn’t.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Command Tokens, Hidden Deployment


Cancelling Retreat! for a Unit

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: If a Command Token is used to cancel Retreat! for a unit does this also ignore other effects of Retreat!, e.g. downgrading Camouflage to Mimetism, breaking links, etc?
A: The Token cancels all the effects of the Retreat! state for the trooper.
Related Pages: Command Tokens, Retreat!, Retreat! (State)