Close Combat

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Urban combat, the struggle for control of a building, ship-to-ship boarding actions... In the modern warfare environment, soldiers often face the enemy at close quarters, where there is little room to wield a rifle or machine gun with any effectiveness. In these situations, they are trained to resort to close-quarters armament: small, short-range firearms (such as pistols) and hand-to-hand weapons (knives, machetes, swords, claws...).

Close Combat (CC) encounters take place within the normal Order expenditure sequence and use the same types of Rolls as all other forms of combat in Infinity.

CC plus Movement Sequence
Close Combat typically takes place immediately after a Movement. This means the most common CC sequence is as follows:
  • An active trooper declares, using the first Short Skill of his Order, that he will Move into base to base contact with an enemy.
  • Said enemy declares an ARO, usually either BS Attack or CC Attack, but it might also be a Dodge (or Reset), a Hacking Program (if available), or any Special Skill usable in this situation.
  • The active trooper declares the second Short Skill of his Order, which might be any of the above mentioned: BS Attack, CC Attack, Dodge (or Reset), a Hacking Program (if available) or an eligible Special Skill.
  • Then, both the active trooper and the target in ARO make their Face to Face Rolls (unless one of the Skills used indicates otherwise).

Close Combat Subsections


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Is the Twin Weapons rule applied to Close Combat?
A: No.
Related Pages: Twin Weapons, Close Combat
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: When a trooper enters the Unconscious state does this cancel the Engaged state? See FAQ 1.4.
A: The Engaged state can be cancelled when all the adversaries of the active troop are in Null or Immobilized states.
Related Pages: Engaged, Close Combat, Unconscious, Immobilized-1, Immobilized-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: The second bullet of the Engaged state the text should be:
A: At the Conclusion of an Order, the Engaged state can be cancelled when all of a trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state. When this happens, the trooper’s player must decide whether to keep the Engaged state, or cancel it by separating the trooper by 1mm from the adversaries. If all of an active trooper’s adversaries are in Null or Immobilized state the trooper can also cancel Engaged state by declaring Move (but following the structure of the Order) to separate from the adversaries.
Related Pages: Close Combat, Engaged, Immobilized-1, Immobilized-2, Unconscious
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: In a CC with the bonus to Burst applied for friendly troopers in that combat. Can I place more than one D-Charge?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Close Combat, CC Attack Declaration, D-Charges
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Could a trooper with Sixth Sense in Engaged state react to an Attack from outside that Close Combat?
A: Yes, you can always Dodge when all the Sixth Sense requirements are met.
Related Pages: Close Combat, Dodge, Engaged, Sixth Sense
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does a trooper with the G: Servant Special Skill provide the bonus of +1 to Burst in CC to friendly troopers in the same combat?
A: Yes, but only if they have not been activated by Order or ARO.
Related Pages: Close Combat, G: Servant
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can the Burst increase from the Hacking Program: Enhanced Reaction be used in CC?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Close Combat, Enhanced Reaction