Civilian Rules (ITS11)

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Civilians in Infinity

Covert operations are the brand of Infinity, and those are usually highly precise and surgical missions executed when there is no one to witness, just to keep their secrecy.

However, sometimes the objectives of the mission could include civilians. In such situations, troopers can interact with non-combatant personnel, synchronizing with them and performing what is called a CivEvac.

The rules of engagement however prevent causing harm to civilians.

This is a season rule that replaces the regular Civilian rule and any Civilian-related rule of the N3 and HS N3 rulebooks in the ITS tournaments.

Effects

  • A Civilian is a game element with a Troop Profile that does not belong to the Army List of any player.
  • Therefore, Civilians cannot be part of any Combat Group and don't provide Orders to an Order Reserve.
  • Civilians are considered Neutral, unless some rule, Special Skill or piece of Equipment states the contrary.
  • Civilians don't block LoF.
  • Civilians ignore the Effects and Damage they could suffer, being from an Attack or any other source (As Falling Damage, for example). Therefore, they lack the ARM, BTS, and Wounds Attributes.
  • Civilians cannot activate Deployable weapons or pieces of Equipment.
  • Some Scenario Special Rules or mission Objectives can modify this rule.
  • Synchronized Civilians do not generate AROs.
  • Templates that affect a Civilian are not considered null, but will have no effect on the Civilian.
REMEMBER

As Civilians are considered Neutral models, being in base to base contact with them doesn't activate the Engaged state (see Infinity N3).

Civilian Rule Game Example

During her Active Turn, the PanOceanian player declares the first Short Movement Skill of her Orc Trooper: Move. The Orc is Synchronized with the Neoterran Corporate Executive, the PanOceanian HVT. That move places the Corporate Executive in the Line of Fire of a Gangbuster, however, as Civilians don’t trigger AROs, the O-12 trooper cannot react. Now, the PanOceanian player declares the second short Skill of the Order: Move again. Now, in a new Order, the Orc enters the Line of Fire (LoF) of the Gangbuster, who can declare an ARO: a BS Attack with his Light Riotstopper. As this is a Template weapon it affects the Corporate Executive, meanwhile the PanOceanian player declares the second Short Skill of the Order: a BS Attack with his MULTI Rifle against the Gangbuster, because the HVT, as with any other Civilian, doesn’t block LoF. The HVT will ignore the Effects of the Adhesive Special Ammunition. However, the Orc who is affected by the template will have to make a PH-6 Roll.

See Also:

Civilian Rules (non-ITS)



Synchronize Civilian

This Common Skill allows a model to control a Civilian in game.

SYNCHRONIZE CIVILIAN SHORT MOVEMENT SKILL
Optional
REQUIREMENTS
  • Only models and not markers can perform this Common Skill. Any Marker which declares Synchronize Civilian is automatically revealed.
  • Troopers must be in base to base contact with the targeted Civilian to declare Synchronize Civilian.
  • The targeted Civilian cannot be in a CivEvac state with an enemy model.
  • A model cannot declare this Common Skill if any of the following is true:
EFFECTS
  • If the model successfully passes a WIP Roll, the Civilian enters the CivEvac state (see CivEvac state).
  • Failing the WIP Roll causes the Civilian to move two inches in a random direction. To determine the direction of the movement, the player must place a Circular Template over the Civilian model, with the number one pointing to the center of the table, and roll a d20. The result will point the direction in which the Civilian will move. This Movement must follow the General Movement rules explained in the Move Common Skill rules (see Infinity N3).
  • If the Civilian is considered Hostile, due to any game condition or Scenario Special Rule, then the player must apply a -3 MOD to the WIP Roll.
  • A Hostile Civilian is identified by a Hostile Marker.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.5, Jan 2019
Q: Do Synchronized Civilians generate AROs?
A: The Civilians do not generate AROs. Note that a Mine whose template affects a Civilian at any point during the Order will not be triggered.
Related Pages: CivEvac, Civilian Rules, Mines
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019
Q: If a Pilot or Remote Pilot has a Supply Box, an item from a Panoply or any Synched Civilians, what happens if the Pilot or Remote Pilot Mounts his TAG again?
A: The TAG will have the Supply Box or item from the Panoply and will have any Civilians Synched to them. The same applies if the Pilot or Remote Pilot Dismounts from a TAG that has a Supply Box, an item from a Panoply or any Synched Civilians.
Related Pages: Civilian Rules, General Movement Rules, ITS, Pilot, Remote Pilot