Camouflage and Hiding (CH)

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This Special Skill represents the soldier's ability to conceal his position and move stealthily. There are several Levels of Camouflage and Hiding.


CH: LEVEL 1. MIMETISM

CH: LEVEL 1. MIMETISM AUTOMATIC SKILL
Obligatory, NFB.
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
  • Any BS Attack against the user of CH: Mimetism suffers a -3 MOD to the relevant Attribute (BS, PH, WIP...).

After intensive training, some units learn to move in such a way as to cloak their presence, hiding their intentions and becoming a harder target to lead. Combined with basic mimetic tools such as photosensitive garments, these techniques make soldiers harder to pinpoint without incurring the large expense associated with full chameleonic gear.


CH: LEVEL 2. CAMOUFLAGE

CH: LEVEL 2. CAMOUFLAGE AUTOMATIC SKILL
Optional, NFB, Fire-Sensitive.
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
IMPORTANT!
CH: Camouflage automatically grants its user the Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot L1 and Stealth Special Skills.


CH: Camouflage and Fire Special Ammunition

A trooper with CH: Camouflage who is affected by Fire Special Ammunition, regardless of the outcome of the ARM Roll, has his CH downgraded to Level 1, CH: Mimetism, until it is repaired (by an Engineer, for example). To indicate this, place a Burnt Marker (BURNT) beside the trooper.


AROs against CH Markers

  • The only AROs available against a CH: Camouflage Marker (CAMO) or a CH: TO Camouflage Marker (TO CAMO) are Discover, Change Facing, and Dodge.
  • Bear in mind that when reacting to a CH: Camouflage or CH: TO Camouflage Marker, you may delay your ARO declaration until after the Marker declares its second Short Skill.
  • However, if you choose to delay your ARO, you may only declare it if the Camouflage Marker revealed itself with its second Short Skill. If the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.


EXAMPLE OF CAMOUFLAGE AND HIDING AND BASE TO BASE CONTACT

In his Active Turn, a SAS in the Camouflage Marker (CAMO) state declares the first Short Skill of his Order: Moving into base to base contact with an enemy Fusilier. Since he ends his Movement in base to base contact, the SAS reveals himself automatically: he loses his Camouflaged state and the Marker is replaced by his model. Remember that as a general rule, all events that take place during an Order are simultaneous. This means that by entering base to base contact at the end of his Movement, the SAS is revealed and acts as a model during his entire Movement route. The CH: Camouflage Marker (CAMO) is replaced by the SAS model the moment he declares his Movement, and this affects possible AROs.
Enemy troopers with LoF may react against the SAS, but since he executes the first Short Skill of his Order as a model and not a Marker, enemies cannot delay their ARO declarations.
They may, however, choose to react with an Attack against the SAS. The Fusilier, now in base to base contact with the SAS, may react by declaring a BS Attack, a CC Attack, or Dodge, for example.
Once enemies have declared their AROs, the SAS declares the second Short Skill of his Order. He may declare Surprise Shot L1, Surprise Attack, or Dodge, among others, depending on his foes' AROs.
The SAS declares Surprise Attack. Assuming there are no other enemies with LoF, the best course of action for the SAS is to declare a Surprise Attack against the lone Fusilier. This Special Skill burdens his foe with a -6 MOD in the ensuing Face to Face Roll. This Roll is between the SAS' CC Attribute and the Fusilier's CC-6 (if his ARO is a CC Attack), his BS-9 (-6 by Surprise Attack, and -3 by CH: Camouflage, if his ARO is a BS Attack), or PH-6 (if his ARO is Dodge).
However, since Surprise Attack is a CC Attack and must be made in base to base contact, the SAS can also benefit from his CC Special Skills and their associated MODs.
If the Fusilier declares Dodge and wins the Face to Face Roll, he may disengage from base to base contact with the SAS and move the distance allowed by Dodging in Reactive Turn, ending the order a few inches away from the SAS.
The SAS declares Surprise Shot L1. Let's say there are two enemies with LoF to the SAS in addition to the Fusilier. In that case, the SAS calculates that his best bet is to declare a Surprise Shot L1 as his second Short Skill and split the B 3 of his Rifle between the target Fusilier he is going to reach base contact with and the other two enemies, thus giving each of them a -3 MOD in addition to the -3 imposed by his CH: Camouflage.
In this scenario, there are 3 Face to Face Rolls between the active trooper's BS and the modified Attributes of the three Fusiliers. If the target Fusilier declares a BS Attack, his BS Attribute, modified by the -3 MOD from Surprise Shot L1 and the -3 MOD from CH: Camouflage, are pitted against the BS of the SAS.
Like in the previous case, if that target Fusilier declares Dodge and wins the ensuing Face to Face Roll, the two models enter base to base contact briefly but the Fusilier gets to move as per his Dodge ARO, and ends the Order away from the SAS model.
The SAS declares Dodge. Imagine there are many enemies with LoF to the SAS, all of whom declare Attacks against him. In this scenario, the SAS would chose to declare Dodge as the second Short Skill of his Order, in an attempt to avoid damage.
A Face to Face Roll is made between the PH Attribute of the SAS and the corresponding attributes of his opponents. If the SAS wins this Face to Face Roll, then he evades all Attacks and ends the Order in base to base contact with the Fusilier.
Like in the previous cases, if that Fusilier declares Dodge and wins the ensuing Face to Face Roll, the two troopers enter base to base contact briefly but the Fusilier gets to move as per his Dodge ARO, and ends the Order away from the SAS model.


EXAMPLE OF CAMOUFLAGE AND HIDING, STEALTH AND BASE TO BASE CONTACT WITH AN ENEMY FACING AWAY

In his Active Turn, a SAS in the Camouflage Marker (CAMO) state declares the first Short Skill of his Order: Moving into base to base contact with an enemy Fusilier who is with his back towards him.
Since the S.A.S. possesses also the Stealth Special Skill, his target cannot declare ARO against a Short Movement Skill declared inside his Zone of Control but out of his LoF.
However, the Fusilier can declare ARO if the S.A.S.' second Short Skill of the Order is any non-Movement Short Skill. In such situation, the Fusilier can only declare a CC Attack or Dodge ARO (or Reset, but the S.A.S. is not a Hacker), as he is in Engaged state. If there would not be base to base contact, then the Fusilier could declare Change Facing as ARO.
Reconnaissance experts, through experience and training, develop a strong sense for concealment and stealth. To take advantage of their skills, these soldiers are outfitted with chameleonic gear: photo-reactive cells and adjustable, merging, environmental patterns. These technologies, weaved into their garments, body armor, and equipment — in combination with their special abilities — make for deceptive targets and ghostly figures, but fall short of absolute invisibility.


CH: LEVEL 3. TO CAMOUFLAGE

CH: LEVEL 3. TO CAMOUFLAGE AUTOMATIC SKILL
Optional, NFB, Fire-Sensitive.
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
IMPORTANT!
CH: TO Camouflage automatically grants its user the Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot L1 and Stealth Special Skills.


Hidden Deployment and Infiltration

A trooper with both CH: TO Camouflage and Infiltration may combine the effects of Hidden Deployment with those of Infiltration. In that case, write down your chosen deployment location before making the Infiltration Roll, in order to determine the effects of a failed Roll.


CAMOUFLAGE EXAMPLE: REGAINING CAMOUFLAGE VS HIDDEN DEPLOYMENT

In her Active Turn, a player wants one of her models with the CH: Camouflage Special Skill to return to the Camouflaged state. She confirms that there aren't any enemy models or Markers with LoF to the trooper, and spends one Order to cloak him into a Camouflage Marker. Her opponent knows he has a trooper in Hidden Deployment who would have LoF to the active trooper. However, as the Hidden Deployment trooper is not on the table either as a model or as a Marker, he cannot disrupt the active trooper's declaration of regaining the Camouflaged state. Once the Entire Order has been declared, the Hidden Deployment trooper nevertheless has the chance to reveal himself and declare an ARO, disrupting the execution of the Order - it cannot be carried out if it fails to comply with its Requirements — and making the active trooper lose his Order as it then becomes illegal. Additionally, if the trooper in Hidden Deployment were to declare an Attack as his ARO, he would make a Normal Roll.


CH: TO Camouflage and Fire Special Ammunition

  • A trooper with CH: TO Camouflage who is affected by Fire Special Ammunition, regardless of the outcome of the ARM Roll, has his CH downgraded to Level 1, CH: Mimetism, until it is repaired (by an Engineer, for example). To indicate this, place a Burnt Marker (BURNT) beside the trooper.

In those rare cases when budget is not a concern, modern military forces equip expert operatives with the best in camouflage: Thermo-Optical cloaking devices. These systems use advanced field technologies to bend light around the wearer, making them all but invisible even to heat sensors. This sophisticated gear is also capable of blurring environmental disturbances caused by the user's movement, and making them undetectable by both radar and sonar.


To surprise.jpg

CH: LEVEL X. AMBUSH CAMOUFLAGE

CH: LEVEL X. AMBUSH CAMOUFLAGE AUTOMATIC SKILL
Optional, NFB, Fire-Sensitive.
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS
  • Level X has all benefits and limitations of Level 2, CH: Camouflage.
  • In addition the Level 2 effects, the user may place an additional Camouflage Marker (CAMO) inside his Zone of Control during the Deployment Phase only.
  • This additional Camouflage Marker is a decoy, and hides no trooper, weapon or piece of Equipment. It must remain immobile until it is Discovered or until the user of Ambush Camouflage reveals himself or is Discovered, at which point the Camouflage Marker is simply removed from play.
  • The placement of the decoy Camouflage Marker cannot violate the Deployment rules or any restrictions to deployment put forth by the rules of the scenario being played.
  • When you deploy the user of Ambush Camouflage and his decoy, you must write down the number of the Camouflage Marker that acts as a decoy in order to show your opponent when the decoy or the owner of this Special Skill is revealed.
IMPORTANT!
CH: Ambush Camouflage automatically grants its user the Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot L1 and Stealth Special Skills.

CH: LEVEL Y. LIMITED CAMOUFLAGE

Human Sphere N3 Content.

The owner of this Level Y of the Camouflage and Concealment Special Skill knows how to perform a camouflaged deployment, but once in the battle is not able to take advantage of the Camouflage and Mimetism techniques. There are several Levels of Camouflage and Hiding.

CH: LEVEL Y. LIMITED CAMOUFLAGE DEPLOYMENT SKILL
Fire-Sensitive, NFB, Optional
REQUIREMENTS
EFFECTS


IMPORTANT!

While the user of this Level is in Camouflage state, and only when he is in such state, the CH: Limited Camouflage automatically grants him the Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot L1, and Stealth Special Skills.

Some of the troops specialized in ambushing tactics abandon any concern for concealment once the combat starts. Usually this is blamed on an incomplete or lesser tactical instruction. However, it has been proven that on certain occasions it forms part of the unit's modus operandi. It's something that comes from a martial culture where the first strike is highly valued, a strike so effective and lethal that it decides the combat's outcome.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question Updated: 1.2
Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
A: Yes, it is obligatory.
Related Pages: Structure of an Order, ARO: Automatic Reaction Order, Camouflage, Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question Updated: 1.1
Q: Can a Camouflage Marker prevent that an enemy trooper from reverting to the Camouflaged state? If the Camouflage Marker were a Mine, would prevent it too?
A: Yes, no matter if it is a Mine or a real trooper, as the Camouflage trooper trying to Camouflage again doesn’t know.
Related Pages: Camouflage, Camouflaged, Mine
N3 Frequently Asked Question Updated: 1.1
Q: When a Camouflage Marker prevents an enemy troop from reverting to the Camouflaged state, does it reveal itself?
A: No. If the trooper was in Hidden Deployment you will have to place the TO Camouflage Marker.
Related Pages: Camouflage, Camouflaged, Hidden Deployment