BS Attack

From Infinity Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Common Skill employed to attack in ranged combat using a BS Weapon or another suitable weapon or piece of Equipment.

BS ATTACK SHORT SKILL / ARO
Attack.
REQUIREMENTS

The user must have LoF towards the target unless the BS Weapon, Special Skill or Equipment used states specifically that it does not require LoF.

EFFECTS
  • The user employs his BS Attribute (or that specified by the weapon) to fire upon one or more enemies.
  • At the time of the BS Attack declaration, the user must choose which of his appropriate BS Weapons, Special Skills or pieces of Equipment to use.
  • If the attacker has more than one target and a BS Weapon, Special Skill or piece of Equipment with a Burst value higher than 1, he must distribute his attacks as part of the BS Attack declaration.
  • The attacker must also specify which type of Ammunition he will use, if more than one is available, as part of the BS Attack declaration.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When do you choose which point of the movement path the BS Attack (or any other similar Skill) is performed?
A: In the Resolution step, when the players are about to measure distances. In case the order of declaration is important, the active player is the one who chooses who must declare it first.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: That means that if I declare my first Short Skill while in Cover, my opponents may declare their Attacks when this trooper is in Cover even if my second Short Skill is a movement that takes it out of that Cover?
A: No. The opponents will declare the Skills that they are going to use, with all the corresponding details. But the Attacks are made at the best point of the movement for the one who declares the Attack.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you declare an Attack against pieces of Equipment deployed by allied troops?
A: No.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Equipment
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you declare Discover + BS Attack to Discover a trooper but shoot at a different trooper?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Discover
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you split the Burst between several troops, when you declare Discover + BS Attack to discover a trooper and shoot at a different trooper?
A: Yes. Losing the shots at the target of the Discover if the Discover fails.
Related Pages: Discover, BS Attack Declaration, BS Attack
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: What happens when a Direct Template Weapon in ARO misses the target because it’s out of range? Does it affect the other troops inside the Template or does it get cancelled?
A: The Attack is cancelled.
Related Pages: BS Attack, ARO, Direct Template Weapon
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: A figure declares a BS Attack with a Breaker Rifle and Marksmanship, does each impact oblige you to perform a BTS Roll and an ARM Roll, receiving two wounds if failing both?
A: Yes. As stated on page 107, if the Ammunition affects different Attributes their effects are not combined, forcing the target to make a separate Roll for each affected Attribute.
Related Pages: Breaker Special Ammunition, BS Attack, Marksmanship
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can I declare a BS Attack against a TinBot?
A: No. Because is a state Marker.
Related Pages: BS Attack, TinBot
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: Are Skills with the BS Attack label considered to be BS Attacks or other Skills when declaring a Coordinated Order? For example, could a Coordinated Order be made where one of the members declares Surprise Shot, another Forward Observer and a third troop shoot with a rifle?
A: They are considered to be BS Attacks, so can be combined in a Coordinated Order.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Coordinated Order