Template Weapons and Equipment
- 1 Area of Effect
- 2 Types of Template
- 3 Direct Template Weapons
- 4 Impact Template Weapons
- 5 Critical Hits with Templates
- 6 Responding to a Template Weapon Roll
- 7 Circular Impact Template. Special cases
- 8 Template Examples
- 9 FAQ
Area of Effect
The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an Attack using a Template Weapon, all troopers or targets in base contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the Attack declared.
- Any trooper in base contact with a Template, or whose base or Silhouette Template is covered at least partially by a Template, is equally affected by the Template Weapon or Equipment.
- Troopers affected by a Template Weapon or Equipment can declare Dodge as their second Short Skill or ARO, even if they do not have LoF to the attacker.
- Dodging an Attack with a Template Weapon usually involves passing a PH Roll.
- However, that Roll becomes a PH-3 Roll in these cases:
|Troopers affected by a Template Weapon cannot benefit from the +3 MOD to ARM/BTS for Partial Cover.|
Template Weapons on a Close Combat
Template Weapons that affect at least one trooper engaged in a Close Combat affect all troopers in that Close Combat, even if some of them are not in direct contact with the Template. Bear in mind that troopers cannot declare Attacks against their friendly troopers.
Template weapons and friendly and Neutral troopers
It is not allowed to declare Attacks against friendly or Neutral troopers. So, if the player declares an Attack with a Template weapon that affects a friendly or Neutral trooper, then that shot is considered null (But not any other shot of the same Burst with no Civilian or Neutral troopers affected by a Template). All those troops who were affected by the nullified shot can still declare ARO.
In such a situation, if the Template weapon has the Expendable Trait one use is considered spent.
Template Weapons, Scenery Items, and Total Cover
The presence of scenery items on the game table can change a Template's Area of Effect as shown in the graphic examples.
Each Template has a Blast Focus to determine if nearby scenery protects a trooper from the Template's effects. If LoF can be drawn from the Blast Focus to the trooper, then that trooper is affected by the Template. However, if the LoF cannot be drawn due to the presence of a piece of scenery, then the trooper is considered to be in Total Cover and is not affected by the Template.
The Blast Focus is at the center of the Circular Template and at the narrow end of the Teardrop Templates.
Types of Template
In this rulebook, there are three kinds of Templates used by weapons and pieces of Equipment: the Circular Template, the Large Teardrop Template and the Small Teardrop Template.
Templates used by Template Weapons and Equipment have a height equal to their radius or half their width (unless otherwise specified, as in the case of Smoke Special Ammunition,). To help determine the three-dimensional Area of Effect of a Template, add a second identical template perpendicular down the middle so the cross-section forms an X.
Direct Template Weapons
As their name implies, these weapons place a Template where their user stands.
- These weapons require no BS Roll to hit.
- Place the Template down when you declare the Attack to determine what the Attack affects, as that might influence the possible second Short Skill and AROs.
- Teardrop Direct Template (Chain Rifle, Flamethrower, etc.): Place the narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) contacting the edge of the attacker's base or Silhouette Template. All troopers affected by the Template suffer the Attack (see diagram).
- Circular Direct Template: Place the center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) over the center of the attacker's base. All troopers affected by the Template suffer the Attack.
- Affected troopers can Dodge the Attack of a Direct Template Weapon by passing a Normal PH Roll (or PH-3 in the cases mentioned previously under Effects).
- If an affected trooper declares an Attack against the user of the Direct Template Weapon as the second Short Skill of an Order or as an ARO, then that Attack is resolved with a Normal Roll using the relevant Attribute (if the weapon, Special Skill, etc. requires a Roll) instead of a Face to Face Roll. Once the Attack is resolved, and regardless of the outcome, the trooper suffers the effect of the Template.
- Direct Template Weapons with a Burst (B) value greater than 1 allow the attacker to place the Template as many times per order as the B value, even sharing this B against different targets. You can find further information about this possibility on Twin Weapons.
- Direct Template Weapons allow the user to declare the Skill Intuitive Attack.
|Even in contact with the Template, troopers declaring an Attack with a Direct Template weapon are not affected by it, unless the description of such weapon states the contrary.|
Direct Template Weapon Diagrams
Graphic 1. Direct Template: Area of Effect.
Graphic 2. Direct Template: Area of Effect. Blast Focus and scenery.
Graphic 3. Direct Template: Area of Effect. Placement and Total Covert.
Graphic 4. Direct Template: Area of Effect. Placement and troopers at different levels.
Graphic 5. Direct Template: Area of Effect. Placement and Prone trooper.
Graphic 6. Direct Template: Area of Effect. Placement and Silhouette Template.
Impact Template Weapons
These weapons place a Template at the point of impact.
- Unlike Direct Template Weapons, Impact Template Weapons require an Attack Roll, using BS or the appropriate Attribute, to hit.
- The user of one of these weapons must declare a main valid target, and that target is used as a reference to place the Template.
- Place the Template down when you declare the Attack to determine who is affected by that Attack, as that might influence the possible second Short Skill and AROs.
- The Template only applies its effect on each affected trooper if the Attack Roll is successful.
- The trooper who declared the Attack compares this Roll against each enemy trooper affected by the Template individually. Each enemy trooper affected by the template resolves his Face to Face Roll with the Template user independent of each other; the Face to Face Roll of one affected enemy trooper does not affect the Face to Face Rolls of the others (See the example below).
- The attacker must designate a main target, from who all MODs applied to his Roll will be determined. As stated above, this Roll will be compared against each enemy trooper affected by the Template.
- Teardrop Impact Template (Shotgun, Plasma Rifle, etc.): Place the narrow end of the Teardrop Template (Blast Focus) contacting the edge of the main target's base, following the Line of Fire (see diagram).
- As the diagram shows, the narrow end of the Template (Blast Focus) must be in contact with the edge that is closest to the attacker, so that the main target is unequivocally affected by the Template.
- All other troopers affected by the Template suffer the Attack as well.
- Circular Impact Template (Grenades, Grenade Launchers, etc.): Place the center of the Circular Template (Blast Focus) over the center of the main target's base. All other troopers affected by the Template suffer the Attack as well.
- In order to Dodge an Attack with an Impact Template Weapon, the main target or any other affected trooper can make a Face to Face Roll with their PH (or PH-3 in the cases mentioned under Effects) against the attacker's Attack Roll.
Impact Template Weapon Diagrams
Graphic 7. Impact Template: Area of Effect. Placement, Silhouette Template and troopers at different levels.
Graphic 8. Impact Template: Area of Effect. Placement and Total Covert.
Critical Hits with Templates
Rolling a Critical in an Attack Roll with a Template Weapon causes the target of the attack (and only the target) to suffer Damage automatically and lose one point of Wounds/Structure, bypassing the ARM or BTS Roll, and applies what its Special Ammunition specifies in case of Critical.
Other troopers affected by the Template do not suffer the effects of the Critical, but they still suffer the regular effects of the Template.
Responding to a Template Weapon Roll
Against an Attack with a Template Weapon that required a Roll to hit—whether it was an Impact Template Weapon or an Intuitive Attack—, each affected enemy may make a separate Face to Face Roll against the attacker.
Circular Impact Template. Special cases
- Remember that, when declaring Speculative Attack with an Impact Template Weapon, you do not have to place the Template on top of the center of the target's base.
- When using Smoke Special Ammunition, you do not need to declare an enemy as target; the target can be an area on the game table.
Teardrop Impact Template example. Main target reacts by shooting.
In his Active Turn, a Hellcat wielding a Boarding Shotgun, a weapon capable of using the Small Teardrop Impact Template, declares a BS Attack against three Fusiliers in a straight line before him. Since the Boarding Shotgun has B2, the Hellcat can make two BS Attacks, each of which, if the BS Roll is successful, places a Small Teardrop Template.
The players check the Area of Effect of the Boarding Shotgun by placing the narrow end of the Template (Blast Focus) on the first Fusilier, and confirm that the Teardrop Template covers the other two Fusiliers as well.
The other two Fusiliers do not have LoF to the Hellcat because the first Fusilier is blocking him. But, since they are affected by an Attack with a Template Weapon, they have the option declare a Dodge ARO. Each Fusilier can avoid the Damage by winning a Face to Face PH-3 Roll (the MOD is for dodging an Attack coming from outside their LoF against the Hellcat's two BS Rolls[[.]]
Should the first Fusilier win his Face to Face Roll against the Hellcat, he would avoid the Damage from the Attack with the Impact Template Weapon. However, each of the other two Fusiliers would have to win his own Face to Face Roll using PH-3 against the Hellcat's Rolls to avoid the weapon's Damage
Teardrop Impact Template example. Target reacts by Dodging.
In the previous example, imagine the target Fusilier had declared Dodge as an ARO. It would be a Face to Face Roll using his PH (without the negative MOD, since he has LoF to the attacker) against the Hellcat's two BS Rolls due to his B2.
Like last time, the other two Fusiliers can try to Dodge by making each a Face to Face Roll with their PH-3 against the Hellcat's two BS Rolls. Should they succeed, they would avoid the Template's Damage entirely[[.]]
Teardrop Impact Template example. All targets react by Shooting.
In the same example as above, imagine the three Fusiliers now have LoF to the Hellcat, and all three declare BS Attack as an ARO. In this case each Fusilier makes a Face to Face Roll using his BS Attribute against the Hellcat's two BS Attack Rolls due to his B2.
Each Fusilier's result only affects him, and does not affect his comrades 'Face to Face Rolls against the Hellcat.
Let's suppose the main target Fusilier wins his Face to Face Roll against the Hellcat. In this case the Attack against him is cancelled, and the Hellcat is forced to make an ARM Roll.
However, the success of the main target Fusilier doesn't cancel the Attack of the Hellcat against the other two Fusiliers. Each of them must to face his BS Attack Roll against the Hellcat's two BS Attack Rolls. Fusilier 2 wins the Face to Face Roll against the Hellcat who is forced to make another ARM Roll at the end of the Order. However, the Fusilier 3 loses his Face to Face Roll, and he is the one forced to make an ARM Roll.
Teardrop Impact Template example. Nullified shot.
Let's suppose, in the same case as above, the three Fusiliers are more separated, so the Hellcat decides to split his B amongst them. When placing the Teardrop Template of the first shot against the Fusilier 1, he checks the Fusilier 3 is inside the Area of Effect of the Template. However, when placing the Template of the second shot of his B, checks there is an Alguacil inside the Area of Effect of the Template. Since the Alguacil is a friendly trooper, the second shot is nullified. But the Fusilier still has the right to react with an ARO so he declares a BS Attack. This Fusilier will perform a BS Normal Roll against the Hellcat.
However, the Hellcat must resolve the Face to Face Roll of the previous shot, which was not nullified.
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.2|
|Q: What happens when a Direct Template Weapon in ARO misses the target because it’s out of range? Does it affect the other troops inside the Template or does it get cancelled?|
|A: The Attack is cancelled.|
|Related Pages: BS Attack, ARO, Direct Template Weapon|
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.1|
|Q: Can Camouflage Markers be indirectly hit by Templates Weapons? How does this interact with Impersonation?|
|A: If you hit an enemy trooper not in Camouflaged state and there is an enemy Camouflage Marker inside the Area of Effect of the Template, then the Camouflage Marker would be affected too. However, with an Impersonation Marker you can not declare the Attack because it counts as a friendly trooper.|
|Related Pages: Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2, Template Weapon|
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.2|
|Q: Does the Marksmanship Lv1 Special Skill apply to Template Weapons?|
|Related Pages: Marksmanship, Template Weapons|
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.1|
|Q: When a group of troopers activate simultaneously (using a Coordinated Order or a Fireteam, for example), and they receive an ARO from a Template Weapon, does the attack affect all the troops that traverse the area of effect at any time during the Order, or does the Reactive Player have to declare the exact moment where he places the template, affecting only some of the targets?|
|A: The template affects all the troopers that get in contact with the area of effect during this Order, as everything happening during the Order is simultaneous.|
|Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Template Weapon|
|N3 Frequently Asked Question||FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017|
|Q: Can weapons with the Impact Template Trait and no value in the damage attribute be fired with allied troopes in their area of effect? For example, a Smoke Grenade, an Eclipse Grenade or a Nimbus Grenade.|
|Related Pages: Eclipse, Impact Template Weapon, Nimbus, Smoke|